We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good but not 5 star”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

After much research of every hotel across the street from The Disney resorts and based on all the really good Tripadvisor reviews, my family of four just stayed for 5 nights at HoJo. It's a good hotel but not great. Hotel could definitely use freshening up as walls had black streak marks, furniture appeared worn, & bathroom ceiling had spots where paint was peeling. All not major issues but factors into the overall feel.

We had a high floor room facing the freeway in building 1 and the great thing was, you could barely hear the cars driving. The bad part was the floors are somewhat thin so we could hear neighbors above stomping around very easily. I'm not joking when I say it sounded like really loud base in a car was going off with the jumping & running that kept me up. I had to call the front desk a couple of nights to ask for them to call above.
The bathroom is small. Could barely maneuver around the door it give my kids baths & I am not a big person. There is 1 sink in the bathroom & another sink just outside.

They actually have a little sign that says if you can't give 5 stars on Tripadvisor, let them know & they will make it right. Although I can appreciate that, it just didn't make sense to me to repack everything I had unpacked to get moved to another room that probably wasn't going to be much better.

The walk wasn't too bad but there were a couple of times where I thought it would've been very convenient to have stayed directly across the street. The extra couple hundred feet can make a difference & I'm in pretty good shape.

We didn't take advantage of the water park but it looked really fun for kids. The convenience store inside building 1 was very well stocked. It wasn't the typical little store with just some basics. It had a good amount of food items as well as Disney souvenirs.

Overall, a decent stay at good rates but not sure if I would stay again. May possibly consider reserving the 2 room bunkbed suite for next year or try the Double Tree down the street as I have had great experiences with Hilton hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,733
    2,609
    818
    237
    86
See reviews for
5,870
481
71
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms were great, serviced daily. The front desk service was excellent. The water park is excellent as a break from walking around Disney. Great location to CAL and DL just a short walk. If you stay near roadside the highway is quite noisy but not a bother for us personally. We enjoyed our time here and great restaurants that cater for families within 2 min walks.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I had an awesome trip to Disneyland from New Zealand with our 3 adult sons, their partners and 3 grand children to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. Accommodation at Howard Johnson was the best. Beds were incredibly comfortable but I found the light through the top windows distracting.
The Mainstreet market was stocked with very useful items for our family.
We enjoyed Mimi's Cafe for both dining in and take out. Prices were very reasonable at Mimi's and the food selection, taste and service were excellent.
We transferred to a Marriott Hotel and All of our party agreed that the Howard Johnson far exceeded the standard we experienced at the Marriot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KuiAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stay there for 3 nights with my family and friends. ..All I can say I did very good choice to stay at Howard Johnson Anaheim. ..First of all the staff are so
Friendly the restaurant are everywhere. ..The disneyland it self is walking distance. ..And my kids loving so much the pirate cove...which is at the back of our hotel...Is just love at first sight...we are planning to go back so soon and we will choose same Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Shelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We chose this motel for our week in Anaheim as it was away from the constant Disney themes and provided so much alternate fun for the kids. We were delighted in what we found there. The water playground was wonderful, as was the large main pool close to our room. Rooms were generously sized, and the helpful reception staff allowed us early access after our overnight flight.
No on-site restaurant, but spoiled for choice within a 5 minute walk (Mimi's was closest and one of the best). Less than 10 minutes to Disneyland Main Gate made returns to the hotel possible during the day which suits couples with small children in tow.
As a foreigner driving in LA I was pleased that the access off the I-5 was so easy. Having a car gave us more options to explore the area from our Anaheim base.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnECanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
2,839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing