We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay when visiting Disneyland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed here November 5 - 9, 2011. I agree with the other reviewers about not needing anything fancy when the purpose of your trip is to visit Disneyland. The only thing I missed at this hotel was some sort of breakfast/restaurant. One morning we went to the gift shop and paid $6 for a package of 6 stale bagels - ugh. However, Mimi's Cafe is right across the street and has good food. There is also a McDonalds down the road. Our room had an extra sink outside of the bathroom which is very handy with a family of four and everyone wanting to use the sink at the same time. The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful. We spent very little time in the room, but it was clean and sufficient. The bathroom looked a little dated and needs an upgrade. We paid for a Queen Superior room with a view of Disneyland but we couldn't see much and our room was at the very end of the building so we did hear freeway noise, especially at night. Fortunately, we were so tired at the end of the day it didn't matter. The pool/spray park was on winter hours, so closed at 6 pm and didn't open until after we had left for Disneyland so our kids really had no opportunity to use it. Winter hours might make sense for Californians but we are Canadian so to us it's still pretty warm! I believe the pool was open a bit longer. All in all, we would stay there again - it's excellent value for the money (we got the Entertainment card rate - a real deal!).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherwoodparkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,127 - 6,133 of 7,671 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

My family stayed here for 4 nights. It is the perfect place to stay, if your main reason for being in Anaheim is to visit Disneyland - we had a 3 day pass. We were literally out of the hotel at 8am every morning & didn't get back to the room till 10pm. If you're in Anaheim to go to Disneyland, all you really need is a bed & shower. The Howard Johnson filled these two criteria. Why pay double to stay at a "Disneyland" resort, when you're not in your room long enough to enjoy it. The water park was a great way to get over jetlag on the first day. Disneyland itself is a 8-10 minute walk. There are a few places to eat along the way, including a McDonalds - as there is no restaurant in the hotel complex itself. We found Minnie's Diner (?) across the road to be the best one for breakfast. There's a little minimart in the complex, for water, a paper etc. My only criticism is that with 4 people in the room, there's not enough space to hang 4 bath towels to dry. But this is my criticism for all hotels - happy to reuse towels during my stay etc, but provide us with hooks / pegs to hang towels to dry.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhiallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This was me and my family's first time staying in this hotel. We reserved rooms quite a few months in advance and asked for connecting rooms with a view of Disneyland. I was told that connecting rooms were not guaranteed and it would be known at the time of check in if I got them. I made a few follow up calls to ensure my reservation and the staff was very friendly (still no guarantee of connecting rooms). We arrived and were relieved we had connecting rooms in building one on the 5th Floor (1517 and 1519).

The trees that grew in front of building one were discouraging to me, but when we arrived in our rooms the trees were not an issue as we had a great view of the Matterhorn! The room was older, but had a lot of counter space for all our stuff and even had a built in suitcase rack! The TV was a "flat screen" meaning the screen was flat, but the rest of it was bulky. The channels also changed very slowly (but we weren't there to watch TV). The beds were somewhat comfy and the pillows were soft. There was a problem with the A/C/heat in 1519, but a quick call to the desk fixed that problem. The bathrooms were typical and the extra sink outside the bathroom was a lifesaver in the morning. The pressure from flushing the toilet made up for lack of water pressure in the shower. Also we didn't have to wait long for the elevators!

Had maid service only a couple of times during our stay and they made the beds, vacuumed, and cleaned the bathrooms. The ice bucket was never emptied however which was a first for me... Oh well.

The walk to/from Disneyland was about 10 minutes long, but after walking 20 miles in the parks, what's the difference? The walk, to me, served as a way to wind down and relax us all before getting in the rooms to sleep. Mimi's restaurant was next door and we ate a Dinner and a Breakfast there. They take reservations so that was nice! There is a McDonalds close by, but get there early for dinner, as it fills up fast when Disneyland closes. There is a store on the hotel's property, but it'll cost ya! $1.25 for a can of soda / $3.75 for a 1.5 Liter of water... But handy in a pinch!

Overall this was a great hotel which suited our needs just fine. It's not fancy or upscale, but we spent so little time in the rooms that we didn't see the point in spending THOUSANDS more to stay at a Disneyland property hotel. We would return!

Room Tip: 1517 and 1519 had great views of Disneyland!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My husband,daughter and myself recently stayed here and we were more than impressed. Not only was it's close proximity to Disneyland (about and 8 minute walk), the rooms were extremely comfortable, well maintained, the staff were most obliging with any concern or need we may have had, and there was plenty for our daughter to do, the water park and swimming pools are beautifully situated between the buildings. There was a good sized fridge and tea and coffee making facilities . My husband has a disability and we were offered a ground floor room, very close to good sized car parking spaces (free...something we realize is hard to come by when staying in and around LA), with hand rails and plenty of space to move about.
I can not rave enough about this wonderful hotel and resort. We will definately be recommending this hotel to everyone and look forward to returning sometime in the future. A well deserved, 5 stars. All rooms have WIFI..which was invaluable for us.

Room Tip: Buildings 2 and 4 are closest to the pool and water park area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank girl_jo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We love Howard Johnson. The staff are always so friendly and informative. It was our second stay in Oct/Nov 2011 and we will definately be returning. Very convenient to Disneyland and California Adventure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antoinette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This hotel was a great value and my kids loved it. They have an amazing staff with the best customer service skills. We had a bad expieance at a different hotel no walked into the Howard Johnson and asked to see what a room looked like, told them what happened at the other hotel. And the girl at tge reception desk arranged for us to have two Bohr stay there. This save our vacation. Plus the great captian cove my kids loved.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N2fins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

we stayed as a family of 4, 2 adults 2 kids (5 & 6 years) in September 2011. It is within walking distance to disneyland which is why we chose it. The rooms are somewhat older but quite clean. There is a little mini mart on site, handy for purchasing breakfast foods etc if you want to eat before leaving for the day. Would definitely recommend for families wanting to visit disneyland.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
6  Thank Lara_TravelTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#21 of 118 in Anaheim
2,924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £129 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing