We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way over rated and over priced”
Review of Disneyland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disneyland Hotel
Ranked #20 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband was here for work and we (myself and our 3 kids) came along. First off I must say that I'm glad that we didn't pay to stay at this hotel because I would be highly disappointed and feel ripped off. Check in was easy and they were very informative and polite. The outside and inside of the Hotel are impressive and beautiful and it makes you feel all excited and happy inside because you know you're about to enjoy Disneyland. Our room was in the Frontier Tower which was the furthest Tower from the hotel entrance and our window faced a parking lot so the view wasn't good at all. The room was small, clean, and quite. The beds were full size but comfortable especially after 11 hour days at Disneyland (maybe I was just exhausted). The mini fridge was a mini mini fridge and there are no microwaves which I believe is done on purpose so you buy food from their over priced restaurants. The coffee maker is a single or double cup maker. The parking lot is very long walk away and they charge $15 per day for self parking $22 for valet. For $400 per night hotel parking should be included as well as a microwave. Over all I'm thankful that my husbands employer gave him the opportunity to experience this hotel but unless we get a free stay here again we will never come back because it is very over priced. We have stayed at the Embassy and Homewood Suites while visiting Disneyland and are more impressed with their service, quality, convenience, and amenities. Even the Hampton was comparable to the Disneyland Hotel's quality and we paid under $100/night. I must say that their pool is exceptional and my kids really enjoyed it. Also we seen Goofy walking around the main lobby on one of the days which was pretty awesome. My husband seen about 6 characters in the pool area one of the days also. Besides the location and the pool this hotel is just average.

Room Tip: Request to stay in the Adventure Tower, it has the best views. Pool view or Downtown Disney view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isisg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,890 - 1,896 of 2,955 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We didn't spend much time in the room, but it was clean and spacious. Check in was incredibly slow and the person helping us was not particularly friendly. We were down graded in view and ended up with a parking lot view. No apologies or explanations. No wiggle room either. That's just the way it was. No big deal as, I mentioned, we didn't spend that much time in the room, however the outside windows were really dirty and made our parking lot view even worse! That being said, the location and proximity to Downtown Disney was worth it. Would we go back? Maybe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom suite and had to prepay the very expensive rate, as are the rules ($5,000 for 3 nights and a 4 day hopper pass for 2 adults and 1 child). I now understand why. Once they have your money they don't care at all. We arrived at 4pm to our room not ready yet and when it finally was, we were in a back corner overlooking a carpark (the furthest room away from Disneyland park even though I requested to be close months ago) After speaking with 2 very unhelpful people on reception, another guy showed us two standard connecting rooms, next to the vending and ice machines but closer to the park. We took these, due to their closer proximity to the park, however all we were refunded was $300 total.

I cannot fault the cleanliness of the room, the cleaning staff do a good job, it's the front of house staff that let this place down. Not helpful or customer focused at all.

This was our final stop on a three week trip and the Disneyland Hotel was by far the most expensive and by far the WORST hotel of all. Disneyland has lost it's charm and it is quite obvious to me that all it stands for these days is to make money (and lots of it)

Buyer beware!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Disneyland Hotel for one night in March 2014. The bed and pillows in the room were extremely comfortable, and I was impressed by how quiet the room was. We were right next to an ice machine, but the bedroom area was set so far back from the door that we didn't hear a thing all night. The room was clean, the toiletries nice, and the staff was friendly. The hotel is very convenient to Downtown Disney and all the restaurants there, as well as the parks. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My recent experience at the Disneyland hotel truly exceeded expectations. The room was a pool-view King room in the tower closest to Downtown Disney. It appeared to be newly-remodeled and was small, but comfortable,. It was immaculately clean, with a TV, fridge, coffee-maker, safe, and various Mickey toiletries. The bed was so comfortable, I am on a quest to find out how to buy a similar mattress. They have turndown service, which I have never understood, but I guess that's a sign of a classy hotel. The housekeepers did a nice job, and even left extra coffee packets after the first day when they must have noticed how many cups I used. A nice surprise was that it was very quiet in the area around my room throughout the stay---not a single screaming child was heard. If the hotel staff did this intentionally, it was greatly appreciated. Another delight was that the room had a standard thermostat/AC/heater system rather than the terribly loud one at most hotels. The grounds were pretty, with some nice plants and secluded sitting areas in a addition to the family-friendly pool. Trader Sam's was a nice place to relax. Only tried the overpriced breakfast oatmeal cakes (?), which were awful. Seriously, it's Disney---just get a churro for breakfast and run rampant on your sugar high. (The nearby Earl of Sandwich has great breakfast options too). It was a quick walk from the hotel to Downtown Disney and the Monorail Entrance, which is a great way to get into the park with less walking. The process for checking in to the hotel was a bit frustrating because it was busy and it took a while to get each party's tickets, room, parking, etc sorted out. The hotel parking was expensive and not very close to the entrance. If anyone from Disney is reading this, you could make tired travelers a lot happier while checking in if you offered water and maybe a small snack during busy times. Or better yet, put a Dole Whip cart in the lobby!

Room Tip: Adventure tower has a back entrance that leads right to Downtown Disney for less walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nita999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and three daughters (ages 8,7 & 2) absolutely loved our stay at the Disneyland Hotel. We upgraded to a Downtown Disney view so we could enjoy the fireworks and it was well worth it! The little Disney touches in our room from mouse ear patterned carpet, to the light up headboard made our stay even that much more magical. Our oldest girls loved the pool and spent every day there after a long day in the park...and if you forget a swim diaper for the baby... no worries! They are provided. A huge bonus for me was how clean the resort and parks were. Traveling with little kids and dealing with diaper changes can be problematic, but Disney has mult diaper changing stations in all their restrooms and they were always clean. (even saw a 'cast member' spraying down station with cleaner). Another bonus when staying at a Disney Hotel is the upgraded magic hour. Depending on the day, you can go into Disneyland or California Adventures an hour before the general public. This made a huge difference for us. While my husband got fast passes for the popular rides the girls and I rode smaller rides with little or no lines, we were sometimes even able to ride the ride over and over without getting out as no one was there. Another bonus for us, since we were traveling with a toddler, is we were able to get 'stroller passes'. My husband would take our older girls on a ride (splash mountain, thunder mountain etc.) with our Fast Pass and get a stroller pass good for three more people. So when he was off the ride he would give me the stroller pass and I was able to take our older girls on the ride again without waiting in line. This meant my girls were able to enjoy a lot of the popular rides (Cars, roller coasters, Thunder Mountain) twice in a row without waiting in line.

Complaints? The food was mediocre at best and extremely expensive. But that was expected. As well as the long waits in line.

Overall, I would stay here again. The distance to the park and the upgrades were well worth the price tag.

Room Tip: Frontier tower offers great views of Downtown Disney
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leesha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here several years ago in one of the basic rooms, which was cramped for a family of four. However, we decided to make a spur of the moment trip with my daughter and her four month old (Yes, four months old. We are grandparents now......what can I say?). Thanks to an abundance of Amex points and my husbands wish to stay somewhere that had everything we needed without leaving, we booked a regal suite. The cash value on the suite was $1800 - not a bargain, by any means, but I gotta say we were extremely pleased with what we got. It's a 2 room suite, with one and a half bathrooms, 3 vanity areas, 2 closets, and a kitchenette with refrigerator, coffee maker, sink, and small countertop bar area with seats. The living room had a large couch/sleeper sofa, two large armchairs, tables, large TV, and dining table. There are 2 large dressers in each room, and a desk in the bedroom area. Drawers in the dressers are very deep and hold a lot. Closets have extra bedding, iron/ironing board, safe and robe. Our room had 2 queen beds that were very comfy. There is minimal noise, but we always expect that on a Disneyland trip, no matter where we stay, so it did not bother us.

Had room service twice. Food is quite delicious, if overpriced. Second night, the kitchen left a lot off our order, but since they didn't charge us we didn't complain (we were too tired) and shared what we had.

Having experienced the suites, I think we will only stay in these from here on out. The comfort level was so much higher and having that half bath was awesome!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.7 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disneyland Hotel

Address: 1150 West Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802-2297
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £321 - £677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disneyland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 973
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and see all that is new! Now with more luxurious rooms, new pools and waterslides, themed dining and more, the transformed Disneyland Hotel is a vacation destination in and of itself. This transformation has earned the hotel the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Hotel rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel Ca
Disneyland Hotel Anaheim, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing