We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for late night meal”
Review of Tasty Garden

Tasty Garden
Ranked #89 of 238 Restaurants in Arcadia
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place for late night meal”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We arrived in the L.A. area around 9:30pm on a Friday night. Decided to find a place for late night dinner. By the time we got to this place, it was about 11pm already. This place was about 40% full, but it was quite noisy because there 2 groups of young people having fun there.
The service was good and the waiters were very attentive. Quality of the food was fine and the price was reasonable. We asked for the WiFi password and stayed there until they were about to close, at 1am in the morning.
Will definitely come back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Food is good! affordable! open late!
Favorites are - spicy Pork chop, house special fried rice, shrimp with walnut, filet mignon cubes, tofu with mushrooms

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ctuason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
599 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Good authentic Chinese food, expensive tea- $9 a pot”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I visited ate one in Wesminister, 9433 Bolsa Ave. They opened a new one in Irvine, but it is more expensive.
Food was very good and authentic. Price is reasonable. I love their lamb bowl $14. Their chow fun was only $7.99.
They serve tea in a glass pot for about $9 a pot. If you come by yourself and order a pot of the tea, it could be more expensive than the meal. We had a party of 7 and we only order a pot. We we had ordered 2 pots , it would have been $18. There may be cheaper house tea, I did not ask. It is very common for Chinese restaurant to serve tea free. that's why I gave only three stars. If you are not ready to pay $9 a pot , ask for water or soda.
The place is small and it get busy on weekends. Get there early or late. There is not a lot of good Chinese restaurant in the area, this is probably one of the best.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Go to place for HK Cafe food”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The place is all purple and has velvet chairs. Love it! The service is fast and the food is tasty! Portions are quite small compared to other Chinese restaurants. The service is better than your average expectation for local joints and very clean. This place gets packed around lunch time (12:30 pm) and dinner (7:00 pm).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bacong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty food for reasonable price.”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Ever since Tasty Garden chain opened its door a decade ago in Arcadia, it's been a favorite for Chinese fusion food. They have 5 cafes in So CA. They remodeled this year and have a more updated look. Food is always delicious, hot and large selection. Great service and reasonable price. Opens into early morning. it is a HK style cafe so you have a mixed of Chinese and Western food.
I love the fried ricem hot pot rice, noodles as well as the fusion food like fried pork chop and pasta and club sandwich or spam sandwich. They have good selections of hot and cold drinks (including some chinese herbal tea). Good selection of desserts but not their strongest except the freshly made egg waffle. Lunch time parking can be hard and be careful not to park in the bank spots.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KathyCAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasty Garden also viewed

 

Been to Tasty Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing