We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Gold Rush Country!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Gold Rush Country!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a little Gem of a hotel. We stayed in the very spacious King Suite by the pool for one night, and I wish we could have stayed a few more night! Great little amenities like a makeup mirror for the ladies, a germ free new kind of remote for the TV (remember that article about hotel remotes being full of germs? Well, Best Western apparently has that solved!), a mini fridge and microwave, and separate sink from the toilet and bath! The free breakfast had something for everyone, including fresh fruit and yogurt. The coffee could have been stronger - but hey - I drink espresso, so I'm not the best judge!
Lots to do in the area - check out the giant redwoods in Big Trees, and the many caves and gold mines in the area.

Room Tip: The King Suite is just the thing for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
I would like to personally thank you, and all who take the time to acknowledge myself and my staff's efforts. We do indeed try to provide guests with a great experience. It really helps when you can share some good news with the staff. They work hard and it is nice to know that it is appreciated. Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    152
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
129
149
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have to travel to Ironstone Vineyards 1-2 times per year for work. I always stay at the Best Western Cedar Inn. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. Ryan at the front desk was particularly helpful on my most recent stay. I had to ship equipment back from the hotel via FedEx, and he was a great help in making this happen. Thank you, Ryan!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigIdeas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
455 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Visiting Angels Camp during a trip to the Gold Rush country and was not disappointed in my choice of a hotel in Angels Camp. Check-in was somewhat business-like, but I found the staff generally friendly and, as I had made a reservation, check-in was fast and easy. My room was surprisingly large, with a separate sitting room with couch, large desk and a comfortable reading chair. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom area was very clean with all the extras, M/W, frig, coffee maker, etc. Bathroom was large and clean. Free, fast internet and a large TV in the sitting area. As I left early in the morning, I did not visit the complimentary breakfast. The pool looked nice and was being heavily used in the hot afternoon when I arrived. In all, I found this Best Western one of the best I've stayed in. I would definitely stay here again as I pass through Angels Camp.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texasrepublichistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I really liked it here. The rooms aren't fancy - but ours was surprisingly spacious (I think perhaps because we booked an accessible room by mistake!) with 2 beds and an enormous walk in shower. There's one computer in reception which has free internet access and I found the staff helpful and polite. On first glance, the breakfast area looked unappetising and I wasn't holding out much hope, but I was definitely impressed. There's a choice of cereals, fruit, a waffle maker and muffins, all self-service, and the banana muffin was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7CR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have stayed at many Best Westerns but this was the worst! The front desk people were very rude. Things started off on the wrong foot the instant we arrived and checked in. The front desk clerk acted like we were disturbing him. When I told him we had reservations he said, "first of all you can start by moving that car!" When I asked for an explaination he told us that the covered area in front of the door was not for checking in but a drive thru, we needed to park in back and walk up to the front to check in. He was very rude and I pointed out that there were no signs explaining this. We stayed two nights and had no maid service, the carpet was dirty with dark stains, the pool was filthy and we had ants in one of the suit rooms. The owner/manager said he would reduce the room charge but in reality it was the normal discount for a Sunday night. We would never stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
I am truly very sorry you were so unhappy with your visit to our hotel. We do our best to make sure all guests enjoy their stay with us. This is evident in our rankings, over 4 out of 5 stars and # 1 overall. Your comments are taken seriously and discussed with staff at meetings in an effort to further improve guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Overall, a good place to stay while visiting the Gold Country. Our first time to the area and pleasantly surprised at the hospitality. Check-in was great. Staff (Paige) was very friendly and helpful in recommending sites to see. Room was clean and quite spacious. There is a full bathroom which is big, and a second sink area in the room where the coffeepot is kept.
Pool was a must in the 100+ heat and was clean and well-maintained. Beds were comfortable and the nights were quiet. Stayed on the first floor by the pool which was nice.
Location is good being on Hwy 49 as a base to exploring other areas. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seashell819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The Best Western Plus Cedar Inn and Suites in Angels Camp is a great place to stay in California's Gold Country. We spent the day in nearby Murphys and then took a short drive to Angels Camp to spend the night.at this hotel. it was easy to find on Highway 49. The rooms and facilities were very clean and well maintained. Our room was large and quiet. There was a family with 2 kids in the room next door and we could not hear them through the walls. It was a hot afternoon when we arrived and we jumped into the pool The water was cool but the pool and pool area was clean. It is a nice hotel close to Murphys, Columbia and Sonora.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angels Camp
6.5 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
11.4 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Address: 444 S Main St, Angels Camp, CA 95222-9328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Angels Camp hotel is central to California's historic gold country, with easy access to the Bear Valley Ski Resort. Situated in the heart of Angels Camp, the full-service BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites is convenient to gold rush towns, museums, wineries, galleries, antique shops and Giant Sequoia forest. Nearby activities include golf, skiing, whitewater rafting, boating, fishing, horseback riding and hiking. Guests can choose a well-appointed balcony room with fireplace, or a two-room suite with in-room spa--each room featuring satellite television with free HBO®, high-speed Internet access and mini-refrigerator. The hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast, outdoor pool & spa, exercise facility and guest laundry room. Pets are welcome; must call hotel directly to book pet friendly rooms. The BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites is a short drive from the Moaning Caverns and Mercer Caverns, both offering guided tours and gold panning. Other nearby attractions include Angels Camp Museum, Columbia State Historic Park, Calaveras Big Trees State Park and the Bear Valley Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cedar Hotel Angels Camp
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn And Suites
Best Western Angels Camp
Best Western Cedar Hotel
Angels Camp Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing