We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local spot for Indian food fans”

Ambrosia India Bistro
Ranked #15 of 70 Restaurants in Aptos
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
317 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good local spot for Indian food fans”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Very decent Indian food. We've eaten here a number of times. There is not much Indian cuisine in SC. This is very acceptable unless you want to drive over the hill.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank soifdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corralitos, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

While certainly not an expert on Indian food, I do enjoy different cuisines from time to time. So we went into Ambrosia the other evening.

After being greeted and seated promptly, the first thing we noticed was the wine list. Now that's something I do know and more importantly enjoy. They had a number of great wines all reasonably priced. Good start.

We ordered a number of dishes from curried chicken to Lamb and Egg Plant and were impressed. Nice spice profiles without being too hot.

At the end of the evening dinner for 4 with an appetizer and a nice bottle of white wine came to only 100-

This place is worth a try. I found the staff was very helpful in describing and recommending dishes. This is definitely on the list for return visits.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pacair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth The Trip”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Superlative Indian food in a beautiful room. Every single dish was superbly crafted and presented---scrumptious: chicken tikka masala, vegetable curry, garlic naan, tandoori chicken, saffron rice, ginger/fenugreek shrimp, tikka masala salmon, and lamb curry (rogan josh). Very attentive service, too. Has instantly become one of our favorites whenever we're in the Santa Cruz area. Everyone in our family had a great time, and we'll be back now that we know where it is!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Review is for take out meal.
1st: There is a 10% discount for take out food.
2nd: Food is packed very well.
3rd: Food quality is very very good. Every item is rich and super delicious.

Best Indian food for miles!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
190 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lunch buffet a great value and delicious, just don't be late!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you're hungry between 11:30a -2:30p the lunch buffet at Ambrosia is a winner. There was a good variety and we enjoyed just about everything we tried.

The restaurant is clean and the service was nice, my only complaint would be that they started taking down the buffet soon after we arrived at 2:15. The restaurant was not busy so I was a little disappointed at being made to feel so rushed. As a restaurant, if you accept new seatings for your buffet, at least let those guests enjoy it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvMCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ambrosia India Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Ambrosia India Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing