We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - but 'ware the bedbugs”
Review of The Anaheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Anaheim Hotel
Ranked #77 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location - but 'ware the bedbugs”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

In many ways this hotel was better than I expected. The lobby was spacious and attractive, the desk staff friendly and helpful, the pool area large and inviting. The location was great, a very short walk to the main entrance (although some of the rooms are a bit of a walk from the front of the hotel). The room was definitely showing it's age, and the quality is economy-level, but it appeared clean. I can deal with thin towels, and small rooms, when I'm mainly there to visit Disneyland.

The main problem was that on the third night I got bitten by bed bugs, which had never happened to me in a hotel before. I left early the next day, but wrote the hotel a letter about this. I didn't get any response, which was disappointing. I would not stay at this hotel in the future because of the bedbug problem.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    487
    327
    142
    115
See reviews for
607
206
49
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This hotel is directly across the street from Disneyland. It is a shorter walk to Disneyland Main Gate than the Disneyland Hotel even! The rooms are not huge and they are not fancy but they were clean and comfy. A refrigerator in the room made snacks for the kids a breeze. Nothing bad or exceptional about the staff. Just a great value hotel as close as you can get to Disney. Worked great with my 2 year old. Even after a long day at Disneyland it was a quick walk back to the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmbrsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2009

have stayed here numerable times,great staff, never any problems, clean rooms. Older hotel but fits our needs which is a place to sleep while visiting the park. Staff has always been very accomodating, letting us check in early even as early as 9 am. have stayed here since 2007 don't even try any other hotels any more . Great value, have never paid more than $59 a night Close to park walk is very easy 10 minutes at most. restaurant open odd hours tried once was okay, but really prefer eating elsewhere. never tried breakfast buffet but it looks good. Staying again in a few days and again in december for our Christmas trip

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The room was clean and large( including the bathroom,) The beds were adequate. It was a short walk to Disneyland .The staff were great , friendly and helpful. The jacuzzi was small, but the pool was big. We felt safe. I would stay there again, cant beat the price!

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank 12065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, Ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We have stayed at the Anaheim Plaza Inn & Suites at least 6 times over the last 3 years and love every stay. It's a short walk to the front gates and costs about half as much as the hotels at the crosswalk. I'd rather pay $59 a night and walk 1.5 blocks than pay over $100 for an equal caliber hotel closer to the crosswalk. Staff has always been great, rooms are clean and comfy.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CariBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Down right gross, carpet was gross, bed was like cardboard with a blanket over it, sliding glass door didn't slide, air didn't work, staff wasn't suprised when I told them it was a dump, refused to refund my money, i didn't stay two hours(dropped bags and went for food), I ate the money for the room, went to the ramada got a NICE room and took my kids to disneyland

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeshawna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anaheim hotels

Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We choose this hotel based on the reviews it had in the past, and the excellent price for the room! We stayed 7 nights so we wanted it to be comfortable enough, but we were only using it as a place to sleep. Very very affordable price for the room. Room service was excellent, and hotel staff were always very welcoming! We were able to check in early, and if our room wasn't ready they would have held our luggage for us. When we checked out they printed out our boarding passes for us, and held our luggage at that time until our shuttle came and picked us up! So nice! The pool is huge and very very clean, which was a huge plus! Grounds are also very clean! Our room had nice air conditioning and a nice patio for us to sit out on. Our request for a non-smoking room was not a problem and any questions that we had were answered. I will definatley stay here again! The walk to Disneyland is maybe 10 min, which is nice for coming back and forth a couple of times for a nice break when the park is so buisy! You can also see the fireworks show from the hotel, which is another plus. Thanks Anahiem Plaza!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spagetinoodles15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
1,638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Legacy At The Park
Grand Legacy At The Park
#62 of 118 in Anaheim
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#26 of 118 in Anaheim
1,671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#9 of 118 in Anaheim
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anaheim Hotel

Property: The Anaheim Hotel
Address: 1700 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique resort style hotel offers the following features:LOCATION:Directly across the main entrance to Disneyland(R) Adjacent to Anaheim Garden Walk.Two blocks from the Anaheim Convention Center.STYLE:Two story apartment style buildings on nine acres of landscaped gardens and walkways.PARKING:Ample parking all around the hotel.POOL:Olympic size outdoor heated pool and spa.ROOMS:Large rooms, some with patio or balcony.FAMILY SUITES:Two connecting rooms for families.FOOD & BEVERAGE: Restaurant and Lounge.MEETING ROOMS:Over 11,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space.VALUE: Excellent value for a hotel in Anaheim! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Plaza Hotel Anaheim
The Anaheim Hotel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing