We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza with intense wood-fired flavor, attentive wait staff.”
Review of Sid's Smokehouse

Sid's Smokehouse
Ranked #38 of 71 Restaurants in Aptos
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 1/Freedom
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great pizza with intense wood-fired flavor, attentive wait staff.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We found Sid's Smokehouse on our way into Watsonville last weekend. What a pleasant surprise! The smells of BBQ sauce and pizza draw you inside from the BUSY parking lot. We enjoyed an unusual combination pizza with artichokes, fresh tomatoes, onions, and black olives on a thin wood oven baked crust. Exceeded our expectations. Our server, Brian was attentive to our order, and our needs; he clearly enjoyed his work and his customers. Even with a full house, he went out of his way to help us with directions to Seascape. We are looking forward to going back to Sid's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Too smoky for us!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

While my husband and I love great ribs, the full rack we ordered from Sid's was so smoky that we actually couldn't eat most of it. We were very disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lois2448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sliders ever.”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The title says it all. Incredible surprise for bar food. The BBQ chicken smokehouse pizza was amazing too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Msmaestro3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
313 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good Food & Great Neighborhood Feeling!”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Last night, our team enjoyed a wonderful time at Sid's - from salads to pizzas to burgers to the Sloppy Sid's, no one was disappointed! Great place for conversation or if you want to share the game of the week!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLAMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Inconsistent service and food quality”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We have been to this restaurant 4 times now. I really want to like this restaurant but it continues to be very inconsistent in almost all areas. We've had the barbeque items, they were just "okay". I've had the Smoked Reuben Sandwich two times now. The first time it was awesome, and the service too! The second time I ordered it it was dry and not nearly as big. Service was marginal at best that visit. Last time my wife and I ordered a wood oven cooked pizza. We had a very nice waitress at first and placed our order. After waiting what seemed like forever, and not seeing our original waitress anywhere around, we flagged down another waitress (a not so nice/pleasant waitress) and she informed us that our original waitress was "on break", and that she would now be our waitress. We asked her where our pizza was. She brought it out in a few more minutes and had an attitude for some unknown reason. Our pizza was burned on a quater of the edge...I guess no one ever turned it around in the oven! We didn't complain because of her poor attitude and we were hungary having waited so long. We left the burnt crust and a small tip and went home. Hopefully someone there got the message! I kind of doubt it though. There doesn't seem to be any communication between the kitchen and the servers. I really want to like this barbeque joint. It has alot of big screen LCD TV's all over th place, a good beer selection, and is a great place to watch sports and eat. I just wish they would be consistent with their food and service. We will give it one more try, mainly because we have a two for one coupon. Hopefully they will have worked out these problems. If not, it's the last time they get our money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShadyGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sid's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Sid's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing