We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Within Walking Distance to Disneyland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed with our daughter and son-in-law and two grandchildren in 2 rooms with Disneyland Views, in September 2011 for 9 days. Great rooms, comfy beds, great coffee machine. It was only a short walk each day to Disneyland which was no trouble at all. Being so close to Disneyland, enabled us to go back and forth all day. The grandchildren loved the pool. Trips were arranged to Universal and Sea World and we were picked up from the hotel in the morning and dropped off later in the day, no problems.
Would recommend hotel to families and would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,255 - 6,261 of 7,792 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is our second stay at this hotel. Hojo Anaheim is the perfect accomodation for those who want a clean, comfortable room to sleep overnight with a friendly, safe atmosphere. This may not be a trendy hotel with designer furniture, etc., but it's only a short walk from the Disneyland, California Adventure, Downtown Disney and Anaheim Garden Walk. Rooms are reasonably large, clean and comfortable. Service at check-in and check-out was friendly and quick. We stayed next to the highway and it was reasonably quiet - the noise would bother only an exceptionally light sleeper or perhaps someone who has lived on a remote farm most of their life. We picked up a great deal on expedia and I would definitely recommend this hotel to families, couples, friends, etc. for the price. If you are planning to visit Los Angeles, I would recommend staying in West Hollywood area or Santa Monica. However, if you are staying in Anaheim for the theme parks, Hojo Anaheim is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Catal Restaurant has great food in the Downtown Disney area and is a great option if you want someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheWasabiPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is my 3rd time staying at HoJo Anaheim in the last year and I will never consider staying anywhere else when my family goes to DLand!!! Excellent customer service, comfy beds, easy walk to DLand!!!! And right off of I5!!!! I travel with my sister, daughter , neice, and gdaughter and feel very safe coming and going from this hotel!!! A+A+A+A+A+A+A+

Room Tip: Put requests in for what you need when you make your resv!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelligirld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed for 10 nights in a disney view room in building 1 and although a bit squishy with the 3 children, it was a comfortable room with mini fridge and microwave. Kids loved the pool area.
Enjoyed meals at mimis cafe. 15 or so minute walk to get to Disney front gates. our 6 year old managed this well. great view of fireworks.
More laundry facilities needed though-unable to do laundry in evenings due to huge queues.
Used minimart for supplies- expensive but convenient. no close supermarket.
Citadel Outlets- bus trip there was worthwhile for shopping.
Desk staff very helpful. We would return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel in October 2011. Of course, there was record heat in Anaheim while we were there and we were so glad that we had the water park for the kids to play in because it was too hot at Disneyland mid-day! We have 3 children, ages 5, 3, & 2, and they tolerated the walk from the hotel too and from Disneyland. It took us about 15 minutes pushing the kids in the stroller, but we would've loved to be closer. It was just far enough away though to make us think twice about going back to nap the 2 year old...rather we usually let her sleep in the stroller. However, we saved over $1000 over the 4 days by staying at the HOJO rather than the Disneyland Hotels, so worth it because we had the waterpark...I'm not sure it would have if it were too cold to use the water park.

Next time we are going to try the Disneyland Hotel and see if the convenience is worth it. But, we had the best family vacation ever at Disneyland, our kids were in heaven, totally worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

this was our first saty at HoJo's, and we would go back again! It is not the closest hotel to Disney on the strip, but it is the best value. It takes less than 10 minutes to walk to Disneyland from the hotel. Check in was super quick. We were four adults staying in one room, but never felt cramped. The room we booked was a Disney facing room. We did see the fireworks from our room.
In room Wifi was a disappointment. Had to sit on the balcony to get a signal.. But, the hotel lobby has two iMacs that work great. you can print your boarding passes from them.
Room was clean. The onsite ministore is great. Lots of fruit and healthy snack options. All the staff at this hotel were super nice. Never saw the onsite water park. Ate at Mimi's cafe across the street. HUGE portions. the Cobb salad there was delicious!
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runandwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Great location, walking distance to both Disney parks. Parking is fine, rooms are good-sized and very clean. Check-in and check-out were seamless, and everyone we met on the staff, regardless of their role, was exceptionally friendly and professional. Amazing gift shop, Mim's right across the street, and a wonderful view of the Matterhorn and Monorail. Very affordable, and we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For a great view of Disneyland, ask for west-facing rooms in Building #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £119 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing