We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable/ Clean/ Close To Disney/With Breakfast/ And Shuttle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Affordable/ Clean/ Close To Disney/With Breakfast/ And Shuttle”
Reviewed 26 December 2008

Went to disneyland in April 2006 with a girlfriend and her son.

We were looking for a hotel with the following:
- AFFORDABLE
- CLEAN
-CLOSE TO DISNEY
-WITH FREE BREAKFAST
-- A FREE SHUTTLE to and from disney

This proved to be very hard to find!!!! If there was a free shuttle, we found out the hotel seemed to be filthy... or had no pool, or if it was clean, it was over 300.00 a night... or if it was a disney hotel of course it cost an arm and leg... and had no complimentary breakfast!

We found the residence inn by marriott and everything was perfect. TRULY. I am a picky girl.
These rooms are actually little extended stay condos. We had a fireplace, a king side bed , pull out couch, a kitchen, huge bathroom, and a kitchen table. the rate per night was just over 100.00 per night. We could have easily slept 2 more people in the room and it would have been great for a family with strollers, etc going to the kingdom!!! Everymorning there was a HUGE DELUXE breakfast with tables inside and outside. It included eggs, frenchtoast, waffles, oatmeal, cereals, hot cocoa, etc.... and the food just kept coming. Kids everywhere but this was disney! you expect this. And everyone is happy.
The shuttle comes on the hour and it is small... so you want to get to the line in plenty of time, and expect to be crunched in, again with strollers, kids crying etc. But its disney and the drive is less than 5 minutes.
Takes you right to the gates and is available every half hour to pick you up until after closing. The hotel also has a small grocery store in it for ANYTHING you may have forgotten or food you might need to cook in your kitchen... like a frozen pizza!
The room was cleaned well daily and the grounds were very nice.
All buildings were seperate on the grounds... with a pool , basketball courts, game rooms in the center.
We went during the slower season and mid week so Im sure i did not experience the place at capacity but there was always disney agents on site ready to help us with preticket sales, maps etc.
Everything was great, I really could think of nothing to complain about except the trip coming to an end... I love disney and Im 29!

My advice to first time DisneyLAND goers...
do a hotel like this....
Get your passes ahead of time and save money....
HINT- if you know someone who lives in Anaheim they get a huge discount on disney passes, but their license must show anaheim address.
Splurge on the disney experience itself...
Whats great about these kitchens is you can still save on bringing your own food if you need to cut cost.
Or at least some drinks.
ENJOY!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Service, Shuttle, Breakfast
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaanasChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    525
    152
    62
    38
See reviews for
957
105
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2008

Stayed here for a week in the beginning of November. This is a great place to stay, and if I go back, it will be here! We had a 1 bedroom with to beds in it. It was a good size room, that had the look and feel of an apartment. If you are familiar with the Residence Inn's, this is the old style that is laid out like an apartment complex, not the new style they build now as a high rise. This property is a few blocks from Disneyland, but far away enough for peace and quiet. There is a a new high end shopping center with a bowling alley and a movie theater and plenty of stores just down the street.
This property has lots of palm tree's and is very well landscaped. Seems like your in the tropics. There is free breakfast and I mean a full breakfast every morning. It is very good and saves a few dollars.
There is a nice pool, a hot tub as well as a small child's wading pool. There is also a basketball / tennis court as well. On site as well is a small store that has milk, candy, ice cream and many other items, but is expensive. There is a bus stop on the property that stops to pick you up to take you to Disneyland. It does cost, but is very convenient. If you are looking for a place that is most like home this is it. A kitchen with a microwave, full size stove and refrigerator, a dishwasher, and a table to eat at, this is for you. Water pressure was good, but the bathroom exhaust was very very noisy. Take my word and stay here. You can't go wrong!

  • Liked — Peace and quiet. Well maintained property.
  • Disliked — noisy bathroom exhasut
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wingnut5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Reading the reviews I must have missed something. i recently stayed here for 5 nights with my family....the place has some major cleanliness issues! We stayed in a one bedroom suite that:
1. if you wore white socks your feet got black from the carpet (carpet that was damp all over the entire stay)

2. Had major, major stains on all the furniture, so much so that you put a towel down before sitting on anything.

3. Housed two of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on

4. The smell... people, please... air freshener. the room always smelled musty and of old food..nasty. We ran the fan constintly to try to get the air to circulate... didn't help.

5. The bathroom had hair in the tub and the entire curtin on the inside, minus 3 holes, was torn off.

6. Something resembling mice poison exsisted on the floors in the bathroom area.

To summize, the room was small, smelly, stained, OLD and really really unclean. Had I not been staying there with a group of family I would have checked out the day I checked in. My room was 112 which placed me front and center to the street AND the FIRE STATION... good times {sarcasm}. The hotel was crowded so we couldn't be moved from that location.

The staff was nice enough but short of completely re-habing the room there wasn't anything they could do. I will never stay here again nor would I EVER reccomend this hotel to a friend. This hotel needs to hire people to CLEAN the rooms and by cleaning I don't mean someone to come in and make the beds and replace the towels. I mean clean the floors, DUST!!, clean furniture stains, and bathrooms!!

I am losing it for the Marriott chain they just do not live up to expectations anymore.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rrobinhhalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

This hotel should be "Number 1" in Anaheim any day now! Free wi fi, free hot buffet breakfast, free parking - it really doesn't get any better! My family of four stayed in a studio suite with a King-sized bed and pullout sofa for the two kids (ages 7 & 9) and all were comfortable. We never used the kitchen but it was nice to know it was there just in case.

We really appreciated being on the second floor and at the rear of the property where noise was never an issue. The hotel is located about a half mile (as the crow flies) from the bus entrance to the parks. It really is a long walk so opt for the shuttle. The cost was $10 for all of us for each day which is certainly comparable to parking at the Disney garage. Tickets were available at a special desk in the lobby. Route 7 had one additional stop going to the park and one previous stop coming back from the park. Only once was the shuttle "standing room only."

The breakfast was adequate and featured hot entrees, cereals, fruit, etc. You could eat in the breakfast room, out on the patio, or head back to your room. We even took a few pieces of fresh fruit from the buffet into the park each day for mid-morning snacks.

Additionally there is a pool and sports court that both appeared well-kept.

  • Liked — Beautifully kept grounds and buildings.
  • Disliked — Limited seating inside the breakfast room.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gbtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We stayed at this hotel with our 11 and 8 year old daughters for a week from 6th to 13th October and were really happy with our choice. The rooms are spacious - we stayed in the one bedroom suite which had two queen size beds plus a sofa bed in the lounge. The room was very clean on arrival and maintained at a high standard throughout our stay.

The hotel has plenty of free parking and is on the route for the ART shuttle. We found the walk to the Disneyland parks was less than 10 mins and not at all difficult - except maybe at the end of a long Disney day but even then it seemed unnecessary to catch the shuttle such a short distance. It may be a little too far for small children.

The buffet breakfast is included in your room charge and is extensive with bacon, eggs and pancakes as well as french toast, cereals, and muffins. The make your own waffle machines were certainly a hit with my kids.

Check-in was easy, staff very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the atmosphere of this hotel which is more like a resort than a hotel. Would highly recommend to other families.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — having to pay for internet access
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jpfree2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We stayed for 3 nights in October '08. This was our second stay here. This time we stayed in the bi-level loft. It had 2 queens in a bedroom downstairs, and a king bed in the loft upstairs, it also had 2 full bathrooms. The hotel is comfortable and convenient. I like that my bill had no hidden charges. It helps that everything is complementary, including breakfast and parking.
My only complaint is that the rooms are starting to show the wear and tear and don't feel as clean as they could.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

We stayed in Anaheim for two nights prior to a cruise out of Long Beach and visited D/L on Saturday. This particular hotel was selected because of its proximity to DL, included breakfast, room features, and price.

There were 3 families travelling together and we all arrived on Friday evening around 6:00pm, checkin was smooth and as requested, all 3 rooms were close together. This complex is made up of roughly 25, 2 storie buildings that have between 6 and 8 units in each building. Some ground floor units and other that require a walk up to flights of outdoor steps to the upper rooms. Our group each had queen bed suites with pullout couches. All units have the kitchen facilities, stove/oven, frig, microwave, sink, diswasher. We did use any of the kitchen facilities but all looked need and tidy and the frig came in handy tkeep drinks cold. Microwave popcorn in the rooms was a nice touch too. Everyone had great things to say about there rooms, quiet, comfortable, clean. We took advantage of the breakfast each morning, it was busy, but items were replenished quickly and any mess was cleaned up quickly, we arrived around 9:30 each morning, near the end of the breakfast service, still lots of food, we were able to find space for our group of 8, a wide selection of eggs, bacon, toast, waffles, fruit, juice and coffee. Somthing for everyone in our group which included two young children.

We did not walk to DL, we took the ART bus, it picks up right in the parking lot of the hotel. One of group did walk to DL for some exercise and said that it was a very short walk. The pool area is great for cooling off after a day at the park, the hot tub was closed while we were there.

All in all, this was the perfect hotel for our needs, I can see how for an extended stay this would be an ideal set up, bring the groceries, cook some meals in the unit and make it a home away from home.

We did walk over to Garden Walk and ate at the California Pizza Kitchen, a short walk with many stores and restaurants.

The location, price, quality of service and amenities were all great and would cause me to book again with this hotel in the future and recommend it to others.

  • Liked — location to DL as well as breakfast and room amenities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FP4BMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Property: Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802-2902
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, complimentary parking, wireless internet, business center usage, and more. Our guests have access to purchasing Disneyland park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills available for guest use. Pet Friendly ($100 non refundable pet fee for up to 2 pets per room). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing