We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like we were staying in a crowded airport”
Review of Hilton Anaheim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Anaheim
Ranked #46 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Felt like we were staying in a crowded airport”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

As the other reviewers have noted, this is a huge hotel and any sense of atmophere gets lost in the masses.

Rooms: grade B. I've stayed in a lot of hotels but never had quiet the feeling of staying in a box with furniture as I did here. Barely any decoration, a minimum of furniture, no mini-fridge, etc. We had a view of a parking lot and a wall. Toiletries were nice however.

Cleanliness: grade C. Hair all over the bathroom floor. Stained sheets. Stale food and change around the base of the bed. Remote control dirty.

Service: grade B+. Mixed bag. Some really great, friendly customer service. Some not so much (almost understandable when dealing with SO many people every day)

Food: grade B+. Breakfast buffet expensive but good, with bonus of kids eat free. There is a food court with Baja Fresh, a smoothie place and Sbarro pizza which was a good, less expensive eating option.

Pool: Smaller that how it looks on the website picture but warm and four hot tubs.

Location: A. Right next to convention center and a couple blocks to Disneyland. Some restaurants and mini-marts in walking distance.

Bottom line: We've stayed at the Doubletree, Hilton Suites, and Marriott Suites in Anahiem and I would choose any of those over this Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank originalmadshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAnaheim, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
I would like to thank you for taking time to leave a detailed review of your recent stay with us. I have some concerns that I would like to address.

Our hotel is definitely big! With 1,573 rooms, we are the largest hotel in Southern California.

I am concerned about the cleanliness of your guest room. I have forwarded your review to our Director of Housekeeping and we would love to speak with you directly so that we may investigate this further. Our housekeeping team has received multiple awards but based on your review, it is clear that we were not performing to our high standards and I would like to sincerely apologize for that!

We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better! Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to speaking with you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,166
    1,474
    908
    342
    209
See reviews for
1,508
659
145
1,295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

This was our final destination of our US trip and we decided on the Hilton Anaheim with a balcony and Disneyland view. We arrived early to check in, but our room wasn't ready so they did check us in so the room would be ready when we came back. We left out luggage and dropped our hire car back and proceed directly to Disneyland for the rest of the day and night. We got back about 8:30pm and the line up to check in was huge - a tip is use the auto check in computers in the lobby - 5 minutes and we had our room access cards and a quick call to the bell desk and we had our luggage. The room was 2 queens on Lanai with balcony Disney view. I though that the balcony would be some small little thing but it was the size of the room with outdoor furniture to enjoy the fireworks and view. It was better than expected. On two nights because we got back late from Disneyland we called room service and it was great. We spent one day by the pool where we had lunch - all was good. Checkout was a bit of a mix up as they didn't add the room charge to the bill but I let them know and they fixed it up straight away. A great place to stay, The balcony view was worth the money and the Hotel is conveniently located to Disneyland. A trick with the bath is to just turn the dial on the tub, the plug is build into the drain pipe below the tub. I'm sure the staff at maintenance get sick of the phone calls - 'where is the bath tub plug'. On our last day we left our luggage and picked it up after another full day at Disneyland before we headed off to the airport. The bell staff were great in getting us cabs each day and in organising a fixed cost cab ride to LAX for $100. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aje71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

This hotel must have somewhere around 1500 rooms, which frankly makes it too big. There are only eight elevators (two banks of four), and you end up waiting ages for one, and also walking a long way to your room.

The rooms, however, are very pleasant. Very comfortable chairs for work, and excellent beds for sleep to get over jetlag. Bathroom is fine (albeit a bit odd with just a sliding door to separate it from the room).

The hotel breakfast in the Mix restaurant is overpriced and a waste of time and money - and your only other choice - the Starbucks in the hotel - has a perpetual long queue and is also overpriced (but not to the same degree).

You'll be in Anaheim for one of two reasons: Disneyland, or a conference. I was here for the latter, and the lack of decent places for lunch and dinner nearby is particularly painful. But this hotel did provide a significant plus to the trip through its comfort in evenings. Overall, however, you'll find other, more reasonably priced hotels within a couple of minutes walk, so these should be investigated.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Some hotels charge a small package handling fee, but this one took it a step further by billing me $40 to receive a piece of luggage that arrived the same day I did. And then they passed the buck to the UPS Store in the lobby: "we send all packages to them; talk to them". Even though the UPS store was closed and it was the hotel's bellman who delivered the luggage. And the $40 wasn't disclosed, so the bellman even got the usual tip for his service.

Lots of infrastructure issues: the hot water routinely took more than five minutes to warm up, and engineering explained that it was due to the size of the hotel. Sure, at 1600 rooms, it is one of the largest in the country, but you'd think they'd have this basic thing under control.

And we could hear our neighbors clearly. Some of that was the thin walls. Some was the 2" gap under the door, which engineering explained was common: something about the wrong doors being installed in a recent renovation.

Self parking is $15 for overnight guests but only $10 for transients (e.g. those going to Disneyland). I suggest not telling the parking attendant that you're a guest.

No coin laundry, but the Marriott across the street welcomes Hilton guests to use theirs. Given the friendly service at the Marriott, I'd strongly suggest staying there instead.

In fact, even if you're going to a convention at the Hilton, consider the Marriott: it's literally across the street. Beware of overpriced group rates: I saw groups paying nearly twice the walk-up rate available to the general public, and the hotel is often available on Priceline.

On the good side: they have the standard Hilton bedding package with a down duvet and natural fiber pillows. And the food service was very good: room service was stellar, as was the buffet breakfast. Consider the chef's daily dinner specials. If you do stay here, consider the bed and breakfast package: it was $10 more for full breakfast for two, and well worth it. They no longer have an executive lounge.

There are a few chain restaurants in the lobby "food court": the aforementioned Starbucks, a Sbarro, Baja Fresh, and a frozen yogurt shop. Prices are higher than you'll see most places.

Net (wired and wireless) was $13.

If you don't get a north-facing room, you can still get a good view of the Disneyland fireworks from the top floor of the parking garage. It's not worth paying extra for the Disney view.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zippy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I stayed 5 days at this hotel (business and family vacation) and could experience it well. This hotel is very large and looks great in the pictures but that's where any differentiating factors end. The hotel felt average, sometimes less than average, with a comparatively high price. During the same trip I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express and for 1/2 of the price the experience was much better. Anyway, on to the details.

Room: Absolutely nothing to write home. No fridge, no microwave, no Wireless Internet. Apart from being inside a Hilton it was extremely basic. Bathroom was also extremely basic.

To make matters worse, the A/C has a motion sensor connected to it, therefore it would shut off during night and the room would become extremely uncomfortable.

'Disney View': It is not as close as they want you to believe. It is a 15 minute walk, which means you cannot see Disney in detail from your hotel room. There are hotels closer to Disney.

Fitness Center: This is the best feature of this hotel. Well equipped, dry and steam saunas, spa and a small pool. I would stay away from the stream room since cleanliness was lacking.

Restaurants: Many different choices but with limited selection.

Parking: Very expensive. Many hotels around have cheaper parking, if not free. Parking alone, depending on how many days you stay, can be equivalent of a daily rate.

Sleep quality: Not very good. I was on the top floors and it seemed the hotel heaters or something would kick in during the night and would create a disturbing noise. I can not guess how people in the lower floors would sleep unless they spent 10 hrs walking within Disney.

Breakfast: Let me just say that the free breakfast at the Holiday Inn Express was better than the expensive one at Hilton.

All in all I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Disneyland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

My family and I had planned this Disneyland vacation for the past few months now. Finally we've arrived in Anaheim! And after a long 4hrs flight and 1 hr waiting period for our car rental, we were so ready for a nice long nap! We only hope our hotel would be nice, clean, quiet, with comfortable beds. And we were right! This hotel is awesome, there's a nice lounging sports bar as you first walk in. The great thing about checking in is that they have a Zip In Check in kiosk! It dispenses your room card right from the machine with a receipt. How great is that for speedy access. Besides the lobby, our room was nice and comfortable. They remodeled the rooms, and I must say it is simple and chic. Not fancy with all these designs, but solid colors that compliments the room as classy. The bathroom was nice and clean, no complaints at all. And the best part was the beds and pillows. We had 2 queen beds and the kids and I LOVED THEM! One of the softest heavenly beds and pillows you'll ever sleep on, and I barely heard any noise at all. We didnt walk to Disneyland but its not a bad walk to the entrance either. There's enough shops, hotels, and restaurants on the way to distract you til you reach the Disney entrance (about 10mins?) The only downside to this hotel is that they charge $15 for self park and another $15 for facility fees (like the pool?) so every night was an additional $30 on top of our room rate. Is it a small price to pay for comfort, you decide......Overall we loved this hotel and will definetly be back again!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thaijasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Never come to this hotel if it is busy, we stayed here this last weekend and there was some sort of Cheerleader event going on, it was a living nightmare to do anything in the hotel. They only have one restaurant and a small Starbucks for the entire hotel. There is a small food court close to the convention center, but it pricey as well. Lines, Lines, Lines, the restaurant always had a line, the elevators are horribly slow, even when you are the only guest waiting. The rooms have paper thin walls and you can hear everything in the hallway that passes, the A/C unit is a joke and is as loud as the highway. It seems like they have redone the hotel recently, it looks nice, but you notice the cut corners everywhere. The restaurant is very good with good staff, but they were never ready for the crowds which amazes me for being a convention hotel next to Disneyland! If you are a light sleeper refrain from this hotel, hell if you are a heavy sleeper refrain from this hotel. The beds are horrible, the pillows are even worse. The sink in the bathroom looks nice, but it gets water everywhere, the shower is tiny and the shower "curtain" soaks up water as it is cloth? The bathroom is tiny compared to the room, the room is decent size, but there is a lack of comfort in the room. The Sheraton is a MUCH better stay and it is right behind the hotel. As a HHonors member it was dissapointing they did not have a lounge anymore for us Gold guests nor room upgrades because they were all given to cheerleaders!? Just so much wrong with this hotel, it really can't handle having more than a 20% occ or it just fails.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reinventtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#27 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anaheim

Property: Hilton Anaheim
Address: 777 Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802-3497
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#16 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Anaheim 4*
Number of rooms: 1572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a satisfying California experience at the Hilton Anaheim hotel, located in the heart of Orange County, adjacent to the Anaheim Convention Center and across the street from the Disneyland® Resort. Reach the hotel easily with convenient access from all major freeways and Southern California airports.This upscale hotel offers Mix Restaurant & Lounge, a Starbucks, a recently renovated outdoor pool with two whirlpool tubs and the new addition of the Kids Splash Zone! The Health Club at Hilton Anaheim (daily fee applies) offers all the amenities of a private health club, including spa treatments, Precor equipment and a tranquil indoor pool.Enjoy Disneyland® Resort benefits at this Anaheim family hotel by paying a visit to the Disney® Desk where expert cast members will offer advice and queue-jump tickets to the world-class attraction right across the street. Experience the magic of Disneyland® Resort from a special Disney® View room, providing great views of the fireworks display and the resort. All guest rooms and suites feature modern comforting amenities and contemporary styling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anaheim Hotel Anaheim
Hilton Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Hilton Hotel
Hilton And Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing