We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNK! (Literally)”
Review of The Anaheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Anaheim Hotel
Ranked #77 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Inland Empire, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“STUNK! (Literally)”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at the resort in February, in the 500 wing. As soon as you walked into the room, the smell was HORENDOUS! It smelled of a strong chemical smell, perhaps fresh paint. It was overpowering. I opened the sliding door to allow some fresh air in, only to allow spiders and moths in to the room as well. I killed two spiders on the wall and found a moth in our bathroom as we took a shower. The shower head was broken, so water was spraying out of the part where the shower head attaches to the spout coming out of the wall, therefore leaving very little shower pressure. The bathroom towels literally felt like sandpaper.
The next morning, I complained at the front desk and was left with, "Sorry for that inconvenience." No offer of a complimentary return stay, nothing. I sent an email to the resort as well, with the same complaints, and never heard a response.
Other than the great location to Disney. the hotel was the pits. I wouldn't stay there again. Such a bummer too because we've stayed before and never had issues. It's no Marriott, but it's suitable for a night's stay to rest and recharge for another park-filled day. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone though now.
Poor customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    493
    331
    144
    117
See reviews for
618
208
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Having stayed there many times over the past 15 years, I can, I think write with sincerity that this hotel is the best kept secret near Disneyland. Because the bulk of the rooms are hidden from view, I doubt most even recognize how large this property is.

It is an excellent value for the price and honestly, I've stayed at other, pricier hotels in the same location and they are no better. Besides, who goes to Disneyland to stay in the room? That is what you have to remember and keep in mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwestern Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here. Both times I've gotten a clean room about 7 minutes walk from the ticket booths at Disneyland. The hotel is older, but maintained well. Very good price. Front desk people courteous and friendly. Room have fridge and microwave.
I've seen some "not so good" reviews about this place but can see no reason for the those reviews. All in all, it's just a hotel, a bit older than most of the others in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTheBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Yeah, it's close to the main gate and it's not expensive, but you always get what you pay for.

First issue we had was the front desk evening people were not terribly friendly, perhaps this is just a stark contrast to the super friendly people at Disneyland, but we weren't impressed.

Second, no wifi... What century are they operating this hotel in?

Third, there is nothing positive I can say about the shower situation. The water that came out was actually brown, I have a photo to prove. I would say that maybe some sediments just broke loose in the pipes, but it happened during every shower all three days we were there, and happened before we stepped into the shower. This, mixed with the fact that the temperature vacillated between boily lobster and ice water every five to ten seconds made the whole shower process pretty unpleasant.

But yes, the hotel is close and the price is cheap. And truthfully, if they had wifi I would probably forgive the terrible shower and attitude issues.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dansypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anaheim hotels

Manti, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

After reading some of the reviews on this hotel I was a little nervous, all my worries were unfounded. This was a very clean hotel, great price, large rooms and the breeze ways were beautiful. It is a great location, less than 10 minute walk to Disneyland. With multiple eating establishment close by.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SDeMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This hotel is located right across the street from the Disney complex and you can easily walk there.

The complex looks like an old apartment complex with the multiple buildings circling the pool.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The come with good beds, microwave, and refrigerator which makes for a decent room. Almost all of the rooms come with a balcony/patio complete with chairs and table so that you can enjoy the Southern California weather. Units are all 2-story buildings

The only faults that I can comment are that the air conditioner/heater is a combination window type unit and it blows on you if you are sleeping on that side of the bed and the old outside stairwells.

I recommend this hotel as the value and functionality are there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansbury Park, UT
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here so that we could be close enough to the park that we could walk and not need a rental car or shuttle. We found the hotel to be fantastic for our family. It was at least $20 cheaper per night than some right across from the gate and it includes a free buffet style hot breakfast.
The staff was fantastic. We let the counter know that we had forgotten a stroller. She made arrangement for one to be dropped off in our room for about the same price as it would have cost to rent one in the park.
Our room includes a sofa bed and two queens. The pool, Hot tub, and sauna were all great. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bwolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Legacy At The Park
Grand Legacy At The Park
#65 of 118 in Anaheim
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
1,651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anaheim Hotel

Property: The Anaheim Hotel
Address: 1700 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique resort style hotel offers the following features: LOCATION: Directly across the main entrance to Disneyland(R) Adjacent to Anaheim Garden Walk. Two blocks from the Anaheim Convention Center. STYLE: Two story apartment style buildings on nine acres of landscaped gardens and walkways. PARKING: Ample parking all around the hotel. POOL: Olympic size outdoor heated pool and spa. ROOMS: Large rooms, some with patio or balcony. FAMILY SUITES: Two connecting rooms for families. FOOD & BEVERAGE: Restaurant and Lounge. MEETING ROOMS: Over 11,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space. VALUE: Excellent value for a hotel in Anaheim! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Plaza Hotel Anaheim
The Anaheim Hotel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing