We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay if visiting Disneyland park!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #13 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
nowhere
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if visiting Disneyland park!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We've stayed at Howard Johnson's twice now for Disney trips and we love it! The staff is friendly, the beds are comfortable, it's within walking distance to the parks (about 10 minutes). It's clean, no-frills. We did not get to take advantage of the pools though, it was November and cold! But they looked really fun.

No breakfast, but they have a small store downstairs. There is some noise from the freeway or the garden pool, but we bring a white noise machine so it didn't bother us. Some of the rooms have a view of the fireworks. Great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annonnowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,567
    2,512
    767
    221
    79
See reviews for
5,559
463
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Howard Johnson's is a nice hotel - it's clean & the staff is very friendly & helpful. It's also walking distance to the parks, which is a big plus. It's an older hotel & could stand some updating. We've stayed there twice & the first time we were facing the park - if you stay there, that's the best type of room. We stood on the balcony & watched the fireworks one night & it was a perfect view! The second time we stayed there, we ended up facing highway 5, which is pretty noisy. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, only the evening, but if you are a sensitive sleeper, be sure to ask for a park facing room. And $174 with taxes seems pretty steep for an older hotel. But it is a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

You choose this hotel based on location.. it's about a 10 minute leisurely walk to Disneyland.

We checked in before room was available, and requested 2 joined rooms with double beds as there were 9 of us. They said it couldn't be guaranteed which was fine, as long as they were close by. There is a storage area for our luggage, and public bathrooms we could use to freshen up. Staff were friendly enough.

We arrived back at our hotel after Disney closed, and checked in. It is a bit confusing getting around as there are several different buildings. It would have been nice to have the buildings more clearly labelled. We were pleasantly surprised to find out we got adjoining rooms in the end.

There is free wifi in the room, as well as a computer you can use in the main lobby. The rooms suited our needs, there was a coffee maker and fridge. Plenty of counter space, which I find lacking in other hotels. There were also double sinks, which is fantastic for a group of girls (and families). The rooms weren't the cleanest, there is a slight smell to them, and the towels were rough, but good enough. The shower head was a bit rusted. The beds were a bit lumpy, but I didn't notice after a long day at the park; I just passed out. Only thing is that there's no room service when we needed extra items (towels, blankets, shower stuff). We would have to head back to the lobby, which was hard enough to find the first time.

There's no on-site restaurant, but not required as there are restaurants only a few minutes away. There is a small shop on site, which we didn't go in to. They do offer comp toiletries if you forget anything, just remember to pick up before you get to the room. :P We were near the pool area which wasn't too noisy considering.. didn't have a chance to check it out, but looks like the kids enjoyed it.

It's a no frills hotel, close to our primary reason for visiting, ie. Disneyland. It suited our needs and good for groups with the extra space and spacious bathroom. I would stay here again for proximity to Disney and if it was at the right price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank branmoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

The hotel was kind of retro cool, built in the 60's. Great place for kids with the castaway cove water park. Plenty of restaurants to eat at in the area. The room was clean and tidy although facing the highway so needed ear plugs to sleep. Overall soul stay here again and would tell friends to stay here. The hotel staff were lovely and friendly, the gift shop staff were rude and only were after your money but it had all the bits and pieces you would expect.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I found this hotel very pleasant and clean hotel.. We stayed in a lot of hotel while in USA and it was the best.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I visited the hotel on what would have been my honeymoon and from the moment I walked in for check in, the staff were very friendly. They don't have breakfast but to be honest, it doesn't matter as there is a shop on site that sells food items, and it is near loads of restaurants. It's about a 10 minute walk to the entrance to Disneyland, and if you want to go on a booked tour, they pick up right out the front. The rooms in Building 1 are clean, tidy and huge!
Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomassoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We can highly recommend hojos. Rooms were in building 2, no freeway noise& great view of fireworks from the hallway window. Kids loved the pools, shop had everything including vicks vaporub at 10.30pm. It was a very easy walk to Disney, I would recommend a strolled for kids under 6. Staff were helpful although some were more knowledgeable than others. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alohabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#18 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing