We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being on a 60's movie set”
Review of Santa Anita Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Anita Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Arcadia
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Like being on a 60's movie set”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Superb location rooms large and clean, but very dated. Its a shame because the gardens, pool area and reception are very pleasant and well kept.The complimentary breakfast is adequate .And as they say, you get what you pay for, overall good value and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    22
    8
    17
See reviews for
15
20
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I lucked into staying at this hotel which is within walking distance of Santa Anita Park. Had we known how close we wouldn't have bought parking passes for the race track! The hotel has several buildings of rooms. Only a few restaurants within walking distance but if you are healthy, this should be no problem. Nice separate living room, nice bedroom, bathroom needed upgrading - chips on bath tub, plug in tub disconnected, tired towels and washcloths. Really should invest in a remodel of their rooms, but location is really superb.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kAREN d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Location is right near Santa Anita Race Track. Have stayed here off and on for 34 years, but this was our last stay. I do believe the lampshades, wallpaper, etc. are still the same, and now looking pretty shabby. The landscaped large inner courtyard is nice, but the only chairs to sit and enjoy it were inside the pool area, padlocked closed , with a "closed for repair" sign on it.
The clientele seems to have changed drastically; some appearing to be long- term tenants. Old Newspapers were left on my neighbor's (shared) balcony for days.
The room housing the continental breakfast was dreary, hot and institutional.
Our room was cleaned adequately, but some supplies, like coffee, were not replenished.
The king bed was terrible; the choice was to perch on the 1' edge or roll and collide in the center.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arcadia hotels

Phelan, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Santa Anita Inn is a place where you have it all a little old nostalgia and new. The place has been around a long time which it bears out with the wonderfully tended gardens and grassy areas. It is perfect for a wedding or business meeting. My room wasn't ready so they upgraded me to a suite. Wow! Bedroom, Living room and bathroom. Sliding glass door leading out to the patio with chairs and a table looking out over the grounds. The Santa Anita race track is right next door and there is shopping and dining minutes away. It is refreshing and relaxing. The pool and Jacuzzi are artfully designed and pleasurable. I could live here. If you are in the area don't let a bigger modern hotel turn you away from the Santa Anita Inn you will be glad you stayed here.

Room Tip: Stay down stairs and ask for a room with a sliding door leading out to your private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Changzhou, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Beautiful grounds located across the street from Santa Anita Park. Unfortunately it has seen better days. The rooms were a little tired. I had phoned in advance to make sure they had internet. I was assured they did. I arrived and was given the internet code and password. The desk brochure said there was a $7.95 charge. I assumed it would be on my bill at checkout. I couldn't get it to work and called the front desk. They sent out a nice young man who immediately told me my Mac might be a problem. Bottom line it didn't work and I couldn't get done the things I needed to. It was not on my bill the next morning and never was. They knew it wasn't working and were not honest up front. Too bad as its a great location but not was it probably once was.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Furniture in room( desks -end tables) were stained with round white circles (from cups)--bathroom needs a complete remodel--old fixtures old sink etc.,--hot water is at a set temp cannot be adjusted --there is a toggle switch on the wall next to the thermostat with no instructions --had to ask at the office "what is it for" found out that up is for heat and down for air --should have info next to switch--on Thanksgiving morning at 9 am a crew was shoving tree limbs into a wood chipper right in front of our room-what a racket on a Holiday --Basic breakfast-no hot food ( hours are only (7 -9 am)---the grounds/pool area are really well cared for ---great for taking picures---since this motel is located right by the hospital --we heard sirens day and night-would not recommend this motel

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cadmanrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I really like this place. The rooms are big and clean (though a bit worn). Each room has a deck or balcony overlooking green, leafy grounds. We come back here on business several times a year. The desk staff is very nice.

The ONLY bad experience we had was once (out of a dozen stays) when a class reunion was held there and some yahoos were setting off firecrackers late into the night.

The breakfast is hardly worth getting up for. But that's okay. The price is reasonable. I think most rooms are in the $65-$80 range. Spend your savings on breakfast nearby. The grounds and the pool and the surroundings are what make this (in my opinion) a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TranquilCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcadia
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/Arcadia/Pasadena
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arcadia/Pasadena Area
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Arcadia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Arcadia Pasadena Area
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pasadena Arcadia
1.1 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#5 of 7 in Monrovia
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Anita Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Anita Inn

Property: Santa Anita Inn
Address: 130 W Huntington Dr, Arcadia, CA 91007-3025
Region: United States > California > Arcadia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Arcadia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Anita Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Anita Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Anita Hotel Arcadia
Santa Anita Arcadia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing