We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little sweet, but very charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Sparrow

Cafe Sparrow
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Aptos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little sweet, but very charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This place was recommended to us by a fellow guest at Capitola's Monarch Cove Inn. I reserved a table for two at 7 PM on a Sunday. Dinner was delightful. Very charming restaurant with a French country feel. Our server, August was helpful and attentive and although I found the reduction on my venison a tad sweet for my liking, overall, I was really happy with my experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bustergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    49
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Superb filet risotto, great service, super waitress with a good knowledge of the menu and wines. Found it through other reviews. Ty

Helpful?
Thank alacattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa cruz
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My absolute favorite Santa Cruz area restaurant (and I live here)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Great food, lovely atmosphere, nice service, it's all good. Every night is a different prix fix 3 course dinner, I always go on Friday for the saffron based bouillabaisse, it's to die for. The salads are awesome and wine list is perfect. I love this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suzycruzsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Saturday night with the chef and crew at Cafe Sparrow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Visited Cafe Sparrow for a Saturday night dinner with reservations (almost a must on weekends). It was busy but we were seated promptly and well taken care of by the friendly staff.
The chef came by to say hello right after we were seated and brought some tasty complementary appetizers one of which is like a toasted cheddar cracker, the other was a ceramic spoon filled with sprouts and a tapenade....a great start.

We shared a variety of plates including: bean and Italian sausage soup, a cheese plate, the sesame seared Ahi tuna appetizer plate, their special bleu salad, a large dinner sized Yvette salad and their dessert sampler. The cheese plate included three types of cheeses that vary (my favorite was the Pt. Reyes blue cheese), sliced apples, various nuts, a quince "jelly", and some toasted crostini. It was a delightful plate with a glass of Alfaro chardonnay. My sweetheart said the bean and Italian sausage soup was tasty and her ahi tuna plate a fabulous appetizer. The Yvette dinner salad was huge consisting of a bed of very fresh spinach, topped with grilled chicken, pears, toasted walnuts and crumbled blue cheese. Yum! The dessert sampler (which varies) was delightful. It had a profiterole, fresh strawberries, tasty pistachio nuts, and a mousse with whipped cream. Everything was very fresh adding to the wonderful flavors. Cafe Sparrow has a variety of dinner specials in addition to their regular menu which change nightly. This a great French country restaurant to enjoy dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrmikeSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, great service great choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We discovered Sparrow Cafe quite by accident while staying in Aptos. We arrived on a Sunday just in time for brunch. The menu featured some great breakfast favorites with a touch of French Country elegance. We elected to go with one of the specials using fresh salmon. Two thumbs up!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank docheffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sparrow also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Sparrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing