We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A bonus upon checking in - we had a free upgrade of room. We were also able to obtain the use of a rollaway bed which meant the kids didn't have to share a bed. There was plenty of room. Just great. The pool and the water playground for the kids was a brilliant way to relax & cool down after a hectic day at Disney. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much bother & were a great source of information about the area. Having a shop & coin operated washing facilities on site made life easy. The hotel is a 5min stroll to the Disney entry - great! Overall a comfy and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: You want to stay in a block on the Disney side away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lucia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,482 - 3,488 of 7,754 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Howard Johnson Anaheim Review

If you are looking for a place to stay that is located within reasonable walking distance to Disneyland and close to a variety of low to moderately priced restaurants, the Howard Johnson Anaheim meets those requirements. If you are looking for a clean hotel with modern amenities, plan to stay elsewhere.

Pros:

Proximity to Disney Resort area and moderately priced chain restaurants. The hotel offers 2 pool areas--a splash park complete with pirate ship and 3 small water slides, hot tub, and baby pool. This is a fun area for kids ages 2-8. It is relatively clean and there is a lifeguard on duty. The pool is open until 10 pm which is nice after a long day at the parks. There is another traditional pool with a small shallow end that is 3.5 feet deep.


Cons:

We arrived at the hotel at 2:30 pm. We were told that we could check in early if we were willing to take a ground floor room. However, we had paid extra for a deluxe room with a balcony so we opted to wait, and we were told a room on the 4th floor with a balcony would be guaranteed by 4pm. The front desk stored our bags and gave us a key to access the pool area. When we returned at 4, we were told we would be assigned a room on the 3rd floor. We trekked to the farthest building from the lobby dragging our own luggage and rode a small, stuffy elevator to the 3rd floor only to discover our room had no balcony. Upon calling the front desk, they stated that we could walk all the way back to the lobby to obtain a key to a different room with a balcony.

Our new room did indeed have a balcony and was fairly large in size. However, the carpet was worn and visibly dirty. For some reason, this was a handicapped room, so it had a large bathroom with only 1 sink. The grout was crumbling, dirty, and showing visible mold. I was not comfortable bathing my toddler son in the dirty bathtub.

At 7am the first morning, I called the front desk to request a new hair dryer as the one in the room did not work. The employee stated that there were no hairdryers available but that maintenance could bring one up later. Therefore, I was unable to dry my hair before leaving for the parks. The maid service was not adequate as my towels were not replaced despite having been left on the floor, and the paper coffee cups were not replenished either.


The Bottom Line:

We visit Disneyland every year and, while we enjoyed the location of this hotel, I would not return nor recommend it to others unless significant efforts to renovate and modernize the rooms were undertaken. The Howard Johnson is desperately in need of some TLC such as new tile and bathroom fixtures, new carpet, and better customer service. Their marketing strategy of referring to the hotel as "Retro Family Fun" is just a positive way to say, we haven't bothered to update our property since 1972.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank spice29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The price and location of this hotel make it a steal! I wasn't expecting much but found a decent hotel with very friendly staff. The mini kuerig coffee maker was a bonus! Free wifi, in room safe, free parking, and mini fridges are all items other hotels in this area charge for but are free here. Every evening we had a spectacular view of the fireworks. We are right by mcdonalds which kept the kids happy.

There are two pools - the pirate play water area can get crowded but is a ton of fun. The garden pool is the place to be at 9:40 to see disneyland fireworks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MissAnnaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We really enjoyed our 9 night stay here. About a 10 minute walk to the Disneyland entrance with lots of cafes and restaurant along the way including Mimi's Café, McDonalds & Ihop.
Very nice, clean & comfortable hotel. Disney fireworks can be seen from here nightly which was a bonus for us. Upon check in staff gave us vouchers for the Rainforest Café. Lots of information at front desk & helpful staff. There is a games room for kids and a general store which is reasonably priced with lots of souvenirs. The water park was great for kids to use as a "rest" day from Disney, just don't get a room next to it. It was noisy and annoying with a bell going off every 10 minutes when water was being dumped and lots of noise from people. Would have preferred a quieter room away from that. The only negative with this hotel was the adults pool was very deep, not sure if they had the right depths marked in that pool. Did not feel comfortable with kids in that pool at all.

Room Tip: Avoid staying next to the water park like we did. Do ask for a view to see fireworks. No lifts here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JazzaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Like many others, we loved this place! The grounds and the rooms were very clean. For such a busy place, they clearly staffed appropriately for check in and room service. My 5 year old and 10 year old can swim, so they were more interested in the big pool, not the water park. For little kids or kids that cannot swim on their own, the water park is a dream. All around the water park are umbrellas and lounge chairs for parents, and a market in the motel purchase your beers and cocktails. We stayed in a barrel vault room overlooking the big pool, it was great and had a view of the Disney fireworks (building 6). I loved the fridge that actually worked, and the fact that it was empty- no overpriced items to fight with my kids over. The room was spacious. The room had good coffee. The room had this great counter/ ledge for our luggage. The room had an extra sink outside the bath. The room had Disney channel and Cartoon Network, and great wiFi (my kids were in heaven). And really comfortable beds with pillow top mattresses. I really like the way this hotel is working with their 1950's/ 60's history, and specializes in the classic family Disney vacation.

Room Tip: Facing the big pool was great, second floor barrel vault room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AJandJacksMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#21 of 119 in Anaheim
2,970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 119 in Anaheim
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £132 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing