We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super value”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I spent one night in this hotel on a road trip and found it to be one of the best I have ever used.

The room was huge with lots of space, a large bathroom and a lanai right outside the sliding door.

Totally comfortable and a reasonable rate

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comments on to my staff and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    122
    70
    25
    21
See reviews for
125
155
28
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Creek, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Gaia Hotel, located in Anderson Ca. has great potential. When looking at the website they have beautiful grounds, clean rooms, and a nice restaurant. Our first impression was the restaurant and lobby because we arrived early in the day. The restaurant- while having friendly service and good food- was overwhelmed with flies. The service was slow and at times nonexistent. The lobby was clean and inviting, overlooking one of the many courtyards on the property. The staff was friendly and upon finding that the room we were to have, had been trashed by a previous guest, they made sure to give us an upgrade.
The room was terribly dirty, with dirty carpets that were easily cleaned with water and a towel. One of the beds looked like it had been laid on (more on this). As you can see by the pictures the grounds have not been kept up. We had weeds on our deck, and a hornets nest in between the sliding door and the screen so that we couldn’t even use the patio.
After being in the room for 15 mins we decided that we did not want to stay there and called Priceline to fix the issues.
A Head Housekeeper came into look at the room and figure out what happened. She said that they only get 15 mins to clean each room, with a supervisor sticking their head in to double check. And because the dirt was between the beds it was never seen from the door. The hotel itself has recently been bought by new owners and they are trying to bring it back to the way it looked on the website. She informed us that they are a “Green” hotel and that they try to conserve everything they can. So if a room looks like only one bed was used- they double check the sheets and remake the bed without changing any of the linens.
As we walked the grounds that evening- we found where our original room would have been and what our “view” would have been- the parking lot!- glad we got the upgrade to look across at our neighbors and a side view of the pond. LOL.
One we got past the initial shock and looked around at our room and the grounds we found that it is a place we would return to. There are no single use bath supplies; instead there are dispensers to use so that garbage is not being produced with each visit. There was a sky light in the bathroom, reducing the need to turn on the lights. The large sliding window paired with the main window stopped the need for lights except after dark. All products and beds were high end earth friendly products that anyone will feel comfortable using. The beds were very comfortable and the pool was clean and easy to access.
They have an area that they have kept up the grounds on – this can be used for weddings and such. We walked down there and felt very relaxed. We even tried to come up with a family reunion plan so that we could rent the area.
By the second night, they had removed the wasp nest so that we could enjoy the small deck. We took our tea outside excited to sit in the cool evening air and enjoy the outdoors. We weren’t out there for 5 mins before we smelled something dead. Now because of the waist high weeds and plants 5 feet away, we thought maybe something had died and had not been discovered. So we looked around and found nothing. That was when I noticed one of those “rats check in – but don’t check out” boxes right next to our door!!! Gross!!! So the outside seating area was a bust…
Gaia has a long way to go to make the guest happy again, but I think they will get there. My chief complaint was that their website and Priceline’s link showed an immaculate property that anyone would think was a great deal at $100.00 a night. To me, that is false advertising.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nank1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. I have shared your comments with my entire management team so we can correct the issues you came about during your stay. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is our third stay here this year and we seem to enjoy it more each time. We were here for 5 nights on a business trip. The room has everything we need. We always ask for a room on the ground floor so we can sit right outside our room and enjoy the beautiful setting. The beds are so comfortable and we always sleep so good here. This is one of our favorite hotels to stay at and will always stay here when we are in the area. The staff is very nice and always helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

So this was a strange hotel/spa. It has the potential to be a real high end place but it looks as if budget woes or owner indifference has fallen by the wayside. The rooms are nice and the architecture beautiful - but nobody has tended the landscaping in some time and the grounds are full of weeds. I found it interesting that they were painting the on-site restaurant when that money would have been much better spend paying someone to give the grounds a once over. There was a beautiful wine barrel outside our door that was designated for recycle but someone had written on it in sharpy (in super poor penmanship)"Recycle cans and bottles here" - Pretty darn tacky. The pool was small but nice.
Customer service was also lacking - We asked for a menu for the on-site restaurant and they told us that nobody was around to bring us on (it was 7pm). Also, they had no premium cable or even a tv guide (or knowledge of which channel displayed the cable listings) so in the evening there wash';t much of a choice for our kiddos to watch. Also, no pay-per-view and no dvd players available for rent or to check out. Housekeeping did not replace our coffee (that just doesn't work with my family) HOWEVER, the place costs $100/nt which, for the accommodations, I felt a fair value. The onsite restaurant had a good selection and the place was classy - but the service left a lot to be desired. Breakfast there was a marathon wait for service and food - and it was not busy. Our waitress forgot half of the things we asked for. Maybe it was just a poor waitress but our dinner experience there really didn't have much better service. I would definitely stay in this place again. But the thought of anyone booking the Gaia for their spa experience is a little laughable. The y have no elevator (which is hardly a deal breaker for us) but if you have physical limitations you might want to book a 1st floor room

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mary,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on tripadvisor. I would like apologize on behalf the team on how your stay was with us. I will personally talk to the heads of departments about your stay with us and how we can make sure that this never happens again in the future. Soon after the painting is done we will start our next stage of development which will include all of the landscaping being redone on the grounds of the hotel.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with our hotel, we enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
253 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Gaia Hotel and Spa at the beginning of May while on a trip to Oregon. As previous reviewers stated, this is a two story hotel with no elevator. We had a room on the second floor with a view of the fountain. The room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. The bed and sheets were very comfy. After getting cleaned up, we ate dinner at the hotel restaurant. They had a great menu and service. We will definitely stay here again when in the area. I will suggest the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: This is a two story hotel with no elevator. If stairs are an issue for you, be sure to request a 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beasley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and giving us your feedback and rating us. We are so ecstatic you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is right on I5 so we were concerned it would be a noisy stay. We were delighted to find maybe the most quiet hotel room we've stayed in. We chose a room overlooking the water feature on the second floor. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable. Be warned there is no elevator so if you have mobility issues you will be staying on the first floor. Even though there was a conference going on in the meeting room across the yard, the vibe was decidedly peaceful. The wi-fi was good. Breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was a nice buffet but overpriced at around $16 so we chose a different restaurant in Redding the next morning. (Hence the deduction of one star.). We would definitely stay here again, a good bargain for the quiet and comfort.

Room Tip: Choose second floor, facing the water feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita N, Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review about your stay with us. Our location puts us in quick access to the freeway but we set far enough away to not pick up all the freeway noise like other hotels in the area. We are looking forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We returned to Anderson for the funeral of a close relative. From the moment we a arrived, the Gaia staff to a person made us feel welcome in kind, considerate and cordial ways. The rooms are efficient with clean lines, comfortable beds and a fairly quiet environment. It's located conveniently near Interstate 5, but we heard very little traffic sound. The grounds were well-maintained and the restaurant offered a varieties menu at average prices. We plan to return there when we next visit Reddng

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ursourco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and giving us your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. On behalf of our entire team we want to say sorry for your loss. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anderson
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
11.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
8.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#3 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Anderson
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 4125 Riverside Pl, Anderson, CA 96007-2774 (Formerly Gaia Shasta Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Anderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel Anderson
Anderson Gaia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing