We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VACATION !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VACATION !”
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Had a great time at Disneyland. The shuttle picked us up right outside the hotel, which using the free consierge service, we came home to not only free appitizers in the hotel, but they also did shopping for us at the local grocery store with no additonal surcharge. I would highly reccomend them, and gladly stay there again!

Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank doubtfultom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGrayson_DOS, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 8 March 2010
Dear Doubtfultom,
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Residence Inn Anaheim - Maingate! It was nice to hear that your family was able to enjoy our evening social hour w/ light menu in addition to the FREE grocery shopping service we provide to our guests... It truly can help save our famlies a significant amount of money while on vacation! We hope to see you & your family again on your next visit to Anaheim, CA!!
Thank you for sharing your experience and we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    525
    152
    62
    38
See reviews for
957
105
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

When checking into the Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, the desk clerk asked us if we were there for any special occasion. I let her know we were there for my son's 9th birthday. We checked into our very clean and well appointed room, and went over to Disneyland for the evening. When we returned, my son found that the staff had left him a birthday cake. A full sized birthday cake with a card. He was thrilled, and getting this cake was probably one of the high points of his trip. He tells everyone about it.

The breakfast is good, as is the Wednesday evening BBQ, very hearty and can be used as dinner which saves you $$$!

The beds are a bit hard, which was my only gripe.

When I returned from our trip, I realized I had left a sweater hanging in the closet. I called the hotel, they located the sweater and had it at my front door in less than a week. The service at this hotel is very, very, impressive. I will be back, without a doubt. They did a great job!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amybbb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGrayson_DOS, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 2 March 2010
amybbb73,
We are absolutely thrilled that you had such a great stay! Birthdays are a big deal around here and we're so happy you chose us to be a part of your celebration...we are looking forward to your next visit with us!
"Suite" Regards,
Misty Grayson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

My family (me, wife, 4 year-old daughter) stayed here 2/14/10 - 2/17/10 during our visit to Disney Land (and Lego-Land). We had a great time and a great stay at this hotel. It's about a 15 minute walk to the park or quick $6 cab ride. You can also use the Disney shuttles of course but we never did. I wanted a place that had enough room for us to spread out a bit during the times we were not at the park - having separate sleeping and sitting rooms was ideal with a child. We didn't use the full kitchen much but it was nice to have for the time or 2 we were in our room during meal time and didn't feel like eating out once again.
The "market" by the front desk had enough goodies/basics to get us thru our stay w/o running to a grocery - we just bought some snacks, mac n' cheese, PB&J, etc.
We really enjoyed the free breakfast buffet as well - now it can get crowded and kind of crazy, but there is a good selection of food and drink there. I figure the free breakfast & free parking saved me over $40/day. Throw in the free wifi and it was really a bargain. A good deal of space and the free perks for well under $200/night.
The only complaint we have is that one of the queen beds did sag to the middle and wasn't as comfortable as the other. But we let our daughter sleep in that one and she was too small and tired to feel any difference.
Service was great, rooms were clean. The front desk was helpful - we were allowed to keep our car in their lot all day after we checked out that morning for our last day at Disney. (After our checkout, they also held my leftover beer in one of their fridges so it would be cold for me at our next hotel on our vacation)
There is also a Disney Desk by the hotel front desk.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGrayson_DOS, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 3 March 2010
Dustbow,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We're so happy to know you enjoyed your time here with us at The Residence Inn Anaheim - Maingate! On behalf of my team, we love to hear that our guests have taken full advantage of all the wonderful amenities available to them during their stay... especially those visiting w/ families. I'd love to suggest utilizing our complimentary grocery shopping services next time around! We hope to see you & your family again very soon for your next stay in Anaheim! Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We've now stayed in this hotel twice to visit Disneyland and it was great both times. The rooms are very quiet. We never heard any noise at all, and I am a light sleeper. We had a mini-kitchen that was very convenient. The pool was clean and quite warm, and it gets sun all day. The breakfast has improved since 2008, and it includes make your own waffles, pancakes, ham or bacon, scrambled eggs, toast, English muffins, cereal, yogurt, fruit and granola. The staff were very friendly and responsive. The walk to Disney takes about 10 minutes.

The only complaint is that it advertises free wireless internet in the rooms, and we could not get a signal in our room. We had to go to the lobby to use our laptop with internet.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachObsessed73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGrayson_DOS, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 3 March 2010
Dear BeachObsessed73,
We read your review and want to thank you for being a repeat guest! We're so happy to know that you've enjoyed your time here yet again! We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we get. On behalf of my staff, I do apologize for the difficulty you experienced with the wireless internet access in your suite. I'm happy to share that we are currently in the process of upgrading our wireless internet access in all of our buildings and are almost upon completion. Again, thank you for your comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

My wife and I stayed here for four nights with our 10 and 6-year-old girls. We haven't stayed anywhere else near Disneyland, so we have no real basis for comparison, but we were very happy with this hotel. The only dings I could give it would be nit-picking. Nevertheless, in support of the hotel's pursuit of perfection, here goes (with the hi-lites following):

- Wireless internet was free but a little slow. I did some speed tests and got 58kbps the first night. The next morning it was up to 386kbps. Serviceable, but not awesome.
- The kitchen has all the basic equipment, but only a set of four dishes. We cooked in our room at least once per day to save money and also eat more healthfully and found we had to wash dishes a lot more than we'd prefer on vacation.
- The rooms are a wee bit small. I do yoga daily and didn't have much room for the mat.
- There's a stair light in the loft rooms that can't be turned off. For those who need pitch black to sleep you'll have to cover it up somehow and even then you'll never get pitch black because the loft room is open to the rest of the space.
- We didn't get maid service one day. I don't know if this is because we were in the room when they were going by, or if they forgot, or if they only offer the service every other day. I never checked.
- Exercise room consists of two treadmills and an exercise bike. They need a Precor elliptical without swinging arms to be top notch in my book :-}
- The rest of the issues are structural and can't be changed, but for awareness they include the open loft bedroom (I would have preferred an enclosed room for the parents) and light switches in really odd places

But again these are nitpicking and this hotel represents excellent service, accommodation, and value. They try very very hard to please. The high lights include:

- Disney cast member by the desk daily with tickets (including CityPass) and helpful information.
- Pool was nice and warm, great swimming even though it was only 65 degrees outside. They pipe in music all day, but it was an eclectic mix from old-school soul to alternative rock that we liked.
- Full breakfast ranging from bacon and eggs to pre-cooked oatmeal to yogurt to breads. The food was pretty good. It's a bit of a scene, but what are you going to do? We brought along our own muesli and dipped into the breakfast room to supplement with bacon and eggs once in a while (it's a vacation, right?)
- We didn't walk to Disney, using the ART shuttle instead. The ART pickup is right on hotel property and only two other hotels are on that route, so it's a quick trip to/from Disneyland. I would guess the walk is easy for adults, but not great for tired kids, so the ART shuttle is very handy. As a guess I'd say the walk would be about 15 minutes at a leisurely pace.
- Gardenwalk shopping center with many restaurants (and fewer shops) is a 3 minute walk away if you're into that sort of thing.
- You can watch the Disney fireworks from the hotel property (but not from most rooms). For a better view, you can walk over to Gardenwalk and get a clearer view from on high without traffic driving by. This is a good choice if you have young kids because even if you take a break from Disney mid-day, they'll still be cranky by fireworks time. Better in our opinion to leave the park before the fireworks and miss the bus rush.
- the kid's room was well soundproofed and allowed my wife and I to do our morning routine without waking them.

All in all, a great choice for Disney and we were pleased. If we were to do it again, we'd look harder at the on-property hotels. We chose Residence Inn because it has kitchen suites, which I'm pretty sure the Disney hotels don't. It was also quite a bit cheaper if I recall correctly. Have fun!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zinjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGrayson_DOS, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 3 March 2010
Dear zinjan,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments! We're delighted to hear that overall you truly enjoyed your stay...I would like to apologize for the issue you experienced with your wireless. I'm happy to share that we are in the middle of upgrading our wireless network and the project is almost upon completion. Unfortunately, this process is affecting the speed & connection in the buildings that are not being worked on. We take all comments seriously and I have shared your feedback with our staff, so we may find ways to resolve any of the issues you've mentioned and improve our service as well. I've even suggested the Precor Elliptical w/out swinging arms:-) ... personal favorite of mine! Thank you again for your wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

This is a perfectly adequate, reasonably priced place to stay near Disneyland. I could walk to the entrance gate of Disneyland in less than 15 minutes, but with our 5-year-old in tow it was much easier to take the shuttle, which comes by the hotel every 20 minutes. I debated between the Howard Johnson and the Residence Inn, but the Residence Inn was cheaper, all the rooms have a full kitchen (some rooms at HoJo don't even have a microwave), and we found out that by the time the same shuttle goes by HoJo, it is sometimes full so that it can't even pick up passengers there. HoJo is closer to the park, though, and has what looks like a more interesting swimming pool complex, but since we were there in December that was not a major issue.

The customer service and buffet breakfast were nothing to write home about. The staff was responsive enough but not very warm and fuzzy. The buffet was mostly highly processed edible foodlike substances, but hey, there was lots of it! The swimming pool was heated.

The studio suite was plenty big for the 3 of us, though I wish there was more separation between the bed and the living area. The kitchen is minimally outfitted, but boy did it help save on food costs. One night we got takeout from PF Chang's at the nearby mall you can walk to, and the rest of the time we prepared our own meals. There doesn't seem to be a grocery store very close by. I wouldn't recommend the Vons to the south, but there is a nice store with a lot of organic products about 4 miles north on Harbor Blvd., called Henry's Farmers Market.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParadoxAndSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

I love tripadvisor. The room was pretty clean, (my wife found a hair in the bathtub) and the studio suite was perfect for our small family. My 4 year old son slept on the fold out couch and the room was very comfortable. The location was perfect for disney (900 yards away) and the free breakfast was standard american hotel buffet. I would absolutely stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dharma42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Property: Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802-2902
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, complimentary parking, wireless internet, business center usage, and more. Our guests have access to purchasing Disneyland park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills available for guest use. Pet Friendly ($100 non refundable pet fee for up to 2 pets per room). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing