We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fun, service and value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing fun, service and value!”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My family of four, (2 adults & 2 kids), recently spent one night at this hotel. The hotel is clean and staff is very friendly and helpful.

The Castaway Cove water play area was so much fun! The water is kept warm. Our children, 9- & 1-yr-olds, enjoyed every bit of it. I even enjoyed going down the slide with my little one.

There are plenty of places to eat from and Disneyland is at a short walk's distance. We enjoyed the fireworks from our balcony.

See you again on Spring Break! We have already booked our room!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FantasticFamOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,761
    2,631
    832
    239
    89
See reviews for
5,935
483
71
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

For my first trip to Disney with my son, I was extremely disapointed in this hotel. The loby was beautiful! I was thinking, "alright...what a score!" I saw the outside of the buildings and was turned off. It was worse when I got into our room!

I've stayed at lower chains and have had better rooms that what we had. I was shocked at the dated decore in our room! There was rust stains around the drain of the tub. The counters where from the 70's I'm sure. The only plus to the hotel was the kids pool/park.

The noise from the outside was awful. The a/c didn't work nor did the remote for the television. The room was huge which was nice, however there was 7 lapms in the room. For a hotel trying to go green, you'd think less lighting would be a good way to start along with maybe a recycle bin or two.

Overall the front desk staff were great. My son was trying to talk to the housekeeping staff and they blew him off.

I will do my research for the other hotels and inns on that strip before I would consider going back to Hojo. Pretty disapointed!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I read the reviews before we left. It was raining so we didn't get to use the water park but it looked really fun. The front desk was understaffed and there was a huge line waiting to check in/check out/ask questions/answer phones. It took no less than 20 minutes to do anything that involved the front desk. The rooms are old... not cool old. Used old. But the location is fantastic. We walked to and from Disney in under 10 minutes and the cost of the hotel as reasonable for it's location. The lobby is cool retro but the room just just sort of used with older furnishing, mis-matched carpet. But it was clean. If it were in a lesser location, I would have only given 3 stars but the location makes up for what it lacks. Better service and remodeled interior. I understand the retro vibe and thought that would have been really cool but the rooms didn't follow suit -- or at least the building we were in.

Room Tip: Maybe try to get a room in one of the buildings in the front. We were put in a building in back. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdrtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in January with 2 kids - an end of NZ school holidays trip. The HoJo had come highly recommended and we can see why. The hotel was absolutely ideal for a Disneyland trip. Our room had 2 huge and extremely comfortable beds (we all slept for about 15 hours straight on the first night after a long flight). Added bonuses to the room were a great coffee machine complete with real coffee that was topped up each day plus a microwave. Didn't think there would be a need for the microwave but with the American sized meals that you get at all the surrounding restaurants it was brilliant for heating up leftovers the next morning for breakfast. Disneyland is a 5 minute walk away and there are heaps of places to eat in the area.
The pirate cove water play area was a huge hit with the kids - and even in the middle of 'winter' (whatever it was 28 degrees one day!) the water playground was really popular. We were there mid week so the queues at Disney and California were minimal however the trade off for that is that the parks' opening hours are shorter and the fireworks are only in the weekend. But for some reason at 9.40 on Wednesday night there was a full fireworks display from Disneyland that we had a prime view of from our window.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to any family - and the price is so reasonable - you wouldn't get a hotel room of this quality and convenience for this price anywhere in NZ or Australia. Especially with free parking and free wi-fi in all the rooms. Absolutely Brilliant - thanks HoJo.

Room Tip: You pay extra for the premium rooms but the view and the microwave are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bricarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This is a solid 3 star hotel. It is clean though the rooms are dated and somewhat rundown. Great location, within a 5 minute walk to Disney. Lacking the niceties of a 4-5 star property such as 24hr assistance with luggage at checkout, room service, restaurants etc. Overall a good hotel for it's price bracket.

Room Tip: The ART (shuttle bus) is extremely unreliable, you are much better off making the 5 minute walk to D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed in early March 2011 for 7 nights. Check- in was flawless-we arrived around 1 pm @SNA, and called to see if our room was ready, they said "come on over". Each staff member we encountered at the very least smiled and assisted us as needed. PLENTY of parking for rental car on the rare occasions we went out of area. Our premium view room was great: could see monorail, Matterhorn and mini water park from balcony and probably could see fireworks, but we were IN park for those. Room was very clean and larger than standard hotels and linens were clean. Room temp control worked well as we had a couple of cool days and a few 80 degree days. Water pressure and temperature was great. Plenty of storage area for 2 adults & 2 kids. We had a room far away from elevator and rarely heard others making noise during our stay. Walk to Disneyland Resort was 8-10 minutes with twin 5 year olds full of energy in morning and 10-15 mins at the end of our day spent all day at DR with kids low on energy. Took a break in the middle of each day to spend time in water park when weather was good. Kids LOVED the water park. This is the biggest draw for us as our kids love it! They had a lifeguard on duty at all times and made sure big kids were careful esp. around the smaller ones. We looked at other motels that were directly across entrance and observed those were busier and NOISIER because of a lot of foot/car/restaurants concentrated in area.None had the water park anywhere near as nice as Hojos. We bought snacks & drinks @ local Walmart & stored in room/fridge to carry into park each day to save $. Very satisfied with hotel's mini mart on site when we needed misc.items. Housekeepers kept room tidy each day. Grounds are well kept. Despite no eatery on site, well within walking and driving distance to many choices. We did eat at Mimi's a few times(reasonably good service & food) and picked up McDs for kids too. Both were within 2-3 minute walk. Excellent experience and very happy we chose Ho Jo Anaheim. We will definitely stay there when we go again this year.

Room Tip: Try to use entertainment card rates if possible. Rate cannot be beat! Also, ask for room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1twinsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathcote NSW Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We've stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the years and always find it to be excellent. This trip was no exception. We only had 2 nights there while we did a visit to Disneyland but the staff couldn't have been more helpful, and as usual, everything about the property is worth recommending.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank firequeen1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#21 of 118 in Anaheim
2,861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing