We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ever!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2009

hojo anaheim is argueably the best non-disney hotel there is. the staff were just amazing and extremely friendly and it was definitely like a home away from home. the hotel has a retro feel to it which just adds to its charm. although we had a room that was facing the highway side in the 7 storey building, we could NOT hear any of the traffic and at night we were able to watch the disney fireworks from the hot tub and that was just lush. the walk to disneyland was less than the stated 8 mins but maybe we were just fast walkers. overall, we had a wonderful time at hojo and wouldn't hesitate for a second to return to this great hotel. THANKS HOJO!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussietravellers888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,765
    2,634
    833
    240
    89
See reviews for
5,942
483
71
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We've stayed at several hotels including DL Hotel over the last 9 years. The HOJO is the best value for the dollar we have found if you have young children. We have a 2 and 5 year old. They LOVED the new pirate cove water play area. This is the first time in 5 years I could let the kids play without having to do mommy duty on the pool steps watching my toddler. They actually asked to not go back into the park so they could stay and play in the water.

Walking to Disneyland from this hotel is arguably faster than going through the maze Disney puts you through and parking is included in the price. If you have parked at Mickey and Friends or have ever waited in line at the monorail to get into the park from Downtown Disney, you will understand what I mean.

The rooms have a refrigerator so you can bring your own snacks. If you are looking for a clean place to park your stuff so you can go to the park, a nice water grotto for the kids to burn off the extra excitement, and a comfortable bed at night, this hotel is a good value. If you are looking for room service, spa treatments and such amenities, then you should look elsewhere. This is not the Ritz Carlton. But it is similar in comfort and cleanliness to most business hotels at which I have stayed.

For reference, we stayed in a highway facing room. It didn't bother us. Can you hear it? Yes. But to us it was like a constant dull hum of white noise far off in the background and we found it easy to tune it out. My computer is making a less pleasant noise right now.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Initially we planned to stay in one of the Disneyland hotels, but my husband had fond momories staying in the Hojo with his family when he went to Disneyland as a child. I researched the hotel and we thought the kids would enjoy the pool area, and the price was cheaper (almot $2000 cheaper than the Disney hotel). But I was a bit hesitant about the walking distance (our little girl has the habit of wanting to be carried). However, the walk to Disneyland was fine and it wasn't difficult (about 10 minutes walk). We brought a small, folding stroller for our daughter just in case and our 6 year old son had no difficulty with the walk.
We stayed in the premium room with two queen beds overlooking the Disney side and I recommend this as it was less noisy. And, since the kids were tired after being in Disney for most of the day, we watched the fireworks from our hotel balcony (very convenient when you have two young ones who are tired from a long day). They loved sitting on the balcony, drinking their hot cocoas and watched the fireworks while their parents enjoyed their own drinks as well (no alcohol served in Disneyland, but in California Adventure park, it is served).
The room was very spacious, clean and the beds were comfortable. No complaints in this area. There was a customary safe available in the room (very convenient again). The kids loved the pool area and the parents enjoyed the security as we could easily watch the kids from our chairs or from the hot pool. You can only access the kid pool area with your room key (another added security) and towels were provided.
Only thing I would recommend is to check your wireless internet access in your room as the cable didn't work and we had to wait for a cable. But, it was no problem after this was resolved. Also free parking (we stayed in Comfort Inn for one night in San Diego and had to pay for parking) and restaurants are within walking distance.
Otherwise, loved the HoJo and glad we didn't pay the extra money for Disney hotel. We used that extra money for princess dresses, Star Wars figures and nice dinners. Our daughter cried our last day because she wanted to play in the pool again.
**We have pics and will post soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dryflymerse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We recently stayed at the HoJo and after we returned home to Canada, realized that our kids left their toy Lightning McQueen cars (Souvenirs from the Blue Bayou) on the bed in the hotel, not to mention my son's Nintendo DS A/C charger.

We called the hotel (this was 2 days later) on a long shot that maybe they were retrieved by housekeeping. The housekeeping manager called back and said she would check out the lost and found for us. 2 days later, she called to let us know she had found them and would send them via post to us. We received them in the mail as promised and the kids were ecstatic!

We are so impressed, we will definitely be returning to the HoJo again! There are 2 "must mentions" for the HoJo too. The beds and bedding are new and very high quality for a value hotel (extra plush pillows too). This made getting a good night's sleep really easy! The kids loved the Pirate's Cove water park. A great way to cool off after a long day at the park! 2 blocks from the Main entrance to Disneyland, you just can't beat it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We have 2 little ones 2 1/2 and 5 so we were able to use our stollers to get to/from Disneyland-we are active so walking was no big deal for us. We loved the water park but our greatest surprise was the 2nd pool-it was salt water and perfect to burn off energy. (Later in the day was cooler because the pool is in the shade) They have a little store there that sells everything-water floats, laundry goods (they have washer & dryers), snacks, water... We were upgrated to a 7th floor room in building 1 - we had a perfect view of the fireworks from our balcony. The top floor rooms have these dome like widows that let in light early - but we didn't mind because we wanted to get up and going. The rooms were clean and nice, nothing fancy. The beds were super comfortable and super soft sheets. We got a take out menu from Mimi's, ordered out and either ate pool side or in our room at the little table. We couldn't complain! We had a great experience. The buses come right out front if you don't want to walk or are using Grey Line to get to & from either the airport or side trips.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeattleWAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridian, idaho
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We stayed at this hotel because of the location to Disneyland, Mimi's Cafe and of course the new water park at the hotel. My daughter who is 7 loved the water park, we could have spent a lot more time at the water park. The room was very nice, enjoyed the fridge and extra sink in the room. Did not prefer the door to the outside on the 1st floor. Enjoyed the view of the monorail while at the pool, it made it seem like we were still in Disney. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wklewis-hooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We spent 2 nights in a very comfortable pool facing room. No problem with noise from the highway. The kids loved HoJo's water park and pool. The fact that the entrance to Disneyland is leisurely 7 minute walk is fantastic. Would highly recommend to anyone with kids.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesmira1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#21 of 118 in Anaheim
2,866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel And Water Playground California
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing