We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelers Motel(Cottonwood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
190
131
78
26
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
131
78
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoodside grillsacramento rivereco friendly hotelhidden gemredding areasliding glasson site restaurantsecond floorfitness centercomfortable roomsroad tripwe've stayedroom was largelong drivefridge and microwaveboth timesvisit family
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The good:
Amazing king size bed, very comfortable.
pet friendly
nice grounds
The bad:
TV wouldn't turn on.
Staff's attitude

We checked in late one night stopping for a night of sleep during a long drive. Check in went fine. Had a little trouble finding which building our room was in. Not much signage that we saw, but it was dark. TV would not turn on or stay on. I just wanted a little down time watching tv after a long drive. Then at approx. 2:15am the phone rang, ignored it. It rang again at 2:27am. It was a wake up call. We NEVER asked for a wake up call! Breakfast was good.
Check out was not good. When we told the desk clerk that the TV didn't work, she said "you have to make sure its on channel 3 and jiggle the cables sometimes"
When we said we got to wrong wake up calls in the middle of the night her response was "sorry' and a shrug, she just let it go. It was barely an apology.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you so much for giving us your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I have passed on your comments about the customer service you did not receive to my front desk manager to ensure situations like this does not happen in the future. I also let my engineer manager know about the television issues you had so he can fix it. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Most amazing bed ever! Originally we were put in a room next to a really barky dog that the owners left alone in their room. The staff was super courteous and gave us a new room without any problems. the room was spotless. We love this strange oasis!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you so much for leaving your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I would have easily given this hotel/spa 4 stars but there are some things they could do a whole let better which would make anyone's stay much more enjoyable. But first, the good stuff. This is a pet-friendly place that is in a very nice setting. They did a great job in ensuring that all natural plants and trees remained and did so very nicely. We rented a suite and it was very comfortable, well furnished. Loved the fact that they had water saving toilets. Being so close to Shasta lake & the Sacramento River, I am sure they realize the importance of water conservation more than most.
-If you have bad knees, are confined to a wheel chair or are otherwise mobility challenged, make sure you request a first floor room. There are no elevators in this hotel and although it's only two floors, for some people even one flight of stairs can be a challenge.
-There is no lounge until after 5 pm. That's really not terrible, but something people may want to be aware of
-Sunday morning buffet: Terrible. Very, very slow service. Not very friendly service. Seemed a bit unorganized. Bill arrived at one table before the food. Mediocre food, at best
-The master bedroom in the suite was only separated from the rest of the room by a wall about halfway across the room. Did not allow for much privacy for a room that had a capacity of 4 adults. Again, may not be important for some.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I have passed your comments on to the management team so we can improve on these issues you listed. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The web site indicates that it is under new ownership. It is said to be light impact on the earth. It is a spa and convention center. The rooms are

either first or second floor and in groups interconnected with walk ways. Though it was lightly booked we were given a second floor room. This

meant that we had to carry our bags up two flights of stairs as there are no elevators. When we entered the room, it was very dark withn as the

room has very dark colors. There were lights on each side of the bed for reading. However, there wattage was about 40 watts and not enough for

my eyes. In fact, one of the lights was unplugged. A second light in the room was also unplugged. Even with all the lights on, it was very dark. We

sat by the window during the afternoon to be able to see our books.

The bed was large and firm and provided a good nights sleep. The bathroom has a skylight which was a circle about 15 inch across which was a

primary source of light. The amenities are provided by pump bottles which does indeed reduce the presence of small plastic bottles.

Wi-Fi was easy to connect to, but not secure and worked well.

If you like spartan atmosphere with minimal light, these rooms are the place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was a pleasant surprise. We booked through a third party so we did not know what to expect. The rooms were very nice. Lots of little details that we appreciated. The staff was overall nice, we called ahead to place a request and the girl was very friendly. The grounds were the best part. Loved the Swans!!
The only issue we had was the service in the restaurant for breakfast. There was only one server working who was also seating and bussing tables. Someone had called in sick apparently. She was doing her best but we waited 35-40 minutes and she never took our order. We had to leave and several other people walked out as well. I went to the front desk and let the girl know that they should get her some help but I got the impression that it wasn't a priority for her.
Other than that we had a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. I wanted to let you know I passed on your comments to our restaurant manager so this issue will not happen in the future. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews