We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, close and comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at this HoJo from Dec 3-6 2013. We were in one of the two level buildings, not the tall tower. I really can't say enough good things about this gem! We've been to Disneyland 4 times in the past 6 yrs (yes, we're lucky people!). We've stayed at all 3 Disney properties, The original Disneyland Hotel, Paradise Pier and The Grand Californian. We've also stayed at the Fairfield Inn. I think I like point form, so here goes.
Pro's
-A 5 minute walk to the main entrance of Disneyland!
-Very quick and easy check-in
-We were able to get an early check-in, which was so helpful
-Grounds decorated very nicely for Christmas
-This hotel is far from new, but kept very, very nicely
-Our room was SO bright! Two big curved windows at each side, let in tons of natural light
-Can't put my finger on it, but we were just so comfortable in this room. Felt like home!
-Both my husband and myself are very picky about a comfortable bed, we both liked the beds! (had a room with 2 double beds, were travelling with our 9 yr old)
-I saw zero bugs, as someone else said they saw.
-Very efficient Daniel, at front desk, saved the day!! My husband had left some very personal papers by the computer in the front lobby, lots of personal info. Daniel scooped them up, and put them away safely and left us a voicemail, letting us know he had found them. Thanks for caring Daniel!
Overall, this hotel was great! For the exorbitant amount of money charged by Disneyland hotels, I would not be able to justify staying in one of those again, when this one is really strong, in all the really important areas.
Cons
-Doors to the rooms close loudly, but I find this problem in any hotel that's more than a couple of years old.
-One of the cleaners used in the hotel was a bit strong smelling, just at times. I never noticed it in our room, just in the hall on occasion. BUT I do have a very sensitive nose! My husband didn't notice it at all.
SO… a very short 'con' list. Would we stay again? Absolutely. Recommend it to family and friends? In a heartbeat!
My rule of thumb when looking at reviews on Tripadvisor, is to go with the majority. There's always going to be a few people that had a bad experience, even at the priciest, fanciest hotels on the planet. Oh! Important to keep in mind.. If you notice that a couple of the hotels near Disneyland have really high ratings, just make sure you're comparing apples to apples. Some of those hotels only have a handful of reviews, making their odds of getting a high rating, quite a bit easier. Hope this helps! ( never dined at the restaurant or used child service, so can't vouch for it).

Room Tip: I would imagine the rooms right beside the pool, would be noisy, if you like to go to bed early, som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,212 - 4,218 of 7,757 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The convenience factor is excellent. Far enough to be away from the crowd but close enough to still be in walking distance. Wish the mini fridge had freezer and wish that there was a microwave as well. It was too cold to enjoy the water park but it looked wonderful. The staff was wonderful throughout our entire stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank miss_ha_y_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

These are very old, outdated rooms with a bizarrely placed, crappy tv. As far as hotels on harbor blvd go, it's the farthest from Disneyland, although still walking distance in under ten minutes. It wasn't horrible, just disappointing and not worth the cost. We stayed in building 1 in a "premium" room. what that means I have no idea because the room has not been renovated and has no trimmings, and we could not see the fireworks from the room as advertised. Also note that this hotel has no restaurant on site. I did stay here once during the summer and my kids loved the water park so that made it worth the price, but if you go to in the winter and can't use that there is definitely no reason to stay here over the other hotels on Harbor Boulevard. I travel all the time for work and for pleasure and stay at a variety of hotel chains. While there was nothing hugely wrong with the room, this is the most disappointed I've ever been. Maybe try their cheapest prices rooms, they can't be any worse for value :\

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria12134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojoanaheim, HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Maria12134,

We are so saddened to hear that your recent stay with us was disappointing. If you encounter any problems or are not happy with your room please let the Manager on Duty know and give us the opportunity to make sure when you leave us you are happy and looking forward to coming back again. We do not have a restaurant on site, but our Main Street Market, located on the ground floor of our main tower building does carry a variety of food and drink items. Also, our partner restaurant Mimi’s Café is just a few steps away from our lobby. Both the Castaway Cove water playground and Garden Pool are kept heated year round. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your visit and hope you give us another try during your next trip to the Anaheim Resort. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Regards,

HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Would not stay again. Ants on our table when we returned from park. We did not have food - so where did they come from? Not clean! We called the front desk for another room. Were told no - and no offer to come and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NellieMae14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights. This is the 5th hotel we've stayed at in the Disneyland area. Overall we were pleased and would stay again.
When we arrived they had us with a room next to the pool, but we asked to have one away from it because we didn't want the noise so they put us in a quieter building. There is highway noise because the HOJO is right next to the freeway entrance.

The air conditioner in our room did not work so we called them and they gave us some advice to get it working. We tried that for one night and it was not successful so we called them again. They sent out their maintenance people and had a brand new one installed within 10 minutes. We were very impressed with how quickly they resolved it.

We use a double BOB stroller for our kids and usually bring it right into the room, but the doors at the HOJO are too narrow and it does not fit which was kind of a pain. We didn't want to hassle with moving rooms so we just dealt with it. We later learned that if you can only fit it through their handicap doors.

Our kids loved the water play area. Even though it was chilly in my opinion the kids still had a blast and went down the slide over and over. When they got cold they would hop in the hot tub to warm.

I would recommend the hotel and we will probably stay again on our next trip to Disneyland.

Room Tip: Rooms away from pool area quieter, If you have a double BOB stroller you have to ask for a handicap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momof282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights while going to Disneyland. Rooms were clean and airy.
Loved the new TV. The whole facility was well maintained and people couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We had a change in our itinerary as a family member had their flight changed. The Hojo Staff adjusted the room for a lengthened stay and at a lower rate!! I would recommend this Hotel to anyone. Oh, and the new beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 119 in Anaheim
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £130 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing