We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outing for a hot summer day”
Review of California Caverns

California Caverns
Ranked #4 of 12 things to do in Angels Camp
Attraction details
Mountain View, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great outing for a hot summer day”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very interesting caverns and off the beaten track. The pleasant, scenic drive to get there is half the fun. Well run tours that are very informative, entertaining and educational. Nice grounds too for relaxing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank pacuarecholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trail of Lights tour”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I thought the tour guide Christine was awesome..She offered to take pics for me and volunteered herself many times and told me where to stand..She was cheerful all the way and was very friendly..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank noeljoe85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Try the Expedition”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our group of 6 boys and 2 adults signed up for the Mammoth Cave Expedition. I wimped out and took the regular tour. The boys spent about 45 minutes getting changed into their coveralls and knee pads and getting briefed on what to expect. The boys were 11 and 12 years old. They LOVED their tour and had no problems with any of the crawling and squirming through openings. They didn't get really dirty and wet until the very end of the tour when it was time to come get changed anyway.

A great thing about the Mammoth Cave Expedition is that there is always another easier way into each room if you start to get claustrophobic or look at an opening and your mind just says, "no way."

The Cavern is large with lots of different rooms and my tour guide did a great job of pointing out the interesting features in each room and telling the history behind the cavern. There's even a room with a feature called the bridalveil where they hold weddings once in a while.

I've been to Mammoth Cave in Kentucky and Carlsbad Caverns in New Mexico. Nothing compares to Carlsbad Caverns and this cave isn't as enormous as Mammoth but it's very interesting in it's own way and I would recommend it for a visit if you like caves.

The store is worth a visit too. I was very impressed with its selection of books on the outdoors. They offer gold panning in the summer and geodes you can crack yourself.

If you're with a group, California Cavern offers a nice campsite on a grassy field near a seasonal stream with picnic benches and BBQs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome fun!”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The caverns have to be experienced. the are full of beauty and it is so interesting to see how everything is so different when looking around.

Helpful?
2 Thank Steph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“BEST cave in the area!!!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

I have been to all the caves and this one take the prize! Has quite a few chambers, the most in the entire county and very informative and funny staff. You will get history AND comedy involved in this tour. This is must for anyone interested in caving. They also have some fun looking excursions that I would like to try. One in particular is where you put on a jumpsuit and go missing around in the different holes and areas of the caves.

Helpful?
4 Thank Angelfire1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed California Caverns also viewed

 

Been to California Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing