We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was our first stay at the Anaheim Hojo and we'd...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our first stay at the Anaheim Hojo and we'd definitely stay again. The staff was courteous and always helpful when you had a question. Our kids are older and loved swimming in the larger pool that is separate from the water park.

I was impressed with the double doors and windows in our room that made it very quiet, even though it faced I-5 and the proximity to Disney/California Adventure made for an easy walk.

We booked here on the recommendation of a friend and I'm in total agreement, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,906 - 3,912 of 7,681 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

This property is located just a few minutes walk to the main gates of Disneyland. However, it is also adjacent to I5. Although convenient to the parks, the road noise from the freeway makes it difficult to sleep and relax in the room. This is no fault of the property, but still a huge reason not to stay here again.

The water park was a nice addition for the kids, but small. We went there first thing at 10am when it opened, so it wasn't too busy, but I can see on a hot summer day this place being packed with no place to sit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojoanaheim, HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Paul S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! We are so sorry to hear you had some trouble sleeping in your room. Next time please let our Front Desk Staff know, they would be more than happy to find a quieter room for you and your family. We only allow hotel Guests to access our pool facilities in order to avoid overcrowding during our busy summer season. We are glad to hear your kids had some time to play and enjoy our Castaway Cove water playground. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope we are still one of your accommodation choices when planning your next Disneyland vacation!

Kind Regards,

HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We adored this hotel! Everything about it was perfect.
We stayed in a bunk bed suite. The kids loved it and I was excited about two bathrooms, closets, a separate room, etc.
The water playground was awesome!
The price great for what we got.
Literally right across from Disneyland and there was a free shuttle to an expo we were attending.
Room cleaning was great.
Definitely would stay here again- could not have better!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeppgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

After our first trip to Disneyland where we stayed at the Grand Californian and paid $400+ a night we have stayed at the HOJO for the past 6 trips and in my opinion it is far better value for the money.

Location wise it's 10 minute walk to the Park.

The rooms are excellent and the interior is at par with the Grand Caliornian (where you pay for the gorgeous lobby)

The staff is helpful and catered to our request for a specific room, the onsite store has every imaginable thing you would need.

The only negative for some people is that there is no in hotel restaurant but Mimi's is across the street if you need your breakfast fix.

We have never hada gripe about the HOJO and we will be back in 2015.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room facing the park, they are quieter and you can see the fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parbuster1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojoanaheim, HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Parbuster1962,

We are so thrilled to hear that your stays with us have always been enjoyable! We are grateful to have a staff that is dedicated to provide our Guests with the highest quality, value and service. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we are looking forward to seeing you again in 2015!

Kind Regards,

HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mslaylalayla
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 March 2014

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Margaret/Stephe... J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#22 of 118 in Anaheim
2,929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £127 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing