We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Happy!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Disneyland Hotel a year ago and dare I say, I actually preferred HOJO?! I actually felt that HOJO was cleaner in addition to being more affordable. It was, believe it or not, more convenient than DLH on several levels. When we stayed at DLH last year, it was nightmare to leave the property in our vehicle and return - very time consuming. At HOJO the car was nearby and we could quickly get on and off the property. Also, when we ran out of water at DLH, it was insane how much a bottle on the property cost. Even for Disney. At HOJO, it was only $1.50 in the vending machine. The beds were comfortable. The staff we encountered were all very friendly and attentive. In fact, the housekeeper reported the shower drain that was slightly slow and had maintenance come to fix it before I even got around to notify the front desk of the issue. Never have I encountered that. The walk to Disney was just as convenient as when we stayed at the DLH. Mimi's is right across the street so when the kids wanted a quick breakfast we just placed an take-out order online and it was ready for pick-up in 20 mins. I just walked over and grabbed our order as the everyone was getting ready to head to the park for the day. The kids enjoyed the waterpark, too. It's not as large as the one at the DLH, but they had a good time without complaint. The only thing that was a little shocking to me was that the bathroom seemed a little outdated. The shower/tub seemed updated but the rest didn't. It's not a deal breaker for me though because it was very clean and well maintained - just not as aesthetically pleasing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyExpedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,657
    2,573
    793
    229
    83
See reviews for
5,739
471
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When we first started going to Disneyland with our kids we stayed at the Residence Inn Resort Area for the first couple of years. The hotel was great and had plenty of space and breakfast included. We decided last year to try the Hojo because it was within walking distance. We enjoyed the stay in the kid's suite on the 3rd floor so we booked it again for second week of June. We checked in on June 8th after coming up from LEGOLAND and the only kid's suite available were on the 7th or 1st floor. We chose the 7th floor but the room was not sound proofed and the skylights provided way too much light at 5am in the morning! We spent one night in this room and requested a change. The only other available room was on the 1st floor by the elevator. This room was sound proofed from the freeway but was very noisy early in the morning and late at night with crowds waiting for the elevator, stopping by the gift shop or playing air hockey with the annoying bell sounds!!!!! The stay would have been better on floors 2-6 but is still lacking the free breakfast that other hotels closer offer...we will probably try a different hotel for our next trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I did a lot of research for this disney trip and originally booked another hotel, about a month prior I switched us to the Howard Johnson. We had booked through a travel agent. When we arrived at 2 pm the staff was very friendly and said they had a room ready. Walking into building 4 there was an old thrift store smell in the hallway and I was disappointed that smell continued into the room. It really reminded me of an older day care or thrift store. Also the room was not the size shown in the pictures, there was only 1 sink in a small bathroom no seconds sink outside the bathroom for more than one person to get ready. Overall it wasn't the worst stay but I would not stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lcady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very clean and well managed. Enjoyed the retro 60's decor. Grandchildren loved the bunk beds. Within easy walking distance to Disney.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#15 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing