We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Chinese Food--Very Good Service though”

Uncle Kwok's Szechwan Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 70 Restaurants in Aptos
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
314 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Average Chinese Food--Very Good Service though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I live in Aptos and unfortunately this place is as good as it gets...The Wonton soup is good, but many of the other entrees are just so-so. When we are craving Chinese food, this is the place we choose, as the other choices are not any better. In fact others are worse. To summarize, just okay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soifdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Consistent -- Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Always a favorite for small or large groups, 'cause the service is quick, efficient and tongue in cheek funny. Their menu is typical szechwan dishes and all are good to very good. To me, nothing on the menu is exceptional or stands out in particular, but it's all very tasty and consistently good.

Servers have been there a long time (part owners maybe?) and they get to know their regulars, and josh with them...when it's appropriate.

Takes reservations but you usually don't need them. EXCELLENT service for large groups (we've done many birthday lunches there, and with 6 or more people can still get in and out and back to work in an hour or so).

Great value for the dollar. All in all a solid 4.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take-Out is fast and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Whenever we don't feel like cooking, we call up Uncle Kwok's and have dinner within the hour. Food is good and service is quick. Can't speak for the dining-in option, but take-out is definitely a win.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not trending favorable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have either dined or obtained take out for the past 10 years.
Initial years of visiting proved to be very good and enjoyable.

Recently I have been dissapointed in the quality and presentations of their dishes.
My recent take out this past March, which consisted of Kung Pao Chicken and Szechwan beef were a bit salty and the sauce was off.
Seriously doubt that I will return unless something drastically changes.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Banos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Yum Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Love this for a quick lunch! We call in from the office and go and pick up! Fast and yummy!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank LovelaceFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Kwok's Szechwan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Kwok's Szechwan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing