We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelers Motel(Cottonwood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
190
131
78
26
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
131
78
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoodside grillsacramento rivereco friendly hotelhidden gemredding areasliding glasson site restaurantsecond floorfitness centercomfortable roomsroad tripwe've stayedroom was largelong drivefridge and microwaveboth timesvisit family
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is close to my home town of Redding, CA, but since I've fairly recently relocated to Arizona, I needed a place to stay (I sold my home in CA before the move) when I return for family visits. I have stayed here approximately 3 times over the past few years, and I have always found it to be clean, QUIET, and very restful. The beds and linens are of excellent quality, and there never seems to be a problem with loud or rowdy guests. The views from the back of the hotel are the Sacramento River and a walking trail nearby. Even though it is only a short distance from busy I-5, the sound does not travel to the rooms. The staff are always pleasant and accommodating, and the restaurant there is wonderful. It's a place the locals go to for 'special' occasion dinners, and the food is deliciously prepared. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and their recent sale and change of ownership should not diminish the excellence. As a side note, there is a large pond with a fountain in the middle of the courtyard, and a family of white swans lives there. I have been fortunate to see them when the 'babies' are still downy and cute!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatyL749, Front Office Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review on your recent stay here! I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your room. I will pass your compliments onto the appropriate departments. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is located in a small city, wedged between I5 and the Sacramento River, so you'd hardly know it's there. But it's very clean, very comfortable (great bed), environmentally correct, and has a very good (if slow) restaurant attached to it. It has a unique, circular design so that the rooms are wedge-shaped, which makes the front of the room narrow, but the back of the room (where the beds are) quite roomy and wide. The landscaping is all drought-resistant and well maintained. The buildings are newer (3 years old), and well maintained. It's also a very good value, and has a nice pool and spa. Some sort of credit or discount at the attached restaurant for breakfast would be a nice touch. I'd definitely go back when traveling through this neck of the woods.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatyL749, Front Office Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

I would first like to thank you for staying with us; we truly value and appreciate your business. I would also like to thank you for taking the time for posting a review on your recent stay here. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Its a good place located about 10 miles from redding. Rooms are very nice and great for the price. Overall a great place to stay, but its strange that despite an in house restaurant they dont have in room dining option

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank htuteja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatyL749, Front Office Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

I would first like to thank you for staying with us; we truly value and appreciate your business. I would also like to thank you for taking the time for posting a review on your recent stay here. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your suggestions onto the restaurant. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our reurtn to San francisco from central Oregon. Drove past it the first time listening to the GPS as from the road it looked like an industrial complex or office complex. We were very pleasently supprised when we checked in. The front desk staff was very nice, thr room was ready. This hotel consists of several buildings that are not connected, the main buildings are each two story and circular in nature. We opped for the upgrade to a room that over looked the central bond complex. As the temperature was around 104F when we arrived we headed to the pool. The pool was clean and had pleanty of towels. The water was a nice temperature. There is a resturant attached, which we chose to use after driving most of the afternoon. The food was good, and the price was reasonable. Have the local wine, it was extremely inexpensive, and very good. The room was very large and comfortable. Could have used another chair in the sitting area. Would definately stay again if traveling in the area.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to look at the pond/water feature, or else you are looking at the highway and parking lot.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_603_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatyL749, Front Office Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to post such a review on your visit. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide clean and comfortable accommodations for all of our guests. I will pass your compliments onto the appropriate departments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We had a bad experience checking in, AC stopped working middle of night. Front office is not helpful. They are polite but not helpful.

Fitness center has only 2 machines which work.

If you are looking at a place to stay on the way not a bad property but do not expect anything more than a motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThandiChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatyL749, Front Office Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to post a review on your visit. We are always appreciative of feedback from our guests and the opportunity to make improvements. I would like to apologize for the air conditioning unit not working in your room. We were able to get this fixed so that this does not happen to another guest. I will address your concerns with the Guest Services department to ensure that these types of situations are handled differently in the future. Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews