We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good convention spot!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Anaheim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good convention spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The official convention hotels were sold out so I booked here based on TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel is an upgraded Holiday Inn Express that was converted to an Indigo at the end of 2013. It ended up being an ideal location for my trip. See the map I am attaching to this review. The Convention Center entrance (to Hall A) was an 8-10 minute walk, depending on how long it took to cross both Katella and Harbor (long lights!). The 7-Eleven across Harbor was very convenient and the Alerto's Mexican Food around the corner made for a good late-night snack.

GardenWalk is next door with several great restaurants (chains). And the entrance plaza to Disneyland/California Adventure was about a 15 minute walk up Harbor.

I did not drive but appreciated that the hotel offers free parking.

The bed was great!

So, why not a full five-dot rating? The WiFi was unusable. I would rather pay for WiFi and have it work than get "free WiFi" that does not connect. I called the front desk and was told "our WiFi is not for streaming. It's only for web surfing and email." I explained that I was trying to visit CNN.com, not Netflix, but they insisted the problem was on my end. I tried two devices. The signal strength was great but no data would transmit on the network. I had to tether my laptop through my phone instead. The clerk at checkout finally admitted they know they have WiFi issues, but that's hard to believe since the hotel is so new, and since WiFi is an essential element of a hotel stay now.

Also, I noticed that the door to my room (221) did not quite close by itself. I had to be careful to shut it behind me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToughCritic36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melody_SL, Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you so much for the detailed comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you are satisfied with our location to Disneyland Theme Park entrance and posted a detailed map of our property. We also apologize for the Wi-Fi issue that you encountered during your stay and the inconvenience that caused. Please contact us directly if you would like to talk about the issue in further detail. We hope you will give another chance to make it up for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    289
    54
    9
    9
See reviews for
551
225
25
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The location is great. There are wonderful restaurants ( The Cheesecake Factory, Roy's, Bubba Shrimp, California Pizza Kitchen) next door and the Disney Resort is a 10 minute walk. The staff is friendly, efficient and helpful. I needed help with my car battery and a staff member immediately came to my aid. The room was very clean, modern, comfortable and quiet. Because of the laminate flooring (which I prefer) versus carpeting, I heard occasional footsteps from the room above me- next time I will request a room on the top floor. The beds are COMFORTABLE and the linen are good quality. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to request a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4steppinout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melody_SL, Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Hotel Indigo Anaheim. We are very grateful about your appreciation of our high level of service, rooms, and the location. We sincerely welcome you to visit us again and try our restaurant Chamber Bar & Bistro next to the lobby that offers a variety of many selections based on our local neighborhood and vendors, such as our Chambers Burger and Herbed Salmon. We also apologize for the noise that comes from the top floor because of the wood floor and thank you so much for understanding. Your comments means a lot to us and will help us to improve! Meanwhile, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I chose Hotel Indigo when my usual hotel near Disneyland had no availability. The staff here are all very welcoming and friendly, from the front desk people to the restaurant staff to the housekeeping staff. Parking is mostly underground in large, well lit spaces. The rooms have hard flooring (wood or wood looking tile) and are clean. The beds are soft, clean and comfortable. There is a Keurig machine in each room with coffee, decaf and herbal tea choices. The bathroom has a walk in shower (so if you have really little ones who need a bathtub, this may be something to consider). The restaurant in the lobby is inviting and the choices are decent and moderately priced. The only down side to this hotel is the walk to Disneyland. With a younger child, the distance may be a problem (it only takes about ten minutes) if they aren't in a stroller. Otherwise, definitely consider a stay here! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blessed_Travel_Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melody_SL, Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are very grateful that you chose our hotel for your vacation. We are delighted that you are satisfied with our service, room, and our facilities. Every team member of our property tries to provide the best service for our guests at every moment. There are about 10 to 15 minutes of walking distance from our property to Disneyland. The city also provides shuttle to the park entrance called the ART SHUTTLE. Thank you so much for your feedback again! We are looking forward to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our extended family have booked to stay at Hotel Indigo in October, and the service has been great just doing the booking. Have been able to do direct emails to the Sales Team, and they have offered as much assistance as possible and super friendly. Can't wait to stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melody_SL, Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comment of our service before your stay. Every team members of our property try so hard to make all of our guests enjoy their hotel experience. We are sure that we will not disappoint during your stay! Please contact us if you have any other concerns or questions. We are looking forward to see you in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great stay at the Hotel Indigo. Everything was clean and taken care of. Easy FREE parking. Rooms were nicely decorated. Nearby food options were excellent as well with several choices within easy walking distance. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank numberssacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melody_SL, Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very glad to hear that you liked the rooms and the Garden Walk of Anaheim next door that offering great dining and shopping selections. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Anaheim area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
We look forward to your return visit with us and wish you a wonderful Monday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Indigo the night before the Disneyland Half Marathon in September 2013 right after the hotel finished remodeling. The race started super early (5 am?) and the front desk packed very thoughtful to-go breakfasts for all the runners. The hotel's new look is much hipper and nicer than the other hotels within walking distance to Disneyland. I'd totally recommend the Hotel Indigo to anyone who wants a weekend at Disneyland in a room that's more geared toward grownups than little kids. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheezburgerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melody_SL, Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in September last year. We are truly grateful to have hotel team members that enjoy being of service to our hotel guests and make you feel comfortable while staying with us. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Anaheim area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
We look forward to your return visit with us this year and wish you a wonderful Monday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Top knotch hotel. Very pleased with the service. We had a late check in and they were ready for us. William the front desk guy even helped me carry bags out of my car. Best hotel experience in a while. I would recommend it to every one. Lastly I left my ipad and mac book there when I checked out. They called me and asked to ship it to me. Had to be the most honest place ever!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rayray_3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melody_SL, Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are truly grateful to have hotel team members like William that enjoy being of service to our hotel guests and make you feel comfortable while staying with us. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Anaheim area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
We look forward to your return visit with us and wish you a fantastic Tuesday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
2.0 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Anaheim

Property: Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Address: 435 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802-3607 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Anaheim Maingate)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Anaheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anaheim’s first upscale boutique hotel....the new Hotel Indigo Anaheim delivers a vibrant and refreshing guest experience. You are welcomed by agricultural murals and a stunning California themed garden enhanced in the evening by electrifying dancing waters. Enter the hotel and feel a contemporary neighborhood story of years past when Anaheim was a flourishing farming community.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Feel the warmth of hardwood floors to a plush over-sized duvet and pillows with spa-inspired showers...you'll feel right at home. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Whether your visiting the major attractions or looking for that hidden gastronomical gem Hotel Indigo Anaheim is your ideal choice. Families can be steps away from the maingate of the Disneyland Resort or if your visit brings you to Anaheim for a convention the Hotel Indigo Anaheim provides convenient walking access to the Anaheim Convention Center.Relax and enjoy a bite in our Chambers Bar & Bistro where you can savor locally inspired recipes and sip on specialty cocktails created by our mixologist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Hotel Indigo Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing