We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Fun= Rundown/Old, with a fun new water play area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2009

The good: Our room was available right when we got there around 1pm. The water area was nice to let the kids run wild for the day. The beds were comfy, and the spacious and free parking was also nice. It was nice to have a fridge and microwave, too. I don't see why it's a premium amenity, it seems to be the standard these days.
The Room: The electrical outlets are not easily accessible anywhere other than the bathroom area. The drawers in the room could totally stand to get updated. They were dirty, and didn't stay on the tracks any time I opened a drawer.
The guide in the room says that laundry is $1 per machine, so I went down to the creepy basement passing all the maintenance and houskeeping areas with 4 quarters... the machine is $1.25. Not a huge deal, just had to turn around & sneak back in the room where the family was sleeping, but I think it should be accurate/updated in the guide.
Also, the walk is NOT 7 minutes as the in-room guide states... I'm a speed walker, and I walked by myself, taking every shortcut possible. It was between 10-15 minute trek.
Also, it should be mentioned somewhere that their restaurant, Mimi's, is across the street. The market downstairs was convenient, but what a slap in the face to pay $3 for a bottle of water before even entering Disneyland! Many hotels offer a complimentary bottle or 2 in the room, even!
Get an Entertainment card from Ebay for $5 for the discount. I couldn't pay more than $90 for this! Especially when there are closer hotels that are just as "retro"

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mammaspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,906 - 6,912 of 7,835 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2009

We were traveling with 2 other families who all stayed at HOJO. Overall, this hotel met our needs for our 4 day trip. We were told that checkin is now 4pm instead of 3pm. This is not what we wanted to hear after a 7 hour drive with 2 young children. This website still states a 3pm checkin. We have a baby who drinks warm milk and warmed up baby food. We called the hotel the day before our checkin to see if they have microwaves in the rooms. We were told that some rooms have them and it should not be a problem. We finally checked in at 4pm and were told that we could only get a room with a microwave if we paid an extra $15 a night. That was a huge dissapoinment and caused us to find other ways to warm up milk and food during our stay. I refused to pay $60 more for a microwave in our room. Had the staff been more willing to help us out I would have given this hotel 5 stars. The rooms were clean, pool area nice and close to Disneyland.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennygirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

We stayed here for two nights in early may and we had a great stay. Check in was easy and pleasant. We stayed in room 2112, which was large and comfortable. The free internet was a plus, just like the fridge and microwave. The bathroom had a good size and we loved the showe.
We used the pool that we could see from our room and the water had a nice temperature.

It took us 10 minutes to walk to Disney.

Minor drawback was that housekeeping started very early (7.30) and the noise they made bothered us, because we wanted to sleep for another hour. They also knocked on our door around 8 am (is ANYONE out of their rooms at that time when the parks open at 10?), the next day we used the "do not disturb sign" ... Other drawback was the fuzzy tv signal, it wasn't very clear.

We had a nice stay here and for the entertainment rate we paid ($59 a night) it was an excellent deal.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marjol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Overall we were really happy with our stay at the hotel. We requested two rooms with a pool view through our travel agent well in advance but ended up with rooms that faced the freeway in building one. There is no way we could have lasted a full week in that room, it felt old and musty and was very noisy. The hotel was booked our first night but on the second night the front staff moved us and our friends to new rooms in building 2 and it felt like a completely different hotel. The room was very clean, updated and quiet. Overall, the hotel grounds and water park are very well taken care of. The staff were always helpful. The location is close enough to the park to avoid dealing with shuttles and convenient to restuarants. We spent everyday at the water park after Disneyland which was alot of fun for all of us. We ate at Mimi's 4 times and the food and service were always great at a very reasonable prices. I have been to Disneyland a few times and this is the first time trying out the Howard Johnson and in a few years we plan to come back to this Hotel as long as we book one of the quieter and newer rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We recently stayed at HOJO and overall were extremely pleased.

As we booked very early we were able to take advantage of a discounted price for a "Premium Disney View" room. On arrival, although the outside building isn't much to look at, the rooms were spacious and very clean. My only complaint was the Disney View - in my opinion there was no view. After speaking with the front desk clerk an arrangement was made which we were pleased with. The hotel is located next to the freeway but with the balcony door closed you couldn't tell.

About a 10min walk overall to Disneyland - and there are some great restaurants across the road including a McDonalds. Also for some good shopping Target is a short bus ride away. Also if you are visiting Knotts Berry the bus stop is right out the front of the hotel.

We didn't get down to the pool area - but overall you couldn't fault this hotel. My only advice would be to save the extra $$$ and stay in a standard or pool side room.

I give it 5 Stars for everything (value as we got a discount - not sure if I would be happy to pay full price). 4 stars for the Room due to the "lack of" Disney view. Oh and the Internet Connection is pretty bad - but it's free.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MolloKobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Well, I did not make this reservation, my daughter did and I could not have been happier! The service was friendly and helpful at check-in, even told us the best shuttle to take from John Wayne Airport when I called them. The rooms were large and we were on the 4th floor with the tree tops and the adult pool below. Quiet and all the extras- a fridge, microwave and hair dryer etc. I swear the bed was better than home! Slept so well and so did the kids!
It is a short (10 minute) walk to the park entrance but the shuttle is right out front every 20 minutes as well. A MiMi's Cafe across the street and a McDonalds just a block farther down and we were all happy!
There is also a store on the grounds- with EVERYTHING! You need breakfast? They have cereal, sodas, ice cream, sun glasses, we even got a sewing kit!! And they are open late! Plus an arcade and the cutest Pirate Themed pool for the kiddies!
I will recommend this place to all my friends...kids or no kids...it is the best value on the block!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAWELLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We stayed at the Hojo from April 21-27. We stayed in Bldg 2 in a 'corner' room also known as the 'Home Office Suite'. This room was AWESOME. It is almost double the size of your standard 2 queen room - at least that's what it felt like. There was so much room we were able to lay out queen-sized sheets to allow my 8 month old to roll around and play. We also had a crib and a stroller in the room and yet we still didn't find it crowded for a family of four. The bathroom was large with a long vanity and 2 sinks, which was more than enough room for all of our toiletries and dishwashing (bottles, bowls, etc). The mirrored closet was huge and the desk and long table by the door gave us even more storage space for our things. One drawback - no balcony.

Only minor problem we encountered on our first night was no crib. My hubby made a call to the front desk and was told one would be sent up. Still no crib by 5:15pm, called front desk again and were told that yes, we would be getting a crib, but they are not delivered to rooms until 8pm (um, ok). Headed out to DTD for dinner and shopping and returned around 9:30pm - still no crib. Made another call to front desk and were told that they were out of cribs. We ended up having to put our 8-month old to sleep on the floor on sheets and blankets (the beds, which were sooo comfy, were a little high and I worried she could fall off at night). In the end Hojo paid for our first night to make up for the crib, which was more than they had to do. A crib was delivered the next day.

Overall, we loved the Hojo. The grounds are beautiful, the pools are kept immaculate, and the one day we put up a "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door, we had a message from front desk on our phone to let us know that if we needed any extra towels, etc., to call. We will definitely stay here again. And if you don't care about not having a balcony, request the corner room in bldg 2!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LUVDLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Anaheim Resort
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £140 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing