We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience”
Review of Rio Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rio Sands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Always a great experience”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have been a long time fan of this hotel . I have never been disappointed. My most recent visit here was associated with a stressful family situation. As always, the staff was very helpful and accommodating . The location is perfect....life is always better with a nearby beach.We had 2 lovely, quiet, clean rooms with very comfortable beds, insuring a welcome nights rest. I felt really pampered.

Breakfast area was newly remodeled . It was a relaxed setting and hours were flexible.I will be back . It is the perfect actidote to the SF city life. The microwave and refrigerator are a real convenience and help me follow my dietary restrictions and save money. Thank you for a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Rooms over banquet area are my favorite. Tempurpedic beds and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioManager, Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Andrea D.,
It’s always well appreciated when our guests take the time to write a review. I am pleased to know that we’ve “hit the mark” for you during your stays with us.
You touched on aspects of the property that are important to us. Thank you for your kind accolades.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    119
    29
    13
    11
See reviews for
151
83
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

It is hot in the bay area, so we wanted some beach time. Plus there was a big football game. it is hard to please everyone. This hotel has a very comfortable accomodations. We had a family room with a king bed and bunk beds in a separate room. We had a second room with a king bed and an additional sitting room (where we put the baby). The rooms are clean. The hotel is quiet when it is supposed to be (you can hear people moving around before check out). The beach is close. The pool is heated. The nearby cafe's are very nice. The sports bar was open and fun (and the Seahawks won!). I was most impressed with the nice breakfast and good coffee that put out. and the price was right! Thank you Rio Sands!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrincka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioManager, Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi Katrincka,

It’s great hearing that your stay was comfortable and the accommodations met your needs.
Thanks for noting the cleanliness of the room. We are so appreciative of our housekeeping staff. They all do a great job.
The continental breakfast is something we always get compliments on. I’m glad you and your family enjoyed it.
You are so very welcome. We thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Rio Sands is a budget hotel that appears to have once been a motel, and has been updated. The hotel is located in a residential area of Aptos about two blocks from Rio Del Mar beach and Seacliff State Beach. Be advised that Aptos Creek is the border between Rio Del Mar to the south and Seacliff, and that the creek can change course seasonally. When we visited in January, 2014, the creek did not reach the ocean, and bisected Rio Del Mar, making beach access more difficult. A short 5-minute stroll over the creek bridge led us to Seacliff, and all the waves we wanted.
Our two-room suite was small but clean and suited well for a short or extended stay. Upon entry we were greeted with one front room with kids bunk bed and convertible love seat, as well as a wall-mounted flat screen TV. Off the front room near the entry was the shower-over-tub bathroom, with pedestal sink and ample towels.
A door divided the front and master sections of the suite, good for mommy and daddy privacy. This room was a bedroom with attached kitchenette, small bistro table and two chairs, and a king bed with side tables. Another wall-mounted flat screen was located facing the bed. The kitchenette featured a full-sized fridge, sink, microwave and oven/stovetop combo. A few dishes, kitchen knives and mugs were in the cupboard. Additional items were available if needed from the front desk.
A sliding glass door with privacy curtain led to the well-manicured common areas, as well as a clean and very popular hot tub and heated pool area, just past the pool gate. Guest rest and changing rooms were located near the pool area. Outside the pool were numerous lounge chair sitting areas and a large pit barbeque for guest and event use. One the pool deck, several tables with dated fiberglass umbrellas and well-used, but clean molded chairs. Ample lounge chairs on the pool deck. Pool towels available at the front desk upon request.
The night of our stay, the hotel was completely booked. Being an older property, we were able to hear the upstairs guests' coughing and muffled loud conversation, as well as creaking from the floor when they walked. Not unbearable, but noticeable.
In the morning, the included breakfast was more than expected. After the short stroll down the block to the banquet facility, we arrived at the breakfast service. Fruit, hard boiled eggs, pastries and make-your own waffles were available, along with fresh coffee, juice and tea. It was a typical continental-style, serve yourself morning, but the staff member I saw was attentive, and the area kept clean and stocked. We left feeling full and satisfied.
It should be noted that, although the hotel is very close to the beaches, there is not a lot going on in this section of town during the evening, if that's your thing. One small restaurant near the beach, Pixie's, was closed at sundown, and catered to the beach crowd. Same with the coffeehouse nearby. The tavern on the corner was closed down when we visited. The upscale looking Rio Cafe was open for business and bustling. The corner market was grimy and stocked random canned items, dusty single bottles of beer and not much else. I mention this because, if you plan to make use of the kitchenette, you will need to head up the hill and on to Soquel Drive to get any groceries. We opted to call Pizza My Heart on 41st Avenue in Capitola to deliver us some fresh pizza.
Overall, the cleanliness, on-property family-friendly amenities, courteous and friendly and proximity to the beaches made our stay enjoyable. We would stay at the Rio Sands again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms near the pool gate are convenient for families who want pool/spa time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioManager, Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hello Zwerski,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It seems your family had a good time during your stay with us.
I appreciate you noting the cleanliness of the rooms, our friendly staff and the proximity to the beach. It’s great to hear that you will be back.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We looked forward to our stay since we had stayed there the year before. Checked in only to find that the banquet space where a lovely relaxing breakfast was served was under renovation. No one informed us of this inconvenience. We were put in a "Queen room" only 1 bed, much more a double than a queen which adjoined another room. Paper thin walls. It was like staying in a 1950's Motel 6. I complained and found out that we were given the only room with one queen bed in the entire hotel……it was not full. The price did not reflect our less than adequate room.
They changed our room, to one whose heat did not work. The front desk nite person had to come in every two hours to jump two terminals in the ancient space heater. On Sunday morning the maintenance man informed us that the heater was shot. Couldn't fix it until Monday. I requested that our room charge be reduced or erased and the front desk personnel said they had no authority. We checked out and were told Rachel (the manager) would call on Monday. Have never heard a word from the hotel and they charged us the full rate.
I think they may be going belly up. If you stay there I think you will be sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walker965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioManager, Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Walker 965,
I want to apologize. The inconveniences you tolerated during your stay.
As promise per our telephone conversation, a full credit has been refunded to your credit card for your entire stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Well I stayed here recently for 1 night and we did not sleep well at all. I am surprised I did not see a mention of noisy heaters as maybe this is a room specific phenomenon? Our heater worked OK but then after it stopped (i.e. desired temp was reached), it made all kinds of noises like a really loud drip sound. It woke me up on at least 3 occasions. I tried to turn the heat down but we did not have much in the way of comforters/blankets which is odd for winter. Usually hotels put super thick comforters on the bed and you have to crank the AC to not sweat, I could have actually used one of these for a change.

I stepped on the placemat in the tub and my foot slipped almost causing a fall which is ironic as that is what it is there to prevent. I quit using and noticed the tub was more slippery than average.

I didn't see the banquet room for breakfast but did see the buffet and took a pass and went to Starbucks.

Positives: Great location by the beach, front desk personnel were friendly on check-in.

Cons: Obvious cosmetic upgrade but room temp controls should be digital and my heater was suspect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLAS313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioManager, General Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello ATLAS313,
Your review was very informative. As you are aware we had our Maintenance Tech, check the heater in your room during your stay. He informed you that when the metal to the heater expands; it will make noise. However, I do apologize for the inconvenience of the noise from the heater.Also, all rooms have extra pillows and blankets in the closets. If their ever is an occasion where a guest should require more blankets then what is provided in the room; we are staffed at the Front Desk 24/7. We would be more than glad to bring them up to you.
Thank you for noting that the Front Desk Staff was friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The price of this hotel is amazing, particularly given its proximity to the beach!! It's an older building, but the building and grounds are well cared for, and rooms are impeccably clean. Breakfast was generous, served in a nice banquet room. I spoke with two business travelers who've been staying there regularly for years. I'll definitely be back!

I found this property through Hotels.com, and although they messed up numerous aspects of the reservation (and I will never use them again), the staff at Rio Sands were incredibly accommodating. Dan and Cole at the front desk helped me repeatedly throughout my stay, turning a difficult experience into a pleasant one. Thanks!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank StillPnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioManager, Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear StillPnina,

Dan and Cole are the best! We have a wonderful Guest Service crew. Thank you for your kind words regarding the fellows accommodating your needs.

We pride ourselves in having an incredible Maintenance, Housekeeping and Guest Service staff.
I sincerely appreciate you taking note of the care our team takes in the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at the Rio Sands for two months for work. It really is a charming places place literally about 100 feet away from the beach. It is very quiet. So if you are looking for a fun beach atmosphere go to Capitola or Santa Cruz. This is a quiet beach with a lovely restaurant, bar and deli near by. Safeway is a short drive away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnickerbockerJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioManager, Manager at Rio Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hi There Knickerbocker Jones,

It seems you had a nice extended stay. The hotel does have that beach charm that seems to bring our repeat guest back time and time again. We hope you'll be back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aptos
0.8 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#2 of 4 in Capitola
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
122 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,452 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sands Hotel

Property: Rio Sands Hotel
Address: 116 Aptos Beach Dr, Rio Del Mar Beach, Aptos, CA 95003-4503
Region: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Aptos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sands Hotel is by the beach. Just a 2 minute walk to 20 miles of walkable sea shore. We have rooms with fully stocked kitchenettes, a BBQ area, pool heated to 80 degrees year round. Enjoy our continental breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rio Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sands Hotel Aptos
Rio Sands Aptos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing