We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand Rock Farm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aptos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Aptos B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband and I recently got married at the Sand Rock Farm, and our entire wedding party stayed there the weekend of our wedding. Kris did an outstanding job helping us to plan our wedding. She was very prompt and organized and had a lot of connections to local vendors. She was very experienced in the ins and outs of planning a wedding and was a helpful resources throughout the process. Our actual wedding was so magical...the venue is truly one of a kind. And the inn was a wonderful place to stay, both for us and for our wedding party. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, delicious food, plus so much fun to be staying at our wedding location with our closest friends and family! We would highly recommend Sand Rock Farm, both as a beautiful and relaxing place to stay and as an amazing place to get married.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

We spent two lovely nights at Sand Rock Farm. The inn is located on 10 acres of beautiful gardens, trees, fountains and is the perfect serene getaway! Our room was.wonderful! We had a balcony (shared with another room), enclosed sunporch and a bathroom with a large jetted tub and a large separate shower. And the bed was very comfortable! Kris, the owner/innkeeper treated us to extraordinary breakfasts, one morning a luscious blueberry french toast and the second morning a very delicious egg souffle. Kris is a wealth of information on things to do and places to go in the area, giving us exact directions on how to get to and from. We had a fantastic stay and are looking forward to our next visit. We highly recommend Sand Rock Farm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sciteach7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had a wonderful two nights at the Sand Rock Farm in the Hidden Garden Room. It's a quiet and beautiful setting amidst massive gardens and wildlife. The house itself is interesting, breakfasts were marvelous, proprietress was charming. Our room was very large and comfortable, and it had a big spa just outside the door, which we enjoyed both nights. Common areas are delightful both inside and outside. We went to the Forest of Nisene Marks redwood state park for a long hike, then spent the afternoon at the Rio Del Mar beach on the ocean. Weather at the Sand Rock Farm is sunnier and more pleasant than closer to the beaches, because it's about 1.5 miles inland, so much less low overcast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArnieDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Sand Rock Farm is a truly special place. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are divine, and the breakfast is truly fabulous. I come here on special occassions with my wife when we have a little extra money to spend on lodging. For a nice place, the prices are reasonable, and they do have deals from time to time. During the week, there’s also a chance that you may have the place to yourself for a day as the B&B is naturally in much higher demand over the weekends. Sometimes it gets rented out for weddings, and you can see why. The grounds are very green with birds and other wildlife, and it’s in a very quiet area well off of a main road.

Chris, the owner, is an excellent cook, and she will make sure that any dietary needs are met. My wife has allergies to gluten and most dairy, so Chris went out of her way to make sure that she could still eat breakfast with everyone else. Acts like this are really appreciated. My wife usually avoids bed and breakfasts because of her allergies. She always assumes that she will have to make her own breakfast on the road. As someone without any allergies, I can say that I personally love the french toast. It really hits the spot.

As for the area, my wife and I often stay in Aptos when we visit Santa Cruz. In general, nicer Santa Cruz lodging is overpriced, and a little congested for our tastes. It’s a short twenty minute drive in and out. We prefer the sanctuary of Sand Rock farm for quiet evenings alone, and relaxing mornings on the grounds. We go to Santa Cruz for shopping, food and beach boardwalk area. In the other direction, you’re a little closer to Monterey, and there are nice forest areas nearby. There are great beaches everywhere. We did explore Aptos a little on our last trip, and it’s a quaint, fun town.

If you want tips of what to do in the area, Chris will be more than happy to give you some suggestions. She is personable, but she also gives people all of the privacy that they desire. I personally appreciate this, as some owners go out of their way to avoid you, and others are a little overbearing. Chris strikes just the right balance to make you feel at home during your stay.

Finally, we stayed in the Morning Glory room both times that we have visited because of the in-room jaccuzi. It has really powerful jets! It also has a nice window overlooking the trees. We would open it up and we could hear the birds outside. We felt calm and peaceful and plan to return again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cccjjjwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

If you love the quiet of the redwoods, the beauty of an heirloom garden, the joy of exploring a lovingly restored nineteenth century farm house, this place is for you. I had the privilege of seeing every room and I can tell you, you can't go wrong! Kris, the owner, helped us feel at home and made a delicious breakfast in the morning-- goat cheese souffle, garden greens, fresh fruit and cinnamon pecan sticky bread still warm from the oven.
This place is a gem. It feels tucked away and secluded, but is only minutes from Santa Cruz and other coastal towns. It truly is the best of both worlds!

Room Tip: Each room has its own character. I got to see them all, and you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lawadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights and wished we could have stayed the week.
It was everything we wanted. Quiet, private, beautiful, comfortable. Sand Rock has a lot of charm.
The beautiful house offers a lot of privacy. We stayed in the Sun Porch room. It had two entrances, one through the main house and another private back entrance. A very comfortable bed, a jacuzzi for two, a lovely sun porch that was separated by private french doors off our room.
The grounds are very pretty with numerous roses, redwoods, ferns, a young orchard.
Kris was very helpful. She is also quite a good cook and the breakfast surpassed any we've had at a B & B.
The room photos on their website don't do it justice. They are MUCH nicer then the photos show.
We plan to make Sand Rock a destination point again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonibjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My boyfriend and I decided it was time for our first B&B and we were not disappointed. Kris, the owner, was the most wonderful host! Our first day there in the Morning Glory room my boyfriend proposed to me over a lovely bottle of wine that greeted us in the room when we arrived. Needless to say the rest of the trip was heavenly. Our room had a hot tub in it that we took full advantage of each day. And just walking around the property and enjoying some time to ourselves was so tranquil and beautiful, the gardens are so lovely. Kris made sure that we had everything we needed and when she heard about the engagement she even gave us a bottle of Champagne with 2 beautifully etched glasses to take home complementary! She was wonderful with suggesting places to go for dinner to celebrate and even making reservations for us. Breakfast was scrumptious each day, from goat cheese souffle to baked french toast with some of the food coming right from the farm! There was no cell reception for non iPhone users, but on a vacation and place like this it was REALLY nice not to be in constant contact with the world. Can't wait to go back again and maybe even get married in this little piece of heaven!

Room Tip: The Morning Glory room with the window open and so sunny was like waking up with the rest of nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aptos
9 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,875 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
4.9 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
328 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Seascape Resort
Seascape Resort
#3 of 6 in Aptos
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6901 Freedom Blvd, Aptos, CA 95003-9620
Region: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aptos
Price Range: £138 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, effortless, delicious! Your stay at Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast includes beautiful garden views from every window, fountains tucked among shaded pathways, comfortable beds and Jacuzzi tubs, spa robes and earth-friendly amenities. Wake to the smell of coffee brewing and scones baking and enjoy a leisurely, hot and hearty breakfast served to you in the dining room or on the deck beneath the giant oak and redwood trees. Our easy access location right off of Highway 1 just south of Santa Cruz is a great jumping off point for visits to Monterey, Big Sur, Santa Cruz or even closer, Aptos, Capitola, Nisene Marks State Park and Manresa State Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing