We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STEPS TO BEACH WALKING”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rio Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Sands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“STEPS TO BEACH WALKING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very nice hotel within close proximity to miles of beach for walking and more! A little pricey but worth it for the safe and secure location and just steps to the ocean! Free breakfast was quite nice and coffee shop, restaurant and mom 'n pop store all walking distance, as wel!l

Room Tip: ask for a room with a spacious patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hello Widowtraveler,

I can see you really enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you were able to enjoy walks on the beach and stop in at the local hang outs.

Keep an eye out on our Web site; we run impromptu specials! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    116
    29
    13
    11
See reviews for
148
83
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We've been guests of this hotel (usually for about a week) for over a decade; the location is wonderful, from the long pier-side path and park visitors' center, the rooms comfy (and the family suites are a *great* deal), and the amenities just delightful (bbq areas near the pool/sauna area) and a light continental bfast (think "make-your-own-waffles). This is a wonderful family-friendly hotel with unfailingly friendly staff. Thank you Rio Sands!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thos_FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello Thos_FP,
Your thoughtful words are of value to us. We do our best to accommodate our guests with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. It’s apparent that you take advantage of the amenities the hotel offers. The bbq area is definitely a place where families meet and camaraderie is abundant.
Thank you for your continued patronage; we look forward to seeing you and your family next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Rio Sands location is wonderful -- a block from a gorgeous beach that is great for long walks. The motel itself is pretty basic. A little "tired" or "dingy." Average motel "noise." Nice pool but full of noisy kids throughout our stay. The rooms seemed clean, but the bathroom light switch only worked some of the time and the shampoo and conditioner "dispensers" located in the shower were empty. There is no air conditioning, but we couldn't leave the slider open in a first floor location, so it got very stuffy and too warm overnight.
We did not take advantage of the continental breakfast that was included. My daughter refused to eat there because there was a huge sign on the door into the breakfast room stating that there could be cancer-causing chemicals present in the facility! Very unappetizing!
The actual room price was much higher than the web listings showed -- but apparently they have different summer/vacation rates -- and the location was truly lovely, which did make it worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The location is nice about 100 steps from the beach. I thought we would be on the beach but we were not. No view either. We had a kitchen suite with 1 king bed and a roll away cot in the main living space. The king bed was fine, however, the roll away mattress was shot. My son could feel the spring poking his back. We had to make up the couch as a bed for him since the roll away was horrible. Clean but very basic and outdated décor. Pool and spa hours end at 9:00 p.m. which was a little early for us. By the time we had dinner and got back to our room pool area was closed. Very disappointing. Great time at the beach which made our stay ok. A bit pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Your review is very important to us. Thank you for noting the our hotel is clean.

I apologize for the inconvenience of the uncomfortable night sleep your son experienced. I have passed this information regarding the twin mattress to our GM and Buyer.

We close the pool area at 9:00 due to our location. The hotel is situated in a quite neighborhood. Therefore we want to respect our neighbors and limit late night noise.

Summer is always the high season for most hotel. Our prices go down in the fall and we run Web Specials on a regular basis.

I'm glad you were able to enjoy the beach.

Sincerely,
Raquel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is an o.k. basic motel. If tripadvisor had half stars, I would give it 2 1/2. But, since they don't, and since I think this place is overrated on tripadvisor, I am only giving it 2 stars.

We stayed in a kitchen suite with a king bed, and a separate living room with kitchen and roll-away cot. The rooms are fairly clean but very outdated. The bed is not very comfortable and the sheets and pillows are cheap. The walls are very thin and we've heard guests each night we are here talking outside.

The breakfast is what you would expect at a cheap motel (even though this place is not that cheap), but mostly consists of carbs: bread, muffins, donuts, waffles, cereal. There is very little fruit and the only protein is hard boiled eggs.

The pool and hot tub are nice and the kids loved them. The kitchen is nice to have if you want to cook, especially since the refrigerator is a full sized one as is the oven. Ther are also BBQs, which is nice.

The location is quite nice as it is situated in a very cute residential neighborhood in Aptos, much nicer than the area around the Santa Cruz Boardwalk (the other area we were considering since we came to go to th boardwalk). It is also really close to a beautiful beach.

Given the cheap furnishings, mattresses, sheets, breakfast, etc. I don't think this place is a good value because we had to play close to $200. Next time I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I would get a downstairs room with direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I grew up in San Jose and wanted to stay in Aptos because I knew it was a fantastic beach town and not over commercialized. Had not been there in 13 years and I was right!

The hotel is perfect. Just steps from the beach. Room # 149 is the BEST room in the hotel. Has a balcony with a direct ocean view. I slept with sliding glass door open. Felt the coastal breeze on my face and could hear the waves crashing. The breakfast is complimentary and delicious. Juice, fresh fruit, pastries, hard boiled eggs, cereal, varieties of toast, and batter to make fresh waffles.

I think rooms 148 and 147 have coastal views as well. I would recommend this place to anyone. Had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursesally82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear NurseSally82,

Thank you for your appreciation of our hotel. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay.

Room 149 is a favored room of many of our guest. The location is great. The building you stayed in is just a couple of minutes to the beach. You must be living life right!

We sure hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I love this place! Very clean, wonderful staff, great free breakfast, nice grounds with BBQs nice pool and hot tub. I also used the business center all hours of the day and night. They even let a guest use it before I returned after a wonderful walk on the beach.
Speaking of the beach: It's fantastic! Two minutes to walk there and stuff to make the whole family or group happy! A nice Deli, Cafe Rio, a beautiful Grille and Bar, with a good happy hour and friendly people to chat with. A great little coffee house with snacks and out door seating. People I have talked to have been coming back to the Rio Sands Hotel for Decades.
There is a wonderful path to walk on if not on the beach. Make sure to stop at the visitor center a nice walk to the north with interesting stuff to see and hear about. Like the Cement Ship at the end of the pier! Tell the Great staff I said Hi!!! Ray

Room Tip: Down stairs rooms have access to the grounds and pool etc. thru a little patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Hi there Ray,

You sure know how to take advantage of our great location. It's seems you made the rounds to the local hang outs.

Thank you for your kindness and your thoughtful review. You are special to us and we always enjoy seeing our regulars!

The Front Desk Staff says "Hello" and we hope you come by to visit real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aptos
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
1.9 mi away
Seascape Resort
Seascape Resort
#3 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sands Hotel

Property: Rio Sands Hotel
Address: 116 Aptos Beach Drive, Rio Del Mar Beach, Aptos, CA 95003
Region: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sands Hotel is by the beach. Just a 2 minute walk to 20 miles of walkable sea shore. We have rooms with fully stocked kitchenettes, a BBQ area, pool heated to 80 degrees year round. Enjoy our continental breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rio Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sands Hotel Aptos
Rio Sands Aptos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing