We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Ranked #64 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The price to stay at the Red Lion Anaheim was so reasonable that I was apprehensive about what it would be like; it was a pleasant surprise. This is not a palatial hotel, but... the rooms were clean and comfortable, i.e. good beds, pillow and they don't skimp on pillows or towels. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful and when we locked ourselves out of our safe they responded quickly. The day we tried the breakfast buffet we weren't impressed, i.e. the hot food wasn't hot and it wasn't free in our package so we didn't eat there again. We did eat supper a few times in the restaurant and it was fine. As an aside, we hate at both IHOPs that are close to the hotel and the food and service was terrible and expensive. McDonald's (not normally a fan) was a much better breakfast for a lot less money. The pool area is fine (though shaded) and a hot tub would be a nice addition. The Red Lion is a very close walk to Disneyland (10 minutes) and we walked to/from everyday (it would take more time to wait/ride the shuttle which I think was $4.00 each way) - there were 9 of us aged 5 yrs to 62 yrs. Definite value for money and we would stay there again.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank victoriabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caanah845, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Your review forwarded to our Food & Beverage department and we will definitely look into providing a better breakfast experiences for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    803
    407
    197
    124
See reviews for
1,177
356
64
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We looked hard for a hotel that offered free breakfast and a shuttle to Disney. There were so many complaints about this hotel, but I did not find one single thing wrong with this hotel for the price. When we checked in we were charged $40 a day incidental fee which we were not aware of, but I found this to be okay. The breakfast was great it was extremely nice for the price. All the breakfast items you can think of freash fruit, eggs, bacon sausage, potatoes, pancakes, and the list goes on and on. The staff work really hard, and the hotel is very busy. Everything I needed or asked for was answered within a matter of minutes. We walked to Disney which was a short walk. When we come back to Disney we will stay at this hotel again. What more can a family ask for. The price is good, we got a good nights sleep and the staff changed our sheets and made sure we had fresh towels every single day. The hotel is great don't let the bad reviews fool you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caanah845, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to your return in the near future to provide you with another great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukiteo, wa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We researched hard! We spent hours looking at different hotels. We wanted close to Disneyland, free full breakfast and a pool. Initially we thought this hotel was too far from Disneyland, but it turned out to be just fine and with a Shuttle running every 20 minutes right outside the door, we had many options. The full breakfast buffet was awesome, with bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes, cereal, fruit, potatoes, oatmeal and juice we were always full leaving for the day (including a few oranges and apples stuffed in our pockets for the day!) The room was nice with big, heavy towels and comfortable beds and quiet. We could see the fireworks from our room, even though it was not an official fireworks viewing room. The staff was great - allowing us early check-in and late check-out. The reservations line wasn't the most helpful or knowledgeable, but calling the hotel directly yielded great results. The employees are empowered to make decisions and it seems they are actually happy you are there and strive to please.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caanah845, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We definitely appreciate your positive feedbacks. Thank you for sharing with us. We hope to welcome you back soon for another wonderful stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A few thoughts from our recent stay at the Red Lion Hotel:

- First, a requisite gripe about previous negative reviews: marking down a hotel because you had noisy neighbors, or the weather was lousy, or you forgot to set your alarm, or whatever is ridiculous. Rate the place for what it can control, not for what it can't.

That said, here were some positives:
- Room was very clean on arrival and was cleaned daily (beds made, shower cleaned, new toiletries delivered, room apparently vacuumed, etc.)
- Bathroom was spacious and well-appointed (lots of extra towels, soaps, shampoo/conditioner, etc.)
- Comfortable beds, plentiful pillows/blankets
- Armchair/sitting area + desk for any reading/business you might want to do.
- Nice LG flatscreen TV
- Easy walk to Disneyland. Maybe 15 minutes and part of that is just spent waiting at stoplights. Really quite convenient.
- Secure parking area
- Free parking/breakfast through our booking w/ Priceline
- Very competitively priced

A few drawbacks/misses:
- Never figured out how they manage their breakfast buffet. There were lines each morning despite seating seeming to be available in the dining area. I mean, it was a free breakfast for us, so it wasn't a huge deal, but a little more direction/order would've been appreciated.


Overall, we'd definitely recommend the Red Lion Hotel. As with most things, you tend to get what you pay for, so if you're accustomed to staying at the Four Seasons (which we certainly aren't!) I suppose you'll notice the Red Lion's little flaws. But if you're just looking for a nice, clean hotel within easy walking distance of Disneyland, this is a great choice and, from a value perspective, a better choice than some of the hotels located right across the street from the park.

Room Tip: Probably better to stay on the upper floors, just to ensure you don't get any noise from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank locura81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caanah845, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We are glad to provide an enjoyable stay for your visit. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Red Lion Hotel Anaheim. The hotel was very nice with updated amenities, rooms & a very welcoming staff. We arrived early and our room wasnt ready, so ventured out for lunch. We found that everything we needed was within walking distance. We enjoyed the breakfast on day two before heading over to Disney. Would recommend to anyone who doesn't want to break the bank with one of the on-property Disney hotels, but stay still within walking distance of the park. Looking forward to going back later this year once the new 'Cars Land' is done at California Adventure.

Room Tip: A 'Fireworks view' type of room is available, but not really worth extra money in the off ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spokane_GrantO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, B.C.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was our second time staying at the Red Lion Maingate in Anaheim. We had no complaints about our stay in 2011 so we decided to rebook for our holiday in January 2012. Last time we booked with Hotwire, so this time I decided to give the Red Lion reservation centre an opportunity to provide a better rate than their regular “rack rate”. This was a waste of time, as they would not budge on their rates. So, I again booked with Hotwire in their “get a named hotel” section, and the daily rate was nearly half of the reservation centre rate. The rooms are large, clean and convenient to Disneyland and restaurants. It is a 12 minute walk to the entry gate of Disneyland or a 10 minute walk to the Cheesecake Factory. There is also an IHOP and a Subway very close to the property. We thought that our stay would be perfect until we had no hot water on the second morning. We called the front desk, and were told to let the water run for a while as it might have been a result of “low occupancy”. This didn’t work, so we called back to the desk. This time we were told that there were “boiler problems” and that it would be fixed in an hour. After an hour at breakfast, there was still no hot water upon our return. Eventually, late in the day, the hot water returned and the rest of our stay was uneventful. We thought that there should have been some sort of “sorry for the inconvenience” apology or remuneration, but there wasn’t. Would we stay here again? Sure, it was nice and convenient. But, be forewarned….the parking fees are outrageous, so don’t bring a car. Car rental places are close-by if you need one. And, expect to be charged for some sort of “Hotel Usage Fee” on a daily basis. It isn’t much, but it is annoying to have other charges when you think that the bill has been paid in full.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool have a view of the Disneyland fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank exchef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caanah845, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
On behalf of Red LIon Anaheim team, please do accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. We are sorry for any inconveniences experienced from making reservation to the boiler issue. We value all feedbacks and will definitely seek ways to improve ourselves for problems reported to our attention. We hope you continue to take us into consideration for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel is located just a couple blocks from Disneyland. Yes, you could walk but we decided to take the ART transit system which comes every 20 minutes and one stop is located just in front of the hotel. They say it's 20 min. but we waited twice for at least 20 minutes and once 35 minutes. It's $4 per person daily.
My wife and I enjoyed our time at the hotel and it was great but there was miscommunication with staff. Our package included car parking and daily breakfast. First day we went to the breakfast buffet and they ran low on plates. When we filled our plates there was barely enough syrup for them as they had run out and it hadn't been refilled. I recommend that they invest in different glasses. The glasses for juice were a 6oz. cup which are too small. We had to refill our glasses a couple times... Kinda inconvenient. Second day at the breakfast buffet, we arrived not too long after it opened and the eggs, hashbrowns and pancakes were all out. We had to wait probably 5 minutes or so for the next batch to come out. The third day the staff planned ahead and had another room set up for overflow. We were the first to get put in this room which was fine for us. The food was plentiful and hot which was nice. After we got done with our first course, we headed up for a second round of food. When we came back to the table, I moved my first course plate to the side and there was a ring of dust left from the plate. It made me feel that they hadn't washed the plates for the overflow before putting them out. Kinda gross... but I have to say the food was very good.
Another miscommunication came on our first day. After eating breakfast we came up to the room to prepare to leave for Disneyland. While preparing to leave, there was a fire alarm that went off and a speaker in our room came on with a voice telling us that we needed to use the fire escape and calmly leave the building. As we walked out of our room and down the 5th floor hallway, we passed a housekeeping attendant. We asked her if we needed to leave or if they were just testing the fire alarm. With the communication barrier, she not only didn't understand us but didn't know what to do or say. She seemed like it wasn't a big deal and went about her business cleaning up her assigned room. When we got downstairs, there was a bit of disarray with everyone. There wasn't any staff to direct guests where to go. We made our way into a courtyard and waited about 10 minutes with people coming and going from the building. We decided to go into the building and spoke to the Front Desk Supervisor who was coming out of a mechanical room with a technician. She said it was accidentlly tripped. The staff seems not very well prepared for the incident.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor and for the most part it was good. The walls are thin. We could hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Menage
Hotel Menage
#60 of 118 in Anaheim
2,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#26 of 118 in Anaheim
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Property: Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Address: 1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Good Neighbor Disneyland Resort Hotel, the Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort is renovated with a contemporary, timeless design, vibrant decor, and state-of-the-art facilities. Enjoy our modern getaway in Anaheim, California. Our sleek, sophisticated interiors, rich color palette, and luxurious finishes create an inspired atmosphere for playing and working. Our innovative hotel is a playful retreat for vacationing families, corporate travelers, and meeting groups. The inviting ambiance and friendly personal service guarantee that you will enjoy your stay! We are a Disneyland Resort Good Neighbor Anaheim Hotel, one block from Disneyland Resort, Anaheim Convention Center, and Anaheim GardenWalk. Our convenient Anaheim hotel is a haven of hospitality in Anaheim. Mere minutes from House of Blues Anaheim, Honda Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, The Grove of Anaheim, MUZEO, and the Outlets at Orange. Take a scenic drive to Long Beach, Newport Beach, Los Angeles and Universal Studios Hollywood. Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort's Rooms are Smart, Sleek, and Stylish. Relax in beautifully decorated rooms with progressive design and cool Southern California style. Featuring the only ELSA technology among hotels in the United States, Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort has translation capabilities that make interactions with international travelers much more efficient. The rooms at this Anaheim family friendly and business friendly hotel feature spacious work areas, free high-speed wireless Internet access, Keurig Coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, iPod alarm clocks, granite bathrooms, and 37" flat-screen TVs. We are an are ideal location for Anaheim family vacations and corporate retreats. Wired with intelligent technology and entertainment, you'll stay connected and comfortable at this Anaheim hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Anaheim
Anaheim Red Lion
Anaheim Maingate Hotel
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing