We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated but comfortable for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dated but comfortable for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We quite enjoyed our stay at this property.

The room was dated but quite comfortable, we had 3 adults and 3 children in our room and not once did we feel like it was too crowded. We quite enjoyed having the full kitchen, although we didn't use it as much as we had anticipated.

The front desk staff were fantastic every time we had a question & check in was a breeze.

The evening socials on Monday & Wednesday were nice. Our kids got a chance to meet some other guests and make some friends.

The breakfast buffet was good, nothing to write home about but it varied slightly daily so it didn't get mundane and was always fresh when we were there. The dining room gets really busy though so it's not always possible to find a table to sit at.

The pool & spa were great, we used them every night and the kids really loved the playground.

We also had a great view of the Disneyland fireworks just by taking a couple of steps out the door.

The property is on one of the shorter/quieter ART routes which was nice because the bus wasn't always jam packed and the ride to the parks was shorter than other routes we've ridden in the past.

Complimentary parking is a nice amenity. The wifi however was quite spotty.

As a travel agent, I would definitely feel comfortable sending clients who are looking for a budget & family friendly accommodation close to the Disney parks.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a good view of the fireworks, ask for one on the Clementine street side (I b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSimmsECSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is great to hear that your suite provided plenty of room for your family of 6. Our next renovation is due to take place this upcoming year, and we are just as excited as our guests are for that time to come! Our management team greatly appreciates your patience while we get the process finalized.

We are honored that you would recommend our hotel to any of your clients who are looking for accommodations for their family trip to Disneyland. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to your next visit!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    522
    150
    59
    35
See reviews for
946
102
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family of four (two teenagers) stayed three nights for a Disneyland getaway. We appreciated the space, friendliness, cleanliness, and close proximity to Disneyland. We were disappointed with the breakfast - the selections were minimal compared to, say, Embassy Suites offerings. However, the staff was friendly and accommodating. The room itself was in need of some updating and maintenance (e.g., dripping tub faucet, non-working ceiling fan, towel hangers falling off doors, very old, sagging, uncomfortable sofa sleeper in living area). Overall, though, the room ("penthouse" with kitchen) was comfortable, reasonably quiet, and spacious. Because we do not spend an extensive amount of time in the room during Disney vacations, this is suitable and we will likely return. We appreciated the free parking and the onsite, 24 hour market.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtiesBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear ArtiesBear,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that our staff was accommodating to your needs during your stay with us.

Our entire management team and staff are looking forward to our upcoming renovation, and we thank you for your patience while we settle any final details. I’m sorry to hear that your stay did not meet some of your expectations. We take your feedback very seriously and are always looking for ways to improve. Many of the issues you encountered will be taken care of during the renovation process. I am glad that despite some of the results of our aging product, you still found our hotel to be comfortable and spacious enough for your family. Should you have any questions regarding our renovation or general questions about our hotel, please feel free to contact me at rsmith@rimhospitality.com. I hope to win the opportunity to serve you again the next time you visit the Anaheim Resort Area.

All the best,

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My family stayed at this hotel for 5 nights over the New Years holiday break. Fortunately we were there to see Disney and to go to the Rose Bowl so we did not have to be in our room very much.

We found the room to be very much in need of an update and in need of repair. Check in was a breeze and the front desk staff was very friendly. However when we got to our room, our room safe did not work. I called for batteries three times and never did receive them. We went to the store and bought some ourselves. Twice we needed to request toilet paper as the room attendant never left any and we were only provided with 1 role for the entire 5 night stay. My husband walked up to the front desk to get more, and they did not have any at the desk. THey had to send someone from maintenance to provide it. This does not seem at all efficient. The door in our bathroom also had a horrible squeak to it and it woke up our entire family each time someone needed to go in there.

The breakfast service was also not at all up to Residence Inn standards. We have stayed over 20 night in Residence Inns in 2013 and this was by far much worse from a food quality perspective than any I have been in.

Fortunately when we checked out we went down to San Diego and stayed at the Residence Inn in the Gaslamp District which was very much up to the Marriott standards.

The only pros I can see for this hotel are the very close proximity to the Disney parks and the free parking. If not for that, I would advise you to not waste your money.

Would I stay at this hotel again - definitely not!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MItravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear MItravelinfamily,

My name is Rachel Smith, and I am the Front Office Supervisor here at the hotel. We appreciate your feedback as it allows our team to grow in any necessary areas. With that said, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you encountered with your stay at our property. I understand the concern you must have felt with the issues you regretfully experienced.

Our hotel is due for renovation this upcoming year, and our team is diligently working to keep our hotel well maintained. As you can see from other reviewers, though our hotel may be showing its age, our pride comes from the service we provide. Such customer service that you mentioned is out of our nature, and I am sorry to hear about your experiences. I assure you that the proper department heads will be notified to ensure that these issues do not reoccur.

I would love to hear back from you to discuss the details of the room you stayed in so that we may fix any necessary maintenance issues. You can reach me directly at rsmith@rimhospitality.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is across from Disneyland. It is approximately a 15 minute walk to the entrance of Disneyland. There is a shuttle pick-up at the hotel which runs at regular intervals. You can see the Disneyland fireworks from hotel. You can hear slightly the "hum" of the freeway from the hotel, but it wasn't annoying. The hotel grounds, pool area, and lobby are very clean. The rooms are also clean but they're average as far as condition. The room prices are affordable. The complimentary buffet breakfast every morning was well worth the stay. Unlike many of the hotels across the street from Disneyland, the hotel does not charge for parking. There is a basketball and volleyball court, too, so the kids can burn off some energy.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Cal1990

Thank you for highlighting some of our great hotel amenities. Our staff works hard to keep our grounds clean, and I am glad that cleanliness, along with some of our hotel services are some standouts worth mentioning for you.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel. I look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again the next time you visit the Anaheim Resort Area!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this property during a 2-month assignment for work in 2010. Location was ideal given my office was within walking distance. The staff was friendly but nothing special. The room itself was very spacious and having access to kitchen appliances like a fridge and microwave was very helpful . The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants and it provided complimentary breakfast in the morning which helps save money, especially during a long stay. My husband and kids got to stay here as well and it met all of our needs. Would consider this hotel if the need arises
again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear LorenasTravels,

Thank you for keeping us in mind after 4 years! The direct contact with the outdoors, coupled with the fully equipped kitchen in all our suites make for a home-like environment for the comfort of our guests.

It is great to hear that everything went well with your extended stay, and that our hotel was of great convenience for you. We hope to exceed your expectations in terms of staff service the next time you come to visit us- whether it be on another business trip, or with your family!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is our second time staying at this same hotel and I can say when we venture back to the area we will stay a third time. The rates are extremely reasonable and it's one of the few hotels in the area that does not charge for parking. The rooms are spacious and extremely clean, it's just like being at home. We stayed an entire week and the only issue that we had was that our room was in a building that was by the road which was loud due to traffic.
A full-free breakfast was included and I must say that it was hearty and filling!
The hotel also had a laundry area that was very convenient which meant we didn't have to pack as many clothes.
The location was great. Only 1.5 blocks from Disneyland, which meant we could walk everyday.

I highly recommend this hotel if staying in the Anaheim area! We love it!

Room Tip: Pick a room that is in one of the buildings that does not run the perimeter of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowgetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear lowgetter,

Thank you for your loyalty! It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed the home-like feel of our hotel throughout the entire week you stayed with us. If you have any special requests for your future reservations, such as a room in a quiet area, please feel free to contact me or the hotel directly. We are happy to be your home away from home every time you visit the Anaheim Resort Area!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed five nights and was the best accommodation of our trip. Easy walk to Disneyland and very good value. Great room and facilities with good breakfasts and residence extras included. Highly recommended and would stay again next time.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianE1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear BrianE1969,

Thank you for your review and your recommendations! We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be the best accommodation for your family’s trip to Disneyland. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to the Anaheim Resort Area!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Property: Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802-2902
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, complimentary parking, wireless internet, business center usage, and more. Our guests have access to purchasing Disneyland park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills available for guest use. Pet Friendly ($100 non refundable pet fee for up to 2 pets per room). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing