We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Howard Johnson is a dated Hotel but the rooms are very comfortable. The beds were really comfortable and they have nice linen. Having an extra wash basin was great since our family of four were sharing the room. The staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel has a self serve laundromat and the convenience of being able to do a load of washing was excellent. The walk to Disneyland is about 8 minutes. The convenience store in the hotel is expensive as is everything in this area. Recommend this hotel if you don't mind staying in a room that is a little dated but is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OscarBOy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojoanaheim, HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear OscarBOy33,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms during your recent stay with us! We are so glad that our laundry facilities were helpful to you and your family. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we hope we are now your first pick for accommodations in the Anaheim Resort!

Kind regards,

HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,542 - 3,548 of 7,729 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

As others have reported, Disney owned properties at Disneyland are quite expensive (we usually stay in moderate resorts at WDW), but there were no deals available at DL. So we opted for the HoJo because of the waterpark, which the kids enjoyed thoroughly on very hot days. We could enjoy DL in the morning, then return to the hotel (10 mins walk) for a quick pool refresh. Our room was in the back portion, close to the freeway, but it still wasn't very noisy and we had quick access through a patio door to the nearby pool.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank NJDFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stay here for 3 nights in early July. Our room was ok, nothing special. However, housekeeping was not good. 1st: my daughter found a used bandaid on the floor by the bed as soon as we came into the room.
2nd: our trash wasn't thrown on the second day. We placed McDonald's bags in the trash can and they left it there.
3rd: The housekeeping comes very early in the morning. It wasn't an issue for us since we usually left early (except the last day).
Our room faced away from the freeway. However, the freeway noise was still very loud!
The store inside the hotel was always well stocked and priced reasonable.
My family loved the water play area. We have four kids (11, 7, 3, and 10mths) and all of them had so much fun.
The walk to/from Disney is very easy. There was no complaints from any of our kids and they are not the "let's go walking" type of kids either.
Over all I would recommend this hotel mainly because of the water play area. If that doesn't matter to you then I would say find another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlin505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our family enjoyed the quality room at the Howard Johnson. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The hotel convenience store is expensive, but so is all food around Disneyland. The best bet for food was Ruby's Diner one exit north, worth driving to dinner (or breakfast). It is a longer walk than some other hotels, tough on younger kids, but not bad, we walked back every afternoon on a 4-day visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Everything about our experience at HOJO Anaheim was great!
Staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean (a bit dated), but I expected that
for the price we paid. The rooms are big enough and even provide a coffee machine.

The water park is just amazing and they even have a little shop on-site too.
The location is ideal for Disneyland and the new mall. We stayed in building three and would highly recommend this building.

Room Tip: building 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojoanaheim, HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Narniak,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! We are so happy to hear that you had a delightful stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments and valuable feedback! We hope to see you and your family during your next Disneyland vacation.

Kind regards,

HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Disneyland was our destination for three days and we opted to stay at the Howard Johnson on recommendation. It didn't disappoint but like most of the hotels surrounding Disneyland, it meets all your basic needs well...without the luxury.
It wasn't too far to walk to Disneyland, just a stroll down the road and local restaurants offer quality food at reasonable prices.
For the price we paid, we were happy with the room and the service. The beds were small in our family room but even though the bathroom was dated, it was exceptionally clean. Being able to do a load of laundry was also very helpful. Staff are very friendly and when calling from our room to have our safe opened (the battery had run out), they came very quickly to fix it. We didn't venture in to the pool areas, we were out early and back late each day. However, the family area looked ideal for young children and very busy. Would we recommend this hotel as a cheaper alternative to the hotels attached to the park? Yes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AgentFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

While we usually stay at Disney deluxe resorts when visiting WDW, I thought the prices for the Disneyland hotels were crazy high and therefore not a good deal. So, the Hojo with the MiceChat discount ended up being my hotel of choice and I feel pretty good about it. The vacation was not as magical as staying onsite but I saved about $2000 so I can handle it. I was surprised to discover that the hotel in sitting up again the highway but the noise really wasn't too bad. Yes, you can walk back to the hotel (I think its the only option) but what seems a quick walk in the morning can be a real chore at the end of the night while dragging three sleepy or sleeping kids. But you'll get there and it seems like a safe walk. Be aware that you won't be able to maintain the famous Disney bubble because Harbor Blvd does require some attention (people asking for money, people handing out flyers, people playing the guitar badly, for money) and you are walking out of the park with the resorts' employees that will discuss their day, their problems with difficult guests and their general unhappiness with their job. We spent so much time at the parks we almost forgot to use the water playground which had been a real deciding factor for me. I remember being extremely underwhelmed walking in but the kids went nuts and had a truly great time playing for about 3 hours. There's not much to do for the grown ups while the kids play, unless you like sitting in a hot tub when it is already 90+ outside. But there's umbrellas for shade and the kids like it, so you can tough it out. I do agree with other reviewers that this is a hotel with a budget feel but the room was clean and well appointed. I was mostly struck by how anonymous our stay was. There wasn't a single encounter with a staff member that made the stay personable or memorable, no friendly hellos or goodbyes, no smiles. In short, no magic, but that's probably because I choose not to pay for it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RubberDuckyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#21 of 119 in Anaheim
2,955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.9 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £132 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing