We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights. This is the 5th hotel we've stayed at in the Disneyland area. Overall we were pleased and would stay again.
When we arrived they had us with a room next to the pool, but we asked to have one away from it because we didn't want the noise so they put us in a quieter building. There is highway noise because the HOJO is right next to the freeway entrance.

The air conditioner in our room did not work so we called them and they gave us some advice to get it working. We tried that for one night and it was not successful so we called them again. They sent out their maintenance people and had a brand new one installed within 10 minutes. We were very impressed with how quickly they resolved it.

We use a double BOB stroller for our kids and usually bring it right into the room, but the doors at the HOJO are too narrow and it does not fit which was kind of a pain. We didn't want to hassle with moving rooms so we just dealt with it. We later learned that if you can only fit it through their handicap doors.

Our kids loved the water play area. Even though it was chilly in my opinion the kids still had a blast and went down the slide over and over. When they got cold they would hop in the hot tub to warm.

I would recommend the hotel and we will probably stay again on our next trip to Disneyland.

Room Tip: Rooms away from pool area quieter, If you have a double BOB stroller you have to ask for a handicap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momof282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,282 - 4,288 of 7,824 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights while going to Disneyland. Rooms were clean and airy.
Loved the new TV. The whole facility was well maintained and people couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We had a change in our itinerary as a family member had their flight changed. The Hojo Staff adjusted the room for a lengthened stay and at a lower rate!! I would recommend this Hotel to anyone. Oh, and the new beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I honestly can't say enough about the Ho Jo Anaheim. We travelled there recently, had 5 nights in a Superior Room in building 1 prior to a 7 night cruise to Mexico. Check in staff are flawless, friendly and always helpful. Plenty of storage for luggage, the beds are super comfy and the coffee machine is excellent. I'd actually go as far to say that the beds are as good as, if not better than the Westin Hotel's Heavenly Bed. Other reviews state that the WIFI was ordinary - we had no problem and often had 3 devices going simulaneously.

It's been said countless times before but the Water Playground is the jewel in the Hojo's crown. The kids of all ages love it and so do the adults. Never a shortage of lounge chairs or shade umbrellas if you want them. On days that Disneyland was open late, we did a morning session then returned to the hotel for the middle part of the day and got some pool time before returning for the afternoon, evening.

WHo are we? We were a family of two adults and two children, aged 5 and 9 and the room was a perfect size for us. There is a coin operated laundry downstairs, all with brand new machines and a change machine in the games room. My girls loved the games room and there are plenty of things to amuse them with a quarter or two. The entrance to Disneyland and California Adventure Park is an honest, easy 8 minute walk, door to door with a 5 yearold. Easy.

Tips - we visited Vons.Com which is a huge grocery store online. As a first time customer, we qualified for free delivery and you can nominate your delivery time, right down to the hour. We placed an order prior to arrival and scheduled delivery the afternoon we arrived. Cold beer, snacks for the kids, fruit. REception staff phoned us when it arrived and it couldn't have been easier. The shop downstairs is very well stocked and perfect for just about everything you need however the Vons delivery was great and set us up for the week.

Mimis cafe is located just accross the car park and has fantastic food. Extremely reasonable, kids breakfasts for $3.95 etc. Many meals under $10 and equally good for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We ordered take out from mimis from my Ipad and just walked over picked it up on two evenings when we decided to stay in. About a 10 minute walk is the Anaheim Garden Walk which has the CHeesecake Factory - fantastic restaurant and a great place to spend your last night in Anaheim.

THe outlet shopping at Citadel is FANTASTIC. It's a manageable outlet, unlike some of the huge ones accross the USA. Managable in that it is really well laid out, excellent facilities and there is a fantastic range of stores. Definitely worth a visit and if you don't have a car, there is a reasonably priced shuttle that stops right out the front of the Howard Johnson.

Over the years, I have stayed in several properties in the Anaheim area, including Disney properties and for my money - I just can't go past the Hojo. THey have an excellent reputation, particularly with the Australian traveller and they deserve it.

Room Tip: building 1 - overlooking Disneyland park and fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hojoanaheim, HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank hyderj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Anaheim Resort
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
3,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £121 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing