We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant one- or two-night location; 'don't think I'd enjoy a week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WorldMark Angels Camp
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paradise, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant one- or two-night location; 'don't think I'd enjoy a week”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were one of two couples traveling together to explore the Mother Lode. We stayed at WorldMark/Wyndham Angels Camp for one night. One couple had a three-bedroom unit, one had a one-bedroom unit.

We've stayed at a wide variety of timeshares from Florida to California and Hawaii. This one was nothing spectacular. The setting is pleasant, a hilltop overlooking a golf course on one side, but the maintenance seemed a bit lacking. Our units both had enjoyed recent renovations and the interior decor was pleasant. Unfortunately, little things like trash pickup seem a bit lacking. Looking down on the hillside from our unit was a soiled baby diaper; I'd think a cleaning staff member should have seen it if they looked out the window as we did.

We were in the Wyndham section of this newly-merged facility (at least, that's what I was told by staff). The WorldMark units (again, I was told) look over the golf course which is a much nicer view. The three-bedroom unit we had was a two-storey unit; two bedrooms and a bath, kitchen, living area on the lower floor (the second); master bedroom/bath/sitting area on third floor. The one-bedroom was on the first floor and, as seems typical of other World Mark resorts we've stayed out (think Kihei, on Maui) the lowest floor units have really dark entrances due to the building's design. It's rather like heading down into a cavern to get to the front door. Fortunately, once inside, the sunshine from the living room side brings some light into the unit. Windows looking out into this "dark area" aren't very inviting, though.

Kitchen was well-appointed with everything needed for preparing quick or more involved meals. Thanks for the extras like salt, pepper, coffee and microwave popcorn!

We did not dip our toes into the pool--but families seemed to enjoy it and use it happily. If you're not into splashing/happy swim activity noises, ask for a unit in the building not across the street from the pool.

We weren't interested in purchasing/investigating a timeshare purchase so we quickly made that clear to the salespeople in the front lobby. Unlike some timeshare places we've stayed as a "hotel" stay, here you are forced to interface with the sales staff--in this case to get your parking pass. Why not just let the check-in folks get you your pass? I know, because they want to let the salespeople have at you for a few minutes...oh well, I guess that's to be expected.

A pleasant short stay--not sure if there's enough going at this resort to keep me here longer. There are lots of activities within an hour's drive as well as historic areas to explore--but I wouldn't spend a lot of time at the unit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ukalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    84
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
70
84
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with friends who are in the Wyndham system. There were ten of us, and the others had a 3 bedroom condo nextdoor. We found the location perfect for sightseeing in Murphys, Yosemite, Big Trees State Park, Ebbetts Pass, and pontooning on Lake Melones. Good restaurants are closeby as well as antique stores right up the road in Angels Camp and Sonora. The accomodations were newly remodeled and WAY above our expectations compared to other condos we've stayed in. Each unit was furnished with enough dishware/cookware for 10, and the front desk staff was happy to provide additional linens and other household supplies as needed through the week. The guys also enjoyed the golf course discounts while the gals enjoyed the scenic view walking around the neighborhood. A great destination place for friends.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are noisy due to the parking lot close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebbieB997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Dundee, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This resort seems to be one of the "overlooked" places in the Wyndham inventory, which was good for us. We booked 2 weeks in a 3 bedroom unit in building D. We were told that the Wyndham buildings did not have the golf course view. The majority of the resort is still Worldmark.

Comments about the unit: The 3 BD unit is at the end of the building, and the room itself is up one flight of stairs, and the master bedroom is upstairs within the unit. Very nice to be separate from the main floor. Overall, very spacious unit, and being an end unit, there are lots of windows. Two twins in one room, queen in the other, queen murphy bed in the living room, and king in master. Two bathrooms that were decent size, but the pocket door in the master was a bit temperamental. Kitchen appliances didn't appear to be updated, but they were functional. We did have an issue with a leaking pipe from the air conditioner, but used a towel to keep it in check. Nice balcony off the living room with table & 4 chairs, plus a gas grill (bonus!!). Terrible view of scrub and a street that leads to the golf course. Small balcony off the master with 2 chairs, and a better view towards the mountains.

Comments about the resort: Relatively smooth check in process. Beware of the tax that the town of Angels Camp charges. For our 2 week stay it was just over $200. There was pressure to sign up for the 'owners update', which we did not attend. The staff was helpful to give us ideas for places to visit and things to do based on what we wanted to do. There are lots of coupons for local businesses, and don't forget to stop in the Angels Camp Visitor Center for the VIP tag which provides additional discounts. The resort has 2 nice pools, one tennis court (so-so) and a basketball court. They are in the process of renovating many of the units, so there were lots of big storage units and construction equipment around the grounds. We were not bothered by any of the renovation noise.

This location is pretty much out in the middle of nowhere, but it is located on a nice golf course (Greenhorn). We played three times, and took advantage of the VIP discount on the golf as well as the coupon for the restaurant. The main downtown Angels Camp is picturesque, but a bit run down and not many places were open. For groceries, we frequented the smaller market on the north side of town (rather than the Save Mart), but having 2 markets close by was great to purchase food to cook meals in the unit.

Since we were in town for 2 weeks, we also booked a 2 night stay at the Wyndam Canterbury in San Francisco. I will review that separately.

We are still on this vacation, so pictures will be posted when we get home.

Room Tip: Wyndham units (as of this review) are only on one side of the resort, not with a golf course view. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pineapple9699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in a 1 bedroom unit of this hotel (timeshare) for a week in late May. We chose this resort because of its proximity to Yosemite and Lake Tahoe. During our stay, we used this resort as a base to explore the surrounding areas; we spent 2 days at Yosemite (2 hours away), 2 days at Lake Tahoe (2 hours away) and 2 days around Angels Camp. Overall, it was a great experience. The check-in process ran smoothly and our only complaint (and I say that loosely) was that the staff was "too" friendly and helpful since we were absolutely exhausted when we arrived and we really didn't want to hear about all the things the resort and its surrounding offered. Any other time, this "orientation" would obviously be a huge plus. The unit itself was lovely. It was clean, spacious and well stocked. The kitchen even included a sampling of spice packets which were awesome for flavoring the few meals we made while we were there. We had a obstructed view of the golf course but it was still very pleasant to sit out on the balcony and enjoy a few cocktails in the evenings. The town of Angels Camp is cute and has many stores and restaurants available for your shopping and dining needs. This includes several local specialty shops as well as many common chain stores such as Savemart, Starbucks and Rite Aid. Our complaints about the resort were relatively minor. First, there was a huge, ugly dumpster placed right in the parking lot next to where we parked our car. It was not a big problem but if I managed the resort, I would definitely find a better place to put it so that the guests were not coming face to face with it every time they entered or left their unit. Second, the bed linens (sheets and blankets) were not comfortable at all. They were thin, rough and scratchy and I ended up using my little travel blanket as a buffer between my skin and the provided linens. Other than those little issues, we were very pleased with the resort and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jhack603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We booked a timeshare months in advance and were PROMISED a great view.....well, 20 feet from our back deck was a gigantic mound of dirt blocking the horizon except for a patch of roof on some otehr building. I overheard the desk people tell some couples who checked in after us that they were getting a wonderful view of the golf course! When I spoke with the front desk, they basically blew me off with the shrugged shoulder look. ANyway, the unit had been remodeled, with typically dull decor. The stove was unlevel, the door to the deck squeaked, and a smoke detector was going off when we opened ther front door. The maintenace guy was there within minutes of our call and replaced batteries. It was great to have a fireplace but the place smelled of propane after we lit it and decided against running it. Again, maintenance was right there to check for leaks.....the maintenance guys should be running that whole place. Great to have a washer/dryer in the unit and the bed was very confortable. At night, the window coverings (blinds) did not darken the room and the light from the parking lot was annoying. There's a couple of pools on property and coffee in the lobby (most of the time). Free access to computers and parking right outside the unit. All in all a good stay, but when I'm promised something, I expect to get it. I keep my word and so should they. Oh, obe nore thing, they charge you what I think they call a "room use tax" which, for our one bedroom was $91.70 for the week. When I asked about this, they blamed it on the state and said that guests are to pay the difference in tax the state loses since you are paying less for the room than if you stayed at a hotel. SO, in other words, the GREAT deal we get because we are timeshare owners is assessed a penalty because we didn't pay retail for a hotel. Oh, yeah, sign me up for more weeks.

Room Tip: Get it in writing that you're going to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WeOwnAFatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Once you enjoy the comfort of a large unit with full kitchen, fireplace and separate bedroom you won't ever want to go back. The resort is off the main highway on the edge of a golf course, so it's quiet. There is a nice pool at the rec center. There are no restaurants on site but you have a choice within a short drive. The second floor units have the master bedroom on an upper level, and there is no vent to it -- only a ceiling fan. Since hot air rises, this means that the master tends to be difficult to cool on a hot day without freezing the quarters downstairs. It's great when you need the furnace, though.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister_Boffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Four members of the family stayed here recently, as a central place to do several day trips in the area, including San Francisco and Yosemite, both around 2 hours. They are renovating the units, and the unit we stayed in had been recently renovated and felt updated, etc. They could use some lighting over the sink but otherwise the kitchen was well equipped for cooking, and the gas grill on the patio deck came in handy as well. Nearby there's a well stocked and reasonably priced supermarket as well as a drug store. On the way to Yosemite there are several simple but good restaurants (Cross County Cafe, and a restaurant with a great view in Priest, all by itself on top of a hill). Nice pool and hot tub as well as pool table and ping pong available in the club house. Yah, the timeshare sales pitch was a bit annoying but they eventually understand the word "no thanks". Take in a tour of the Ironstone vineyard in Murphy - our tour guide, Calvin, was very knowledgeable and interesting. Not far away, the Calaveras Big Tree state park and Columbia State Park were worth a visit as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angels Camp
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
7.0 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
11.3 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
395 reviews
10.9 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Angels Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Angels Camp

Property: WorldMark Angels Camp
Address: 123 Selkirk Ranch Rd, Angels Camp, CA 95222-9593
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — WorldMark Angels Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your WorldMark Angels Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Angels Camp Hotel Angels Camp
Worldmark Hotel Angels Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing