We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly hotel for a wonderful anniversary vacation to Disneyland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Ranked #67 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed at the Red Lion from 10/24-10/28 and it was nothing short of spectacular! My husband an I haven't been to Disneyland in about 20 years so we decided to celebrate our anniversary by visiting Anaheim. Literally after months of research, we decided on this hotel. After comparing the rates and amenities of other hotels to Red Lion, it was a no brainer. We were able to take advantage of their "Making memories Magical" promotion which was $99 each night and included free parking and a breakfast buffet each morning.

Check in was a breeze. We were able to walk right up and check in within moments.

A major factor in our search for places to stay were hotels that were pet friendly. We were traveling with our beloved West Highland Terrier and obviously needed a place that accommodated animals. Red Lion normally only charges a $20 pet fee for the entire stay, HOWEVER, if you become a member of their Red Lion R&R club that charge is waived and the cost of their membership is absolutely free. Needless to say we were thrilled that we could bring our dog along and not have to pay any additional costs. From doing all my research I found that most places not only charge you a nightly fee but also require a deposit. I must admit I was concerned about the condition of the room we would receive since we were traveling with our dog. We booked a King size bedroom which was located on the first floor. I was so happy to find out that our room looked just like all of the pictures and the accommodations certainly exceeded our expectations. Even more so, I was pleased that the room was very clean and didn't have any pet odors or stains. The room was the perfect size for the three of us. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was nice and modern. The fact that the complimentary soap, shampoo and conditioner came from Bath and Body works was a plus. Having a refrigerator, microwave and coffeepot in the room was another bonus as well.

Having the breakfast buffet included certainly saved us a lot of money too. The options included eggs, hash browns, sausage, bacon, pancakes, toast, bagels, English muffins, a variety of cereals, apples, bananas and cantaloupe; more than sufficient. They also had orange, apple and cranberry juice available for self service and you could get water, coffee and hot tea from you server. The food was good and was replenished quickly for freshness. Our waitress Yessina was a delight. She was very nice and always had a welcoming smile.

Originally, we planned on getting to and from Disneyland by using the ART bus and paying the $4 per person fee each day. We were fortunate enough to get a tip that we could walk right around the corner to the "Toy Story" parking lot located east of the Anaheim Convention Center on Harbor Boulevard south of Katella Avenue and take the Disneyland buss to the park for free! Its only takes a couple of minutes to walk there and they have busses constantly running. Let me tell you, after spending a day at Disneyland, the last thing you want to do is WALK back to your hotel room. This was such an excellent option and certainly beat having to pay for transportation.

I would highly recommend Red Lion Hotel to anyone. The staff was friendly, the property is stunning and the rooms are excellent! We had such a wonderful stay and we plan on coming back the the Red Lion Anaheim in the near future!

Room Tip: As of our stay, pet rooms are all located on the first floor. It makes it very convenient to get yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caanah845, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be the selected hotel for your anniversary. We look forward to your return with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,624 - 1,630 of 2,170 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

Just got back from The Red Lion.
Hotel is in a great position, really close to the parks. No need for transportaion.
Loads of restaurant opportunities nearby.
Room was a great size. Clean and well maintained, with also a good size bathroom with a good shower.
Staff were friendly and courteous.
A great stay

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flip654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My family of four stayed at the Red Lion in September. After much searching as I always do prior to booking a hotel I was very pleased with my choice. The rooms were very clean and so was the overall grounds of the hotel. Checkin was fast and friendly. we were greated with hellos or have a nice day everytime we passed hotel staff. Thats a plus in my book! The Disney parks were a close walk as our kids are 10 and 11 but I'm sure those couple of blocks would seem like a mile after doing Disneyland. We had breakfast both mornings of our stay and it's your typical buffet style breakfast nothing to write home about. The kids enjoyed the pool one night while my wife and I had glass of wine by the gas fire. No complaints there so the pool must have been heated. We did'nt dine at the hotel we opted to go to McCormick and Schmidts around the corner two of the night's we were there. The happy hour is a bonus. Cheap drinks, cheap eats. We booked a Prime Time or Red Van as there known shuttle from L.A.X. to the hotel. Don't waste your time with a cab.We paid $85 plus $15 tip to have our own eight seater take us straight to the hotel. All in All I would stay at the Red Lion again. Enjoy

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caanah845, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We appreciate the postive comment. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

For us, this was a great deal. Having an $89 rate and including breakfast, this saved us about $30 each day. Making the cost on the hotel only $59 per night. Less than a mile to Disneyland, we found it very convenient. Only a $7 cab ride each way. Much more convenient than using the Anaheim shuttles.
Good hotel. Met my expectations in almost every way. Hated the beds, but I rarely find a good hotel bed on any of my trips. Housekeeping could have been a little more efficient.
Overall for the trip, this was a great location and a good hotel. I would recommend it for the value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

A nine day stay with wife and 2 pre-teens. Room was a little small but fine. Front desk people were all very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cDawg1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was our second time staying at the Red Lion and the room was just as clean and beautiful as I remembered. Our TV was having problems with the HD channels (lots of pixelation) so we called the front desk and had a tech at our door within 5 minutes. He checked the problem, replaced the tv and we were good to go, all in under 15 minutes.

We felt like we were well taken care of and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with an even number have a slightly better view (we could see the Hollywood Tower of Terror fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caanah845, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We had family meet us at the Red Lion which we were staying at to attend a special event at Disneyland for our son's birthday! The staff was so nice, everyone from the engineer who fixed our air cond when we arrived to the front desk to the maids saying hello as we walked down a hallway. The room was clean and very nice. Great pool area and excerise room. The complimentry breakfast was very good! Price and location wonderful! I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#28 of 119 in Anaheim
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Menage
Hotel Menage
#63 of 119 in Anaheim
2,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Address: 1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3510
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £103 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Good Neighbor Disneyland Resort Hotel, the Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort is renovated with a contemporary, timeless design, vibrant decor, and state-of-the-art facilities. Enjoy our modern getaway in Anaheim, California. Our sleek, sophisticated interiors, rich color palette, and luxurious finishes create an inspired atmosphere for playing and working. Our innovative hotel is a playful retreat for vacationing families, corporate travelers, and meeting groups. The inviting ambiance and friendly personal service guarantee that you will enjoy your stay! We are a Disneyland Resort Good Neighbor Anaheim Hotel, one block from Disneyland Resort, Anaheim Convention Center, and Anaheim GardenWalk. Our convenient Anaheim hotel is a haven of hospitality in Anaheim. Mere minutes from House of Blues Anaheim, Honda Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, The Grove of Anaheim, MUZEO, and the Outlets at Orange. Take a scenic drive to Long Beach, Newport Beach, Los Angeles and Universal Studios Hollywood. Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort's Rooms are Smart, Sleek, and Stylish. Relax in beautifully decorated rooms with progressive design and cool Southern California style. Featuring the only ELSA technology among hotels in the United States, Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort has translation capabilities that make interactions with international travelers much more efficient. The rooms at this Anaheim family friendly and business friendly hotel feature spacious work areas, free high-speed wireless Internet access, Keurig Coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, iPod alarm clocks, granite bathrooms, and 37" flat-screen TVs. We are an are ideal location for Anaheim family vacations and corporate retreats. Wired with intelligent technology and entertainment, you'll stay connected and comfortable at this Anaheim hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Splitty, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Anaheim
Anaheim Red Lion
Anaheim Maingate Hotel
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing