We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate Disney experience”
Review of Disneyland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disneyland Hotel
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Disney experience”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for a few nights at the end of a 3 week vacation to California with our daughter and grandson. We moved here from the Park Vue Inn which I previously reviewed. Because we were already in the area, I was able to go to the hotel early in the morning to check us in and hopefull get the type of room we wanted. Even by the time we got there at 10 am, the rooms were being taken, and we ended up having a handicap access room, not in the building we wanted, but we were very happy with the room and enjoyed staying in a different building this trip. We were up on the 6th floor of the main tower with the lobby, facing out over the pool. The renovations to the hotel since our last stay are amazing, and our grandson loved the light up headboard that played music at bed time. We actually decided to stay an extra couple of nights after checking in, and when I phoned to the lobby to extend our stay, I was told they were fully booked via there system but I should call Disney Travel as they may have rooms available, which they did, and we were also able to stay in the same room which was great. The valet service was awesome, so helpful, at check in and out, and when having purchases sent over from the parks. You can't beat the location for entering Disneyland or California Adventure! Being able to hop on the monorail in Disneyland and be dropped off steps away from the hotel for naps in the afternoon is just perfect!! and of course by staying on a Disney property you have early entry to the parks and can ride the more popular rides like Radiator Springs Racers before the big crowds hit. The pool area is just amazing, so much fun! and the drinks and snacks from the pool bar were yummmmmy! We would love to stay here every time we go to Disneyland, but as we usually stay a couple of weeks, with the significant increase in prices last year, this is not possible for us. But to spend 4 nights here at the end of a longer stay in the area is a real treat! There are perks to staying here other than early entry and you should make sure to ask and read the information they give you. Like grandson had a personalised session at Build a Bear, and daughter had a personalised session at Sephora. The restaurants in the hotel are amazing! Breakfast at SteakHouse 55 is one of our favorite breakfasts anywhere ever! Trader Sams Enchanted Tiki Bar is not to be missed with all it's special effects! it's like dining inside the Enchanted Tiki room! and yes children are welcome :) Goofy's kitchen is amazing, with so much character interaction, and Steakhouse 55 has what we think are the best steaks anywhere on the disney property. Tangaroa Terrace is the place to go for french toast with warm banana caramel sauce! Everywhere you go on the property you are emmersed in the Disney magic! from the Disney music playing everywhere, to the topiary Disney characters, to the actual Disney characters you run into once in a while. The grounds are so lushly planted, there is still a stream area, and in the evening with the tiki torches lit up, it is like being in a tropical paradise. My husband and I have stayed here before, for our 2nd honeymoon, and it is perfect for that too! Definitely not just a place for families with kids!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laughing_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    953
    315
    109
    48
See reviews for
1,879
305
30
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Disney does staffing right. Whether Anaheim or Orlando a tip of the hat to their HR people because they seem to find impossibly happy people to work for them.
We stayed three days at Disneyland Hotel in concierge level and from check in to check out had a great experience. Super friendly staff. Clean rooms. Great service for anything you need. Concierge staff were welcoming and pleasant. Pool area was great (though the kids thought the water slide was kind of old). Stones throw from either park.
All round positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and I just stayed at the Disneyland Hotel as our focal point for exploring the tiki culture of Southern California. What a great location! The event we booked our trip around, the 50th anniversary of The Enchanted Tiki Room, was hosted in the hotel's grand ballroom and meeting rooms. We were within walking distance to Downtown Disney and Disneyland, and our tower was adjacent to Trader Sam's tiki bar and 3 nice pools. We were a 30-minute drive from Whittier and Hollywood. Although our room was a little smallish (wasted space in the entry hallway), we couldn't have picked a more convenient and comfortable hotel for the two of us.

Room Tip: Choose to stay in the Adventure Tower to be the closest to Trader Sam's, Downtown Disney and Dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apa1nda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My family and me are very flexible travelers and rarely complain about hotels, but I am so disappointed by our recent stay at the Disneyland Hotel...yes, rooms are spacious, ridiculously overpriced and one doesn't get any "extras" like a nice breakfast or a microwave...and Disney's goal is obviously to squeeze every dime from you, but that's not my complaint! We knew that going in.
My 18 yo son was in the shower/tub (the design of the fixtures while cute, are sharp edged, and not suitable for younger children) when the ENTIRE ceramic soap dish broke in half and badly cut his palm. He is a tall kid, but very slender. He was sharing a room with grandpa, who was walking around the grounds with grandma when it happened. Anyway, he found my adult daughter who then called the front desk (this was just after Disney closed, 12:30 am) and they alerted the hotel nurse and security. I met the security guard and showed her the broken bath tub soap dish and she alerted her superior. The nurse did an examination and said he needed stitches and gave us a handout that listed local hospitals. The building on-call engineer showed up and recommended we change rooms, but we declined since we were leaving for the hospital - he then said he would remove the fixture, and we requested he do so in the morning since it was 1 am by then and it would disturb other guests. He was the most responsible person we spoke with! I telephoned the front desk and was connected to the night manager, Darlene, who then told me that she wasn't the night manager and would contact another facility's night manager who would then call me back and advise us on how we would proceed - I was concerned because our insurance has a large emergency room deductible, coupled with the fact that we were out of our insurance area. That was the LAST person I spoke with: we NEVER received a phone call or visit from any responsible individual. The jagged broken dish remained in the tub until we left at 1 pm the following day. My husband and son returned from the ER at 3:15 am, which negated our early morning entry to the park, and in fact pretty much ruined the entire day for our entire party of 11 (it was a family event). My husband went to see the manager at 10:30 the following morning and was told by the manager that they were "very sorry" and that they had filed a claim on our behalf and that was all they could do. That was it, oh, and we could check out late! That was 2 days ago and we never heard back from any Disney hotel representative.
Needless to say we are very disappointed and expected more from the Disney.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank orindamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were attending a convention here at the end of the week, so we were offered the EXTREMELY affordable convention rate, which included theme park tickets too, so we went ahead and booked for the week prior to the convention to make a family vacation out of it. We saved hundreds...although, I would still recommend staying here even without the convention rate...this place is wonderful. We are a family of 2 adults and 3 boys who are 10, 7, and 2, and this was the perfect place for us.
Checking in on Sunday morning was a breeze and they even had a room ready for us at 11am when we checked-in which was great! Even if they didn't have it ready, they could hold our luggage and allow us to use the pools until one became ready. We stayed in the Frontier building which is the farthest building, but it was extremely QUIET. The room was beautiful, clean, and more than accommodated our large family including a crib (which they supplied upon request). We had a nice view of an ugly parking lot, lol, but we're not complaining as we weren't there for the view! The kids spent a ton of time at the pool area which was not far (they are centrally located to all the buildings). They enjoyed the waterslides and the spa and we have no complaints...we swam during the early afternoons when most people were gone so it wasn't crowded.
We also enjoyed being close to the bar/restaurant (Tangaroa Terrace) and the food was good!
We celebrated my 7-year olds birthday while there and they sure made it special. Upon check-in he received a special button to commemorate his special day, and they gave the rest of us special buttons to wear as well. We had his bday dinner at Goofys Kitchen which was worth every penny...adults and kids had a blast! We enjoyed the proximity to Downtown Disney and ate at many of those restaurants as well...there is no limit to the dining and entertainment choices. You can stay here and never set foot in a theme park and still have a great time. We also dined at Steakhouse 55 (just the adults) which was nothing to write home about (if you want a nice dinner do the Napa Rose at the Grand Californian instead), and Storytellers Cafe and White Water Snacks at the Grand Californian and both were fantastic. We used the monorail to get to Disneyland (when it wasn't broken, which was often) and the Grand Californian entrance to California Adventure...otherwise the walk through Downtown Disney could really wear you out (it sure wore us out after 5 days of straight theme park touring!).
With so many options, the absolute friendliest of service (even the maids are downright pleasant), and that special Disney magic you can't find anywhere else, I really couldn't imagine staying anywhere but on Disney property. Next time I hope to find a great rate for the Grand Californian and try that one, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the wonderful Disneyland Hotel again and again.

Room Tip: Disney tries to be very accommodating...if you are usually shy about making requests, this is a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed in a suite at the Disneyland Hotel this time. After our horrible experience at the Grand Californian we were hoping for at least a decent time. We were completely amazed at the difference between the two hotels. The funny thing about it is when we went into our room this time we were actually looking for things to be wrong with the room because of our last experience. Unbelievably we could not find anything wrong with the room. No dust, dirt, smudges, cobwebs and everything actually working. We were completely surprised with how nice the suite was from the space to how extremely clean it was. The staff inside of the hotel was completely knowledgeable about anything and everything we had questions about and always offered suggestions. For example, we wanted to take the kids to eat at Goofy's Kitchen and called down for reservations. There were none available, but the person helping us on the phone let us know that even though there were not any available reservations the best time to try and get in is when they first open at 5 PM for dinner. They let us know that you can usually get right in without any wait. The pool was much nicer for the children with multiple water slides and water areas to splash around in for the kids.

Room Tip: Without having any knowledge of a regular room here I can say that the pool view that we had in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We surprised our daughter with a trip to Disneyland. I chose this hotel after doing lots of research and we work hard so spending the extra to stay here was justified. I love how close it is and our view from our room was fantastic. We were in the frontier tower, which most complained was farthest, but it isn't that bad. The pool area can get a little cramped with people piling their towels on the chairs and leaving so you don't know if they are gone, wish the workers there would keep it better organized but I'm sure they are over worked. We loved the early entrance into the parks and would stay at the disney hotels again just for that. We did use the entrance into calif. adventures thru the calif. grand hotel, but the bellhop don't like it especially if you go the wrong way, they made a rude comment but no biggie. I give the rooms a 4 because in the bathroom there is so much lint in the vent which could be cleaned, also the housekeeping don't do anything special but I'm sure they are overworked too. But with everything I will definitely stay at the disney properties again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Northwestgirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disneyland Hotel

Property: Disneyland Hotel
Address: 1150 West Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802-2297
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disneyland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 973
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and see all that is new! Now with more luxurious rooms, new pools and waterslides, themed dining and more, the transformed Disneyland Hotel is a vacation destination in and of itself. This transformation has earned the hotel the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Hotel rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel Ca
Disneyland Hotel Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing