We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing getaway.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aptos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Aptos B&B and Inns
Idaho Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
“Amazing getaway.”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Historic farmhouse, tasteful antiques,gourmet breakfast, peaceful gardens among redwood groves made our stay at sand rock farm an amazing memory. Kris is warm and accommodating, adding unexpected touches like fresh flowers and homegrown raspberries to our breakfast. She is also an expert on the best restaurants and places to see. It feels like going home for the holidays!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    6
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This was one of the most relaxing, peaceful, tranquil places I've stayed. We were warmly greeted upon our arrival and shown to our room, which contained fresh flowers. The host is gracious. Each morning starts out splendidly arriving to the dining room table which looks out into the garden , and birds feeding just outside the window. We were served a healthy gourmet breakfast which begins with fresh fruit locally grown, complimented with classical jazz softly playing in the back ground. Truly a special way to start the day. The grounds are beautiful with various fountains locations on the property, many wonderful spots to sit and read, or just enjoy the flavor and scents of the Redwood, and Eucalyptus trees.
The location is minutes away from several beaches, and the nearby towns offer a wide variety of eateries from the simple fast food to gourmet dining.

Simply Magnificent!

Room Tip: Each room is unique - can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful place to unwind and rejuvenate. I recently stayed on an Sunday night (Mother's Day) in Spring. Surprisingly, the entire place was empty and I had the whole house to myself. What a treat!

Gardens - In the afternoon I sat in the upper and lower garden areas. Both gardens have small fountains with sitting areas. The lower garden is shaded by a redwood tree and it is moist and cool. The upper garden was in full bloom, with a gorgeous tulip tree, bush roses, regular roses and many others.

Room - My room was located in the corner of the building, overlooking the upper garden, directly over the kitchen. I didn't hear any kitchen noises.... I was happy that my room was quiet and serene as I am a light sleeper.

Service - Excellent service. When I checked in, they asked if I had any special requests. Wow - My wishes were fulfilled were exactly as I requested and delivered on time. Kris is awesome. She really cares for her guests and tirelessly works to please them. In my case, she bent over backwards to satisfy my retreat schedule (I commuted to Mt Madonna).

I highly recommend Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast and I look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askwildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We had a great time at Sand Rock. Beautiful place, great food and fun people. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BigDipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This was our first time to a B&B. I wanted a weekend getaway and he chose the city. In Aptos, Ca, there is the most wonderful place that you could ever imagine. Our weekend is in the middle of the week, Tues. and Wed, so we had the place to ourselves. SOOOOO BEAUTIFUL!! You turn off the street and enter this jungle of green with flowers every where. Ten acres of beauty. We were greeted by Claire, who showed us to our room.

Kris, the owner, is just delightful. She helped us with our plans for the day and recommended wonderful dinner places. Plus helped us with an adventure to the aquarium. We walked the grounds finding so many wonderful things. White wisteria growing out our one entrance to our room. We had the Hidden garden room, three ways to enter, all gorgeous. We did not have a jacuzzi in our room, ours was in the hidden garden. Flowers, champagne, and peaceful all around. Does not get any better than this.

Breakfast was an experience all by its self. You will not think that you are getting shorted, everything is plentiful. Everything was delicious with great coffee.

If you are looking for a little getaway, honeymoon spot, wedding place or vacation, this is it. I have already told my family that I'm ready to go back. The only down side is that our stay was not longer.

Room Tip: Hidden Garden Room, Large, Quiet, w/ hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannetteMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Very very comfortable bed! It felt like home away from home and the owners are very friendly and personable. Location is great- very close to Santa Cruz and Monterey/Carmel. I would recommend this place for anyone who wants a quiet, private getaway in a cozy country home close to the beach

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britcush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Upon arrival, you're greeted by Kris, the owner. She's a warm and welcoming person. She makes you feel at home. Atmosphere is casual, warm and welcoming, relaxing. The area surrounding the house is quiet.

The rooms are big, bed is comfortable. Kris makes a delicious breakfast. During our stay, we had the savory breakfast - goat cheese soufflé with grilled asparagus. There was also sweet rolls. Everything as delicious.

If you need a weekend away from your busy life to relax, come stay here. It's wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsjohuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aptos
2.4 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
316 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,589 reviews
4.9 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
290 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6901 Freedom Blvd, Aptos, CA 95003-9620
Region: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, effortless, delicious! Your stay at Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast includes beautiful garden views from every window, fountains tucked among shaded pathways, comfortable beds and Jacuzzi tubs, spa robes and earth-friendly amenities. Wake to the smell of coffee brewing and scones baking and enjoy a leisurely, hot and hearty breakfast served to you in the dining room or on the deck beneath the giant oak and redwood trees. Our easy access location right off of Highway 1 just south of Santa Cruz is a great jumping off point for visits to Monterey, Big Sur, Santa Cruz or even closer, Aptos, Capitola, Nisene Marks State Park and Manresa State Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing