We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Onthemove55
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,524 - 3,530 of 7,757 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

trip went well......hotel was clean and simple for our needs.....beds comfy.
No Jacuzzi......hubby was sad about that, but overall we are happy and will definitely stay here for any future Disneyland trip!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had heard great things about this hotel, but it exceeded those. Location was the best part, it was closer to walk to Disneylands enterance then from there own hotels/parking lot. The staff was great and helpful. The rooms were spacies and very nice, had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kingwolfdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank KatGoesBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hojoanaheim, HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights, "Superior" Room in Building 1 facing Disney with 2 Queen Beds. We were very pleased. Rooms were clean. There was a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. I did use a discount code that I found online and was able to get the price down to $177/night from the original $209/night.

It's about a block and a half to walk to the Disney entrance. We were able to watch the fireworks every night from our balcony. The balcony really isn't anything special.. no seating or anything but that didn't bother us at all.

My children, ages 3 and 5 absolutely loved the water playground. And as parents we did too. With the layout of the playground, you were able to sit at a table or lounge chair and still see your kids regardless of where they were in the playground. And for those parents with small children, you know how frustrating it can be when you cant see you're child from all angles. On another section of the grounds, there is a traditional swimming pool and nice lounging area. We enjoyed both during our stay.

The front desk staff was always very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. I think our only complaint was that weren't vending machines in building 1. There is a little shop that sells drinks, snacks and gifts, but it's only open from 7am-11pm. I know the hours seem good.. but we just came from east coast time and were up soooo early. haha. And there were times we needed something simple - like more bottled water. A vending machine would have helped.

I did see another reviewer comment about the skylights. We were on the top floor and did have skylights, which may make it difficult for some to take some afternoon naps or sleep in late. But it really didn't bother us much.

Overall it might seem a little pricey per night, but the water playground for the kids made it all that much enjoyable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank imurcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here in early July. Hotel was very close to Disneyland. Room was clean and nice. We arrived early and was expecting to wait, but we were accommodated straight away and that was really great, especially after 6 hours on a plane, my kids were exhausted! The staff are really friendly and the hotel has it's own children's water playground which my little girl loved. Really appreciated the washers and dryers, after travelling around and all the rides at Disney, it was good not having to shell out big bucks getting our clothes laundered. Overall we had a good time and the hotel provided a good base.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I like telling people when they do things right. And I like to tell people where they can improve too, this is why I enjoy writing TripAdvisor reviews. I am a keen traveller and have had my share of hotel experiences throughout my life. Well, let's say that in over 35 years that I have been travelling and staying in hotels perfection has been achieved: Congratulations, Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground. The service you gave me and my family has been truly exceptional, like nothing I had experienced before.
We stayed at this hotel for six nights, arriving at about midday from a very, very early flight into LAX, an hour's drive in a shuttle with traffic and some jet lag. We were greeted by the fabulous Art, whose smile makes the most weary traveller feel happier. He checked us in since a room was available. He gave us all sorts of info about the area, where to get tickets, about discounts at restaurants, etc.
Our stay was fantastic. The housekeeping staff are thorough, courteous and efficient, you come to a lovely clean room after battling the crowds in Disneyland. The sheets are crisp and clean, beds comfortable, and there are all the amenities needed - we didn't have a room with a microwave, but I know that they are available now!
We had a room facing the water park. It was a bit noisy during the day but since we were out most of the day this was ok, and the water was turned off at 10pm sharp.
The hotel has a small but very well stocked shop where you can get anything you might have left behind. The staff at the shop are very nice too and get to know you over the time of your stay and greet you with a warm smile.
I had a problem with my credit card which was cloned and blocked by the issuing bank. Howard Johnson sorted out the settling of the bill with my husband in the UK. "No can do" is simply not in this hotel's philosophy. And I like that. The hotel cannot do enough for you and to make your stay memorable.
The swimming pool is not very warm, but it's so hot that it's very refreshing to dip in at the end of the day! It is very clean and pleasant with greenery around it. My children loved it as well as the water playground. You can very easily have a holiday in itself in this hotel without fitting Disney into the equation. I'm planning such a holiday in the not so distant future.
All in all, this was an unforgettable experience for my family and me. Thank you very much, Howard Johnson, and I am already looking forward to coming back. :)

Room Tip: Buildings 4 and 6 do not have skylights and are only 2 stories tall - ask for a room there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adrieire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 119 in Anaheim
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £130 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing