We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Howard Johnson was a great place to stay for our short visit. They gave us a complimentary upgrade. It was clean and well equipped. As well as a perfect location to walk to Disneyland.

Our boys enjoyed both the pool and the waterpark (despite the rain).

Room Tip: Our room was on the freeway side. We were too tired to ever be concerned by the noise but if you thi...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,621)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,103 - 6,109 of 7,621 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel was great. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was friendly. We had no problems whatsoever. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have just returned from a 12 day stay at this hotel. I would definitely stay there again when travelling with family to disneyland. My daughter is 9 and loved the childrens waterpark area, it was a huge hit. Our room was dated and tired, however, spotless, very well maintained, the beds were very comfortable, the rooms are large with a small fridge and coffee making facilities. On site laundry was really useful when staying for some time.The daily housekeeping was very good, almost like a daily spring clean, very thorough - good when staying for 12 days. Grounds are lush and beautifully kept. It took us 12 minutes to walk to the disneyland entrance where security check bags. Close enough for a 9 year old, although a little challanging after a hot day at disneyland. It would appear that most of the hotels around disneyland are older and having spoken to other friends and family, I would definitely go here again. I understand some of the rooms are noisy, we had a disney fireworks premium queen room, and there was no noise. I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Request rooms away from the freeway
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PRICIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

What a pleasant experience . We had a party of 11 people [including 4 grand children] stay for days . This property was very well maintained and clean . Staff {front desk and housekeeping} where professional and curtious . Location to Disney was excellent ..a walk of 10 mins

Pools great fun for all and clean clean clean
Highly recommended property for families

Room Tip: choose park view rather than freeway view . Highway is constanly busy
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcjardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This was my 4th and 5th stays at Howard Johnson. Great location, easy walk to Disneyland. Always try to accommodate early check ins which as flights arrive in morning from Australia is very much appreciated. If you want a jug not a coffemaker just ask at reception. Great pool and water areas. Love watching the fireworks in the spa. Desk staff are very helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicolaBurnieTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Great Disneyland hotel, close to the park. We stayed on the 6th floor with a great view at night of the fireworks. Room basic but good with fridge and tea/coffee making facilties. Very comfy beds. Pools great. We stayed for some time and needed to use the laundry which l found handy and easy to use. Staff friendly. They have a little convenience shop on the ground floor, has lots of things, we used it for milk and bread rolls. We ate across the road at Minnies alot, loved the ribs. We did most tours from here and hired a car (mustang)for two days, cheap and so much fun. The front desk people helped with arranging this.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

10 minutes from Disney, priced right, family and international traveller friendly.

Expect noise from the freeway and park. Honestly doesn't matter as you're too tired from the parks to care.

Good wifi service. Good restaurants nearby - Mimi's is a great all rounder across the road. Nice ribs at tony Roma's down the street.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyjames182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
2,895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.6 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £133 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing