We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Marriott's Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Upon first glance, the Marriott Town Suites in Anaheim seems like a typical Marriott property. Clean property, well maintained and nicely furnished. The front counter staff is pleasant and courteous. However, upon closer inspection, the property is suffering from gradual disrepair. The unit we stayed in was chock full of issues. The biggest and probably the deadliest was the loose light switch in the bathroom. I received a shock strong enough to stun me for a second. I can't imagine what would have happened if my young daughter tried to turn off the switch instead of me. Front desk apologized with a smile and said maintenance would take care of it. I guess if I was still standing, it couldn't have been that bad.
The carpet was filthy. Our socks were black from walking round the room. We found water bottles, packaging and other stuff in the room from the previous occupants. We also discovered that the pull out soft bed linen was not changed. It was dirty, smelled and had hair all over it. Bad stuff. The light fixture above the work station was broken and did not turn on. The bathroom grout was full of mildew and hard water stains. The door to the building was broken so you did not need your card to open it. The grill at the pool needed maintenance. The knobs were stripped so that you couldn't turn on the grill without a pair of pliers.
This property has a take and go breakfast. You put your choices and amounts down on an order sheet and it will be ready for pick up at your designated time. We tried it twice, once early in the morning with no problems and once during the rush period of 8:00 am -8:30 am. One overworked staff member who was frazzled and complained that her partner did not come in, tried her best. Between low food supply, long lines and an order consisting of a grocery list, she was done. Forget courtesy, she just needed to get the orders out as the line grew longer. Other staff members calling their co workers out for their lack of sensibility was observed. They clearly needed additional staffing for the property. This is definitely not one of Marriott's better properties. Not sure where Town Suites is on the Marriott's hierarchy but I would assume this is considered their budget line based on personal observations.

Room Tip: The rail runs next to the property. Get a room away from the pool and railway.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btynbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay while visiting the Anaheim area. We were delighted to read that you encountered a pleasant and courteous staff. Although we are truly sorry for the inconveniences you encountered in your room and with the grab n’go breakfast. The hotel does maintain a high level of housekeeping policies and procedures, including a preventative maintenance program to keep the hotel and its fittings in first-rate working order. However, we really appreciate your feedback and all matters will be examined closer as our ultimate desire is to provide an enjoyable experience for all our current and future guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future and happily remain at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

I travel on business to the Anaheim area and prefer this hotel for price, location, and convenience. The studio arrangement with kitchenette is great for cooking a meal or keeping your own juices and snacks. You can stock the fridge at one of the grocery stores on State College Avenue. The staff are always helpful. Whenever I've had a problem, they have always been very responsive. Parking is free, and there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance or a short drive. The Disney shuttle stops in the parking lot if you are heading to the park.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms were spacious and clean with a well equipped kitchen which really helped us save on food costs. The breakfasts were OK (they take your order the night before and then place your selections in a sack to take back to your room). Nice pool and small but adequate workout room (a stairmaster, reclining bike, and treadmill). The hotel is very clean and the staff very courteous with excellent customer service. Would stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorroRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We are a full travel sports team and choose to stay at TownPlace Suites for our last 4 day tournament of the year; I wish we had stayed her the entire season! The rooms, and entire hotel, were exceptionally clean, rooms were quiet, the kitchens came with an oven, the pool area was perfect and the staff was extremely friendly and professional. The location was great; close to anything that you would need, yet far enough from Disneyland to not have to get caught in that traffic. We had 11 rooms in all so we had to go through the sales manager who continually went out of her way to ensure that everything would be perfect for our stay. We will definitively be staying here again and I will recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Everything was great. The workers at the front desk are all nice and very helpful. All the rooms are suites and they are all very clean and spacious. The best thing about it is the proximity to Angel Stadium. We went to go watch the Giants play the Angels for two days and the hotel is literally across the street from the stadium. They even let you choose what you want from their continental breakfast when you check in and have it ready for you to pick up in the morning in the lobby. There are also places to eat very close by and although we didn't get in (not enough time) the pool it looked clean and like a nice place to relax. I will definitely stay here again whenever I am in Anaheim, great hotel for a great price.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinG408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Good location, free parking, free wireless, nice workstation in room. For breakfast you have a selection of fruit, cereal, bagels, yogurt, juices. Check off what you want and what time you want it. Head down to the hotel lobby and it's all bagged and ready for you to take back to your room. Room is comfortable, and space to feel comfortable. Good choice for hotel, conventient to attractions. Good restaurants in walking distance, I recommend The Catch Restaurant for an excellent meal!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Have stayed here many times and have always been happy. Great location for Angels games and for all OC attractions / close to freeways. Staff this time were even better than usual ... extremely helpful when asked for room upgrade, early breakfast, etc. Decent laundry facilities and workout room. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarge_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anaheim
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Residence Inn Anaheim Hills Yorba Linda
0.6 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
2,152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium

Address: 1730 S State College Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92806-6022 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Anaheim)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#34 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: £101 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TownePlace Suites by Marriott Anaheim is minutes away from the Anaheim Convention Center, Disneyland Resort Maingate and Honda Center. Taking in a baseball game is easy as we are steps away from the main entrance to Anaheim Angel Stadium. Enjoy shopping and dining at the nearby Block of Orange, Anaheim Garden Walk and Downtown Disney. This TownePlace Suites is a close home for those visiting New Horizons,UCI Medical Center and St. Joseph's Hospital. Stay in one of our spacious, newly renovated suites and enjoy a fully equipped kitchen. Adjacent food court with Starbucks and fast food offers several dining options.When it's time to relax, enjoy our outdoor pool and BBQ area. Keep up with your fitness routine with our two exercise facilities or Bally's next door. There are two guest laundry rooms on premises. TownePlace Suites Anaheim...the simple solution for extended stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Anaheim Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Towneplace Suites
TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing