We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

7,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,599
    2,536
    780
    223
    81
See reviews for
5,631
464
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

For our second trip to Disneyland we decided to forgo the Disney hotels and see what the non-Disney hotels had to offer. We were pleasantly surprised. It was a fair bit cheaper, and the 10 minute walk was the same or shorter than Paradise Pier to the gates of Disneyland. Our room was in what appeared to be an older building, but it was clean. It was a "deluxe" room, which apparently just means it faces away from the adjacent freeway so it's quieter. There is no "free" breakfast but we made do with groceries, the mini room fridge and coffeemaker. The waterpark was operating but since we were visiting in February and the weather was on the cool side it wasn't high on our list. Not sure exactly when people would use it since aren't you supposed to spend every waking hour at Disneyland? The hotel shop offered a few items in a pinch, but get your real groceries elsewhere. Staff were friendly and helpful, but we didn't need to call on them often, likely because all our needs were met. Oh, and the other advantage of staying on this side of Disneyland? South Harbor Boulevard is lined with restaurants and little shops. It's not Downtown Disney fancy, but there's more to meet the needs of hungry and tired families without breaking the bank on this side of the park. All within walking distance. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: "Deluxe" means it faces away from the freeway next door. Nothing special or different othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carryon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at Hojo for 7 days in May. Our first trip to the USA and Disneyland, all the way from Australia. Fantastic service from check in to check out. We loved our time there and would definitely come back and stay and highly recommend it. Thank you so much for our room upgrade. The rooms were fantastic, with coffee machine, mini fridge and microwave. The beds were so comfortable and the pillows were the best. If you sold those pillows in the gift shop downstairs I would have purchased one. It was very convenient to be able to do some washing and buy washing powder from your shop. Great location and proximity to Disneyland, California Aventure Park, Downtown Disney and Garden Walk with one of our favourite restaurants, "The Cheesecake Factory". Thank you for the discount voucher for the Rainforest Cafe, we loved it there. Thanks for the great service and I'm sure you'll reach 5 stars on trip advisor very soon. Keep up the great work :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

For what is basically advertised as a family hotel, many so called superior places could learn a lot. Fresh coffee, a decent sized bed, a properly located TV screen (high - and visible from the bed), good soundproofing from the windows, a friendly shop and helpful front desk staff are simple enough but mean a lot, especially to travellers suffering jet lag - which we were.
The fact that the scheduled Disneyland Express coach from LAX, stops and picks up here is another plus.
HoJo's is basically at the end of what we'd call the Disney strip, where so many eateries and hotels are located. That means you leave the building and only need to turn left to find somewhere to eat and just a five minute walk to the Disney entrance (and another five to the actual park gates).
We have stayed here several times since 1987 and although we have tried other places, we seem to always return to HoJo's so that says a lot.
It's a great place for kids too and although they make a fair bit of noise in the pool(s), our unit in block 2 was on the pool side but it wasn't a problem.
Memorial Day weekend wasn't the best choice of time to travel to the Disney area but HoJo's was up to it. Noise from within the hotel could be a problem if the other guests were noisy, but in this instance, they weren't.
We didn't sleep well, but that was through no fault of HoJo's, more a case of our body clocks rebelling. A check out time of 12 noon is also generous when other establishments want you out at 10am and this time, we didn't even wake until 10am on our final day and before yet another long flight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank socram13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our first trip to Disneyland and we waited for 5 years for my youngest to be tall enough to go on all the rides so this it was very important it be a perfect trip. I spent months before finding the perfect place to stay and man did I get it right! The wonderful, helpful, and I must say patient folks who staff the property could not have been better and the hotel is super clean. I called every week to see if a larger room was available and bugged them relentlessly about every little detail but each one I spoke with was polite and encouraged me that I had a great room. They began to recognize me and my family was afraid they would spit on our pillow because I was being a pain. When we got there I was a bit nervous, I am obsessive and stay at many hotels all over the west and always move our room at the last minute. They were able to upgrade us at check-in and I even got a tour of every type of room and a history of the property. I was amazed at how nice this place is and has everything you need...a store and game room and the pool play area is great when you are exhausted in the middle of the day. THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY!!!! It is an easy walk to the parks and Mimi's next door is better than a complimentary breakfast especially when you sign up for the email club a week before you arrive.(advise from the staff)

Room Tip: We stayed in a kids suite which faces the freeway and the noise was not even noticeable. The room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing