We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of Gold Country Inn

Gold Country Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gold Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is definitely not a "three star (diamond, what have you)" property. Once again, I am trapped in a rating by the wide gap between "average" (3) and "poor" (2). What's the difference between "poor" and "terrible" anyway? I could not in good conscience rate this motel "poor" overall, but it's not very good, either. As other reviews indicate, it is terribly outdated; popcorn ceiling, funky heater/air (though it worked well on a warm May afternoon), small tv with mediocre picture, no amenities other than coffee in the room. And, paper thin walls; could hear conversations at normal volume levels in the room above and the ceiling creaked when the people there walked around. Carpet was torn in a couple of spots (not a big deal for me but it would likely bother many people). There's not much that could be done to fix some of these issues other than tearing the place down and rebuilding, which isn't going to happen.

There were some positives. Good value; $70 weekend rate in early May, discounted through hotels.com. Room was large and clean; the bathroom included a changing area and vanity separate from the tub, shower and toilet area; larger overall than some fancy hotels. There's a good family style restaurant next door that offers a 10% discount for guests of the motel. The staff was friendly and promptly responded to my sole request for assistance when I couldn't figure out how to operate the antiquated wall heating and cooling unit. I have nothing but respect for the many hard working non native English speaking motel operators, but it was refreshing in some respects to find an old school motel evidently staffed by the owners themselves, who spoke perfect English. (They happened to be white, but this comment isn't about race; African/Mexican/Asian-American staff would have elicited the same observation). Overall, I agree with the comment of ElGuapo49 (wonder if he's really that good looking-for the non Spanish speaking reader, "guapo" roughly translates to "hot" or "sexy" for a man): "older 'Mom&Pop' motel ready for a remodel but priced accordingly." He gave it two overall-but the substance of his review doesn't equate to "poor." Let's give it 2 1/2 bubbles.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dscgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed here while visiting Big Trees State Park and before heading down to Yosemite. Location in Angel's Camp had several restaurants close by. Staff was friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Overall a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IronLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

In the past we were willing to accept the drab look of the place because the service was friendly, the rooms were clean, and the price was right for us. But during our last two stays we were particularly disappointed in the lack of cleanliness of the sheets, blankets, bathrooms, and carpeting. There is no continental breakfast, pool, spa, or anything much other than rooms. I was bitten by bed bugs, and the people smoking outside and the noise of them partying on the patios outside and on our side of the building settled it for us--we are not going back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delancy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is an older motel, no frills, no pool, no exercise room, no bar, no restaurant, just a basic roadside motel. The people in the lobby were pleasent. Expectations should be in line with price, I paid only $65.00 AAA rate in the peak of summer when the nearby Best Western was $100.00 so trying to balance my review in light of good value. The room was clean in the sense that the bathroom was very clean, the sheets and towels appeared fresh too. However I am surprised that the other reviews on the interent are as kind as they are. This place is very past it's prime and so worn out that it is impossible to make things look clean. Ink stains on the sheets, holes in the lampshade, holes in the wall, discolored mirror, the smallest TV I have ever seen in a hotel, cheap and/or worn out stuff all around. There was no cell phone reception. While the sign out front claimed free wireless internet the signal was so weak that it kept disconnecting and became very frustrating. There is a smoking section right in front of the lobby with cigarette butts all over. If you stay here come with low expectations, arrive late, leave early and keep some cash in your pocket fine. If you are planing on spending any "quality time" at the hotel other than getting a shower and sleep I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElGuapo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I wouldn't stay at this place again. It was clean and comfortable enough, and not a bad price. But the owners are obviously cutting corners wherever they can.

The "hot" water is not hot - they have the temperature turned way down at the water heater. The lights are so dim in the bath/mirror area that guys can't see to shave and forget women doing makeup.

There are absolutely NO lights on the exterior of the building. I left early in the morning in October and when I opened my room door to go out, it was TOTALLY black outside. This is a very, very unsafe situation - not only contributes to theft from your vehicle, but invites personal attacks as well.

I would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papabrewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Thank you, innkeepers -- for the cotton bedspreads, rather than the usual shiny nylon/scratchy underside bedspreads, and for the lovely Monet-inspired wallpaper borders. Great to have a little fridge and a microwave in the room. My husband and I "lived" at this motel for a few days and we were impressed by the cleanliness of our room. Our room was quiet enough but next time we'll ask for our room to be at the back of the motel (away from the road) on the north side so we won't hear the trucks making deliveries to Rod's Diner early in the morning. Didn't have time to try Rod's Diner (next door) but we will, next time! Our room was a great value for $65. Gold Country Inn deserves your business!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grammargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Turned up to ask for a bed for the night on route from Yosemite to Tahoe and was greeted by a very friendly front desk person who did us a great deal and was very helpful. Even told us that as UK AA members we were entitled to the AAA discount without us asking for it. Helped us with suggestions for Dinner and Breakfast. Rodz grille is right next door for traditional American diner style food which was quick and reasonable and huge portions. Sink in the bathroom was a bit damaged but generally the room was well maintained and clean and bigger than expected. Bed was comfortable and for what we needed it was fine. The cafe recommended for breakfast (Main Street cafe??) opposite the Best Western up the road was good. Overall, convenient and good value.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WendyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angels Camp
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
229 reviews
6.4 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
#3 of 5 in Angels Camp
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jumping Frog Motel
Jumping Frog Motel
#5 of 5 in Angels Camp
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Country Inn

Address: 720 S. Main Street, Angels Camp, CA 95222
Region: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Hotel Class:2 star — Gold Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Angels Camp minutes from Big Tree State Park, Moaning Cavern Park, Ironstone Vineyards, and just a short drive to Yosemite National Park. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers pet friendly rooms with free wireless internet and parking for your boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Angels Camp
Angels Camp Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing