We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the last one on the strip but very much worth it. Clean and beds are super comfortable! Nice pool and water playground. Shop on site is very convenient and well stocked. Several restaurants on the walk to Disney including McDonalds. I would definitely stay here again if we ever in the area.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Disneyworlddreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,614)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,458 - 3,464 of 7,614 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed three nights in early June 2014. Must say it was a mid-century modern delight!

Excellent staff (Of note? The blond woman working the evening shifts at the store), comfy beds, nice little water park for the kids, surprisingly large room and a 6th floor view of the fireworks? Talk about a "good sleep". Loved it and will return if we are fortunate to visit again.

Room Tip: Go for it and spring for the view of Disney and the fireworks!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zydeco3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for just two nights for a quick disneyland stop on our US trip from Australia. It was nothing spectacular, but it definitely served its purpose. Very short walking distance from Disneyland, and also very close to McDonalds and IHOP (good if you have kids or want a quick breakfast before Disneyland) Definitely would recommend for families but okay for couples too. We certainly enjoyed our stay and got a good nights sleep, but with Disneyland open late up the road, who wants to spend much time in the hotel anyway!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is my second stay at this hotel. The room and bathroom are great and clean. The pool area is very cute but also crowded. The adult pool is much nicer. Check in is 4pm which is very late if you have arrived on an early morning flight. There’s not much to do in Anaheim if you aren’t heading to the parks for the day so it’s a lot of hours to fill until you can check in. The hotel is vying for a 5 star rating (brochures/cards asking for reviews are everywhere). My main complaint is that my view was the freeway and I knew that those opposite me had a view of the Disney fireworks every night (I had to stand in the carpark to watch them) and we all paid the same price. The hotel should have separate fees for fireworks view and non-fireworks because I would have paid more for the view. I also suggest they re-think the check in and check out times as it seems the majority of flights into LA are early morning flights (catering to those who are transferring to other flights). Both of the times I stayed here, I arrived very early and had to wait. It’s very difficult to do. I realise it’s not the hotel’s fault that we arrive early but a room where early arrivals could wait would be helpful. One more thing, they have the most comfortable beds I have ever encountered. Seriously, the best.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the fireworks.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali34xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent 4 nights here whilst enjoying a 3 day Disney Pass. An older hotel it is still very clean, the rooms are spacious and have everything you need! We had a fridge, coffee maker, bathroom with bath and a separate second sink in the main room. The view of the Disney fireworks were ok - but the balconies are unfurnished and very small (ie couldnt really fit our family of 4 on the balcony all at the one time!) so I would save some money and go for the rooms without the view. The in hotel water park was fun for the kids whilst they had a break from Disney - and could actually be used to bribe the kids back to the hotel! the Laundry is a godsend and open late for weary parents to catch up on washing. There is also a handy little shop and games room. Yes it is still a bit of a walk to Disney (about 10 minutes) but when we checked out the actual Disney resorts they were just as far or even further.
All in all this is a great hotel to base yourself for Disney - Mimis restaurant next door does affordable family meals and if all else fails there is a MacDonalds within a hundred metres for breakfast and meals on the run.

Room Tip: Unless you love fireworks (or dont plan to watch them actually at Disney) then save your money and d...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have 3 children ages 3,4 and 6 and this by far has been one of our best experiences while traveling to Disneyland. The staff was very accommodating while we arrived early,they held our bags as we left to start our Disney day and allowed us to park even though we weren't expecting to be able to leave our car it made it very convenient. We have a massive double stroller that is hard to maneuver or fold down in order to catch a tram or shuttle and being able to park and walk a short distance was perfect for our family. The kids were thrilled with the bunk beds and the Water Playground was one of the highlights for them! The staff was top notch too. After leaving when we returned home I realized I had left my phone charger behind and called with very low expectations that it would be found. Not only was it accounted for but they were very attentive and helpful in finding the best and quickest way to have it returned to me. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#19 of 118 in Anaheim
2,890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.6 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £135 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing