We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in October 2013 with our son and his family. There was a great little water park for the kids to play in which they really enjoyed. The rooms were nice, comfy bed and quite roomy. The staff were very helpful with arranging shuttles, etc. and explaining bus routes. The location was wonderful. Within a 10 minute walk to Disneyland, so it was easy to come back for a rest and go back again. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a close hotel to the Disneyland action.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ward34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,558 - 3,564 of 7,729 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel wasn't a big disappointment because I wasn't expecting much from a HoJo. The rooms are typical of a HoJo . . . clean enough but still feels like a motel. The price point is high I think because of its proximity to Disneyland. For that reason this hotel is great. It's definitely walkable for family's with kids in strollers or who don't want to walk too far.

As for the water park, it's a nice plus but don't expect a "water park". It's essentially a glorified kids pool with a few slides. Again a plus, but calling it a water park is a stretch.

There's no room service, but lots of restaurants near by. The sundry shop is only open till 11 and apparently isn't connected to the hotel because there are no room charges.

I give this a 3-star only because of the high price point. Don't want others to have higher expectations than they should. It's a HoJo, close to the park with a nice kids pool. Nothing more. Nothing less.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojoanaheim, HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear BenBrownBack,

We are so saddened to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. Our rates vary depending on the travel dates, for stays during the busy summer months pricing for hotels in the Anaheim Resort do tend to be a bit higher. We are delighted to hear that you took advantage of our close proximity to Disneyland and enjoyed our Castaway Cove water playground. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope you and your family give us another try in the future!

Kind regards,

HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights in June2014. For us Texans, the waterpark was too cold for our kids. Of course the only time they had to enjoy it was the evening we got there. I'm sure with the sun shining it would have been perfect. My 3 yr old loved the slides, my 8 yr old preferred the big pool (heated). Either way, we were there for Disney, not for hotel waterpark, but if you have extra time it's great. We walked each day to Disney, 3 yr old in stroller and it took us about 6 minutes. Much better than hunting for parking, paying for parking and getting on a shuttle! Perfect location! The room itself was comfortable and clean. Fridge, microwave and coffee in the room were all we needed. We also took advantage of laundry room before we left, always helpful with a 10 day road trip. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

this hotel is in walking distance of Disneyland. Not to far for a 7 years old. Rooms are Clean and spacious for a hotel. Beds where extremely comfy.
Mimi's across the road was a great restaurant for having an affordable breakfast. This would be a great place in summer for families with small children wanting to have some water fun while mum and dad relax for the afternoon.

Room Tip: Travellers will hear the Disney Fireworks. Its a bit alarming when you have just arrived off a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mordys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights - Late June 2014 for a visit to Disneyland! The entire experience was PERFECT! Front Desk staff was great...accommodate both my requests for: 1) Adjoining rooms (although not something they can guarantee in advance) and, 2) Ground floor rooms as my 75 year old mother was with us. Very clean rooms. Nice balcony and view from room of grounds and pool area. Plenty of room for 2 Adults and a child in the room. Pool and Pirates Cove swimming were so much fun for my 4 year old! Great gift/sundry shop on site with any and everything you could need. Ample assigned parking that was easy and safe. Very comfortable beds. Great A/C. We were on the side of building near the 5 freeway and could not hear a thing. Only recommendation would be if the in room fridges were a little bit larger. Walk from room to Disneyland Gates was 10-15 minutes max...may have been faster but 4 year old walked slower. At close of trip, we got a nice late check out (1pm) AND they gave us a pool access key and we stayed until 5pm swimming and had a nice lunch by the pool. What a great experience...my highest recommendation and appreciation to the GM and staff!

Room Tip: Building 2 is furthest from front lobby and kids pool...very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were travelling as a family and we were very pleased with the service and
accommodation, especially the connecting rooms that we requested and were
given. It was just over 30 years since we had stayed at this hotel previously and was not disappointed either time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Joycelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

lovely clean hotel with nice friendly staff. stayed here for 3 nights to visit disneyand. had lovely clean room overlooking small pool at the back. although motorway at back of us never heard a thing.bathroom lovely with double sinks, only thing missing was a plug for the bath and i love a bath but had to use shower. free microwave, fridge and coffee making machine. about ten minutes walk to gates of disneyland where there are a lot of beggars and homeless hanging about but they don't bother you too much although i don't think i would go off the main area in anaheim and also locals warned us not to stray too far.plenty of eating places within ten minutes walk from hotel, not really any bars around just downtown disney area.mimis accross road nice but bit pricey for breakfasts which are huge they should offer smaller portions for half the price as a lot of food is wasted. all in all a great base for visiting disneyland. and really reasonable prices for rooms........

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letitia114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.9 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £132 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing