We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”

Ebbetts Pass Scenic By-way
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Angels Camp
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We made the drive from Murphy's to South Lake Tahoe on Hwy 4 and really loved Ebbetts Pass. There was lots of smoke in the area from fires near Yosemite, but this did not stop us. We only saw about six other cars during our drive and loved the view and seclusion of this drive.

It was one of our favorite parts of our entire trip. The drive itself was fun and all the turnouts and small lakes were stunning. We took our time, drove slow and stopped often. Mosquito lake was beautiful and serene.

We definitely recommend this drive to anyone who loves nature and a fun drive combined together.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PepeTravels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The views are breath taking”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The smell of the air and the open road,I have enjoyed many rides over the pass's in California. There is something about taking that ride,being able to pull off and look out over the valley of trees below with the wind blowing the smell of fresh pines..it honestly feels like heaven on earth and makes you feel like such a little piece of this vast world.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angels Camp, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I MOVED HERE”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This is the most beautiful hwy in this part of calif. from big trees state park to the biggest burger around at sues cafe in the ceder ridge center. i work here doing all the water plants on the pass and to taste the water is like drinking melted fresh snow.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank refugerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinecrest CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loop drive”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Every year we take a drive over Sonora Pass and then northon 395 and back over Ebbits Pass. Then we go back to sonora Pass. Both passes in a day's drive make for quite a view of California. Amazing day!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Great Motorcycle Ride!”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Riding over this beautiful pass in August is a thrilling experience and I am sure it would be wonderful in any type of vehicle. There was still snow on the higher peaks and the weather was absolutely perfect. Take a picnic and plan to eat lunch in one of the spectacular meadows.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Serenitygardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ebbetts Pass Scenic By-way also viewed

 

Been to Ebbetts Pass Scenic By-way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing