We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fascinating”

Angels Camp Museum and Carriage House
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Angels Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“fascinating”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We wandered into the museum thinking it was just a small exhibit, and we'd be in and out in 30 mins. This place is huge...there are buildings behind the main museum. We could have spent an entire day there talking with the staff. If you're interested in the history of a California gold mining town, this place is not-to-miss.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravBugs0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    17
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Orientation to the Gold Country”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very inexpensive introduction to the motherlode area and particularly the connection of Angels Camp to Mark Twain (Samuel Clemmons) and the early gold rush history of the area. Well presented exhibits and extensive collection of 18th Century and early 19th Century artifacts. Very educational and interesting. Not crowded and one can proceed at their own pace. Spend as much or as little time as desired

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pacuarecholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We recently visited this museum and found that it contained much more than we expected. The docents were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed this museum very much.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another good trip”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Another way to see how this area developed and why the gold rush played such a huge part in California history. Angels Camp is a great little town. You can go then to Sonora/Jamestown and ride the old train which is another wonderful trip for adults and children alike.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Calaveras County Museum Complex in San Andreas is MUCH BETTER ... HONEST!”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We did both Museums on the same day, and we were amazed at how much better the one in San Andreas was. It’s just a few miles north on 49. You can’t see it from the road, but you park on Main Street a half block north of Hwy 49, across the street from the Black Bart Inn.

ANGELS CAMP MUSEUM REVIEW
Their building of small items looks more like an antique store. There are hardly any labels or interesting stories on anything. And a lot of things are from other countries, with no explanation as to how they are connected to the area.

The Rock and Mineral display is almost a joke. They are all just laying around on the ground outside between buildings. There is not one display card telling the name of even one rock.

Carriage barn is really nice. Never saw so many carriages in one place. They even have an authentic old covered wagon.

Their only bathroom has the kind of faucets that don’t stay on one second. So it’s impossible to wash hands with soap.

Model trains were not running.

Too many things do not have a card saying where they are from.

None of the ore cars are on tracks. At Daffodil Hill the ore cars are on tracks. Even saw one on tracks in someone’s front yard. Their ore cars are just sitting on the ground. Doesn’t look right.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angels Camp Museum and Carriage House also viewed

 

Been to Angels Camp Museum and Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing