We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient if you go to disney otherwise ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient if you go to disney otherwise ...”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel in July. I stayed in building 1, and my experience was very good. We went to disney and did some shopping.
This second time my experience there wasn't that good. We stayed in building number two. The building is very old. The carpet in the corridors and rooms is dirty and the walls on the corridors look very tired. The AC in the room was very noisy and the room had a very particular smell... Perhaps this room was once upon a time a smokers room and the smell remains in the carpet and walls or it is just that smells like old... I don't know.
Anyway, apart from shopping and disney there is not much around there ( as one of the guys at the reception told me).

No complains about the staff members, they were really helpful and courteous( I asked to be move to another room, no luck though the hotel was full).
Go there if you want to go to disney, pay a bit extra and secure yourself a room in building number one... I would not stay in any other building.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mdecastro80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojoanaheim, HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear mdecastro80,

We are so saddened to hear that your recent experience with us was unsatisfactory. We are so sorry that we could not accommodate your room move request after encountering an odd smell in your room. We have recently updated and refreshed all rooms in building two. Refurbishing the hallways in this building is on the top of our list. We hope you choose to stay with us once again! We would love the opportunity to deliver a positive experience and provide you and your family with a delightful stay as we have in the past.

Kind regards,

HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,738
    2,615
    819
    237
    86
See reviews for
5,880
482
71
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights & enjoyed our stay. Check in was fast & staff were very nice. The room was kinda old but clean. My son enjoyed the water park very much. Disneyland is just about an 8 minute walk from the hotel. There isn't any restaurants in the hotel but lots of restaurants close by. I love that parking is free! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaliGirl738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I'll keep it simple. Our family goes to Disneyland multiple times a year and we've stayed at most of the hotels/motels on Harbor. The HoJo Anaheim is the one to beat! It has a great resort feel and the water park is great fun for the kids. Couple that with the free parking, huge standard rooms, and plenty of eating locations around the resort within walking distance and this is by far the best place to stay outside of the Disney Resort hotels. It's only a quick 5 minute walk to the gate. Some might find the place has an outdated feel, but you simply cannot beat the price and location of this great family gem.

Room Tip: Rooms in building #2 seem to be the quietest. Do not be intimidated by the close proximity to the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjuancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Motel was great and close to Disney. We saw the fireworks display from our room (3 rd floor) everynight. Pools were nice n clean. Just would be nice if breakfast was served considering the price that is charged for the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Yolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

After many stays at the HoJo, this trip we stayed at the Grand Californian after Disney gifted us a free stay. By day two, we were yearning to check out and take a taxi to HoJo. This hotel for more than 10 years has consistently been clean, comfortable, extraordinarily friendly and helpful, and pro-active in helping fix near-vacation disasters for us (which it had no hand in causing, either.) We expected Disney's flagship hotel to be even better. It was *none* of the above things. After four days of rude staff, broken AC, broken fridge, and wildlife crawling on the floor of our room (yes, really), we couldn't check out of the Grand Californian fast enough. Hojo, we missed you SO MUCH!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBenamiDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It is not a five star hotel but i give it a 5 star rating. Service is phenomenal.. the busy hotel front desk staff told me when i asked about baggage porter to take our many bags to the room that they didn't have one but they would actually do it themselves if we needed help, because they want to do everything to make our stay great. WOW! We were able to get a cart and do it ourselves. Our room was ready at 11M on a very busy weekend, which was fantastic and they let us check one early. We easily bought our tickets, found parking very easily in the parking lot, and quickly checked into our fabulous room. I was not expecting 2 rooms even though i had booked a family suite. It was fantastic to have a king bed with a separate bathroom and a door that shuts from our 3 kids with whom we were traveling. Love high ceilings and the fun retro decor and feel of the entire hotel. The kids twin bunks were awesome and there was a separate bathroom and sleeping chair that folds out to accommodate 3 school age/teen kids. The sleeping chair looked a bit cheaply made but my 13 year old daughter said it was fine and the bunks were very sturdy. I love the express service option where you can put a tag on your door handle and they just come in before 1pm and dump garbage and give you towels...perfect for families who want to come back and rest mid-afternoon before hitting disneyland again. The location is great... 8 minute walk to disney. I didn't use the pool or waterpark, but my 2 boys did and loved it. They were old enough to go solo. However, my complaint like all shared hotel watermarks and pools are the massive amount of chlorine they use which is necessary, so i don't visit most hotel pools/tubs/etc.
One con of the hotel: the family rooms have a big window up high that allows in a large amount of light and does not have the ability to close with shades so the light comes in early and is very bright. Maybe this is on purpose to get people moving??? Also i would ask if possible and pay for a family room that is not facing the highway. It wasn't a big deal, it was noisy, but we were too tired to care each night.
Mimis cafe was good for breakfast nearby. Very easy check out and I loved the little gift shop which actually had really good beers for small brewers in individual cans..fresh fruit... impressive stocking HOJO.
I 've stayed at fairfield marriott which is convenient but not as nice and the family rooms there can't even touch the HOJO, and also at the ayres which stumps me as the #1 on trip advisor for anaheim bc the food is bad, the service was barely average and the rooms were in need of a makeover.
HOJO.. great orange and pink carpets and drapes! FUN!

Room Tip: anything facing disney
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#19 of 118 in Anaheim
2,845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing